Agent Shop Go Day with Author Angi Morgan and .38 CALIBER COVER-UP

SORRY I’M LATE – Animal Control call this morning that HAD to be taken care of. Now on to the fun stuff!!!

It’s Pitch Day! Hope you’re all ready!

We’ve got author Angi Morgan here today with her new release, .38 CALIBER COVER-UP!

By commenting, you could win a copy of .38 CALIBER COVER-UP (mailed to North America only, an electronic ARC to international winners.) Leave a comment using COVER-UP and you’ll be entered to win. One lucky ‘pitcher’ will also win the top pitch slot!


AN UNDERCOVER AGENT, A BEAUTIFUL COP…

AND THE BULLET THAT BROUGHT THEM TOGETHER

Undercover DEA agent Erren Rhodes was used to working alone. So the very idea of teaming up with Officer Darby O’Malley to search out a killer wasn’t exactly how he thought this critical mission would go. But thanks to information only the beautiful cop possessed, finding whoever was responsible for shooting Erren’s friend made Darby a valuable—and irresistible—partner. Digging into the case, though, revealed a far-reaching conspiracy…and angered all the wrong people. Now, trying to bring a killer to justice while keeping Darby safe was making Erren remember why he was better off on his own. Especially when Darby made him long to hole up together in the safe house and never let her out of his sight.
*

Candi: Can’t wait to read this! Where did the idea for .38 Caliber Cover-Up come from?

Angi: When I was writing Hill Country Holdup, the hero of .38 Caliber Cover-Up jumped into a scene and started taking over. So I stopped writing and wrote a fight scene (opening chapter) of his own story to capture part of him. It took several years to come up with the right story to fit his character. During those years, he also grew up and was ready to leave undercover work. When I sold to Intrigue, I wanted the perfect story for him. But he was still illusive. When I say a picture of Jake Gyllenhaal for PRINCE OF PERSIA…everything clicked, including the story-line. I had a hero who wanted to leave undercover work and created a heroine who desperately wanted to be undercover.

Candi: What’s one piece of advice you would pass on to other aspiring authors?

Angi: “Never give up. Never Surrender.” Okay, that’s not my original words, it’s the mantra from Galaxy Quest. But it’s true. Finish the book. Then finish another. Then finish another. Just keep writing and submitting. And find a great agent who believes in you and your work.

*

Great words to live by! Thanks so much for visiting us at Musetracks, Angi.

The release date for .38CALIBER COVER-UP is February ‘11 and you can find it at eHarlequin.com, any book store or website.

Check out Angi’s 38 DAYS of .38 CALIBER! You could win prizes including 3 DVDs, 12 books, & chocolate. Drawing on March 6th. Rules & details on website.

Here’s where you can find Angi:  AngiMorgan.comGetLostInAStory.blogspot.com / Facebook: Angi Morgan / Twitter: AngiMorganAuthr

Don’t forget to comment using COVER-UP for a chance to win a copy of .38CALIBER COVER-UP and the top pitch slot for Agent Day tommorrow with Jill Marsal.

And the moment you’ve all been waiting for….

GO!

15 Responses to Agent Shop Go Day with Author Angi Morgan and .38 CALIBER COVER-UP

  1. Margay says:

    Angie, that is some of the best advice I’ve read for aspiring writers – or even those who’ve been published and worry about continued success.

    COVER-UP

    Like

  2. Margay says:

    Actually, now that I think of it, I believe there is a song called “Never Surrender” by Cory Hart, the guy who did “Sunglasses at Night.”

    Like

  3. Jake Gyllenhal? HMMM.
    I like him. Do you always use actors as models for your characters. I find if I don’t have a clear picture of the character it’s harder to write. Not necessarily an actor but at least a picture of someone who looks like the character. I have a folder of pictures that have “spoke” to me. I use this to help me with my characters. Until I can I feel like it’s a cover up (pun intended)
    Good luck with the book. IT looks like another one for my Nook.

    Like

  4. Kristen says:

    Love the title!

    Cover-Up! 😉

    Like

  5. Angi Morgan says:

    Hi Margay, The music I used to write .38 Caliber was actually the sound-track from Knight & Day–At least after chapter 7. My youngest daughter was a slave-master last summer while I was writing and told me I couldn’t see the movie until I’d finished chapter 6. Being very goal-oriented…it worked. Loved the movie and my husband bought me the music because I kept humming it. LOL

    And yes, writing takes a lot of practice. So just keep at it.

    ~~Angi

    Like

  6. Angi Morgan says:

    Hi Elaine! If you’d like to see the picture of Jake that I’m referring to…hop over to my PICTURE A DAY blog at AngiMorgan.com OR on my Facebook page…

    I love having actual pictures for inspiration, but they aren’t completely necessary for me. LOVE LOVE LOVE putting them as my laptop background. The heroines are always more elusive. I rarely need a picture to help describe them. Good idea to keep a file of characters who speak to you.

    ~~Angi

    Like

  7. Angi Morgan says:

    HI LOVE THE TITLE TOO, Kristen.

    Fortunately, they gave me the title early on in the editing process and I was able to change the murder weapon to a .38 caliber pistol.

    ~~Angi

    Like

  8. Angi Morgan says:

    Thanks for having me, Candi. And good luck to everyone with your pitches to Jill. She’s awesome!

    ~~Angi

    Like

  9. Thank you for your post, Angi; and everyone else for the comments. Your new novel sounds like a rattling good action romance.

    It’s fascinating how authors get their ideas for characters. I believe there’s no one right way. Whatever works, works.

    The cover art on this novel looks cool. Do you know who created it? Is that a deflated hot-air ballon on the right side?

    Here’s the code words: COVER UP.

    Keep up the good work!

    Like

  10. Oops, I mean COVER-UP. Or does that dash matter?

    Like

  11. Angi Morgan says:

    Hi Mary Anne !
    My editor asked the art department/marketing at Harlequin to include the hot air balloon on the cover (and there is one in the story). I love the colors. I’ve had two really great covers and consider myself very lucky ! I had lunch with my editor in January and she was actually surprised and delighted the hot air balloon made the cover. LOL

    ~~Angi

    Like

  12. Candi Wall says:

    Angi,

    Thanks so much for visiting at Musetracks. I can’t wait to read .38 CALIBER COVER-UP!

    It’s on my TBR list now.

    Happy writing!

    Like

  13. Angi Morgan says:

    And thanks for having me, Candi. I appreciate the opportunity and the fun conversation. Let me know who win’s the drawing. They can contact me at Angi@AngiMorgan.com

    ~~Angi

    Like

  14. Candi Wall says:

    Hi Angi,

    Kristen one the drawing. She’ll be contacting you at the address you provided.

    🙂

    Like

  15. Chelsea B. says:

    Looking forward to reading your new book!

    Like

Leave a Reply

