Blood & Treasure

Song of the Day: Celebration by Kool & the Gang

Since the inception of this blog, I’ve been giving my unique thoughts, tips, and advice on writing. I’ve also bared my soul as I trek down the road to publication. Documenting my journey, I’ve rejoiced, bemoaned, reflected and cracked a few jokes along the way.

Some months back, I came to a crossroads of sorts. Do I continue to pursue my dreams of being traditionally published? After all, I’ve generated pretty good interest in the industry with my stories, winning a few contests to boot. Or do I want to get off this path weaving through an endless, if not frustrating, labyrinth and self-publish? Weighing the two avenues is the subject of so many blogs and debates. Ultimately, it is a personal decision.

I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t a control freak. (I hear some of you snickering.) Being in control of my career just makes sense. I’ve done my time and I’ve done my research.

And so, with my face to the sun and a spring in my step, I took the self-publishing road. There is still uncertainty ahead, but I am sure of foot and confident in my travels.

Without further ado, I give you BLOOD AND TREASURE, book #1 in the Romancing The Pirate Series.

Available now at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Smashwords.

Thank you to all the MuseTrackers out there who have supported me.

30 Responses to Blood & Treasure

  1. Jody says:

    I don’t have time to comment. I’m off to Amazon to buy the book!

    Jody

    Like

  2. jbrayweber says:

    You are such a doll, Jody.
    Thank you so much.

    Like

  3. Sandy says:

    Beautiful cover.

    You’re right, there is a lot to consider with the way the publishing industry is going.

    Like

  4. jbrayweber says:

    Thank you, Sandy. I’m pretty fond of the cover, too. Of course, it nice to ogle Jimmy Thomas. 🙂

    Like

  5. You took the plunge!!!
    Good for you- because I know how stressful it was to pull all of this together for publication. You’ve handled all aspects of your very full life and published a book on three different platforms! My hat is off to you-
    I’ve bought my copy, reviewed you and posted the link on my FB page. Here’s wishing you a ton of sales and lots of people helping to promote you! Hugs and kisses.

    Like

  6. jbrayweber says:

    You rock, Stacey! Thanks for all your kind words. But, honestly, it’s my friends (pointing at you) that have helped me keep my eye on the prize.
    Smooches!

    Like

  7. Diane Holmes says:

    WOW! Jenn. Congratulations on your book, Sweetie. I know how much you love this book, and now readers will love it too. May you experience a HUGE success as a writers AND as a publisher. 🙂

    Like

  8. jbrayweber says:

    Aw, thanks a million, Diane!

    Like

  9. Marilyn Baron says:

    Congratulations for taking a chance on yourself. I wish you success.

    Like

  10. jbrayweber says:

    Thank you, Marilyn. It was a tough decision at first, but after much research, I knew it was the right one for me.

    Like

  11. Kristen says:

    Cheers! We drink a mug of grog to you, Pirate Writer, as you sail off to uncharted waters of wealth and treachery!

    Best of luck to you and cute cover!

    Like

  12. jbrayweber says:

    Oooh…I like that, Kristen. Setting my course now and dreaming of fair winds and good fortune. Thanks! 🙂

    Like

  13. Congratulations, Jenn! We hope “Blood and Treasure” will be just the first of many successes! Good luck!

    Like

  14. jbrayweber says:

    Thanks, Mary Anne. And thanks for your support. It is greatly appreciated.
    Now, I really should start book #4. 🙂

    Like

  15. William says:

    Three Steps to Happiness:

    Buy this book.

    Read this book.

    Keep an eye out for future adventures of THE RISSA.

    Life will be good…:)

    Like

  16. jbrayweber says:

    Yo ho ho! Thanks, Will, for the pirate’s creed. And thanks for all your support!!

    Like

  17. Jessica says:

    Woohoo and congrats!!! I think you’re savvy enough to market the story well and be successful. Best wishes to you!
    🙂 Oh, and great cover!

    Like

  18. jbrayweber says:

    Thanks so much, Jessica! Your kindness means the world to me.

    Like

  19. Super mega congrats on your release Jenn!
    I read this in it’s infancy and loved every words! Sexy, exciting and fun! You have a great voice. Can’t wait to read it in it’s fully formed version!

    Like

  20. jbrayweber says:

    You were instrumental in those infancy days, MC. I don’t know where I’d be without my Treehouse gang. Thanks so much, Super Angel. 😉

    Like

  21. A woman with control issues…I knew I liked you! 🙂 Congratulations, Jenn!!! I’m so glad you took the plunge! Wishing you many, many Sales!!!

    Like

  22. jbrayweber says:

    Who said I had ISSUES? LOL!
    You’ve been very much a part of this proces, Melissa, and I can’t thank you enough.
    Look out! Blade is on his way!!!! 😉

    Like

  23. C.J. Archer says:

    Good luck with your indie adventure, Jennifer. I’m off to check out your book now – I love a good pirate story. If you want some support on your indie journey, check out this romance thread over at Kindleboards. It’s very friendly.
    http://www.kindleboards.com/index.php/topic,20835.1475.html

    Like

  24. jbrayweber says:

    Thanks, CJ! And thanks for the link. I just learned of Kindleboards yesterday. I’ll be checking this forum out.

    Like

  25. Welcome to the Dark Side! It is quite a bit of work but I’m loving being an indie publisher.

    Hugs and huge congrats! I’m always here if need to chat about self pubbing.

    Tambra

    Like

  26. jbrayweber says:

    Yes, it is a lot of work. But with that work comes control. And with that control, comes responsibility for my career’s destination. I’m looking forward to it. Thanks so much Tambra!!

    Like

  27. WOW, Jenn!

    Readers are in for a wild ride. A powerful story that leaps from the pages in the same way this astounding cover leaps from the shelves.

    A glass raised to you, tonight! You simply ROCK!

    Like

  28. jbrayweber says:

    Aw, gosh, John. I’m blushing. Thanks so much. You were a huge part of this book, and I luv ya!

    Like

  29. Jenn! As usual, I’m a day late.

    Huge congrats and applause. This is an amazing novel and as are the next two in line.

    I just know good things are going to happen!

    Like

  30. jbrayweber says:

    Thanks, Candi. As one of the original eyes to see this, I’ve got you to thank for smoothing the wrinkles. Who loves ya, babe? 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

