Writing as a habit: my challenge

20110610-071218.jpg

Hi everyone,

I’ve been MIA for quite a while, writing, going back to school full time and basically trying to stay motivated while having to reinvent my career after the changes at Dorchester Publishing.

This is no time for a pity party but more of a talk on motivation. What keeps us going? How to we keep acting on this burning desire to write? Day in, day out.

No matter where you are in your career, it’s hard to keep doing this over and over.

I’ve been trying hard to make my writing a habit. I’m in school all day, have to go to the gym at 6 am, especially now that I have some health issues, and I have two rambunctious school-aged boys that require a lot of attention (and a lot of house cleaning!)

The only time I have for writing is, you guessed right, at 5 am in the morning!

I read somewhere that if you do something every day for 30 days, it becomes a habit. So I’ve issued myself this challenge, write every morning at 5 am before the gym for 30 minutes. I put the timer on and just do if, no surfing the web, no reading, just writing!

So far so good, I’m 6 days into it and 1 1/2 chapters edited. It’s slow and I plan to add another session once I get this one down as a habit. But for now, I focus on this: every day!

They tell me the worst is coming, keeping motivated after 14 days! But I’m set!

We can do this 🙂

Stay writin’

M-C

11 Responses to Writing as a habit: my challenge

  1. That’s interesting what you’ve discovered about habit-forming. Neat post. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  2. jbrayweber says:

    Ahh…habits. Easy to make, hard to break. At least let’s hope that is the case with finding time to write.

    For me, I have a new challenge. My toddler is now at an age where she is into everything and requires all of my attention. Before, she was happy with playing and watching Yo Gabba Gabba, with me in the background working. No more.

    So nap time is the only time I can write. (Mornings are for catching up on emails, blogs, etc.) But unfortunately, I have many other writer related items that require my attention during that time that do not include actual writing. (sigh)

    I’m looking forward to getting caught up so that I can return to writing.

    Great post, MC.

    Like

  3. @feared bumblebee Glad to be sharing some ideas 🙂 Hope they help.

    Jenn, I have no idea how you do it with a toddler. I remember those blessed nap time when you have to decide between so many pressing things to do (like a taking a shower!) Hope you can catch up soon! But you seemed very productive regardless!

    Like

  4. Kristen says:

    Jenn–I have a 3-year-old daughter nicknamed Ragnar the Viking. I found a very helpful video on YouTube showing how to duct-tape her to the wall. It does pull off the paint, though. 🙂 hehehe.

    Sadly, I’ve also begun to realize many of my ancillary characters have names from the Nickelodeon channel…

    Like

  5. June Faver says:

    Hi MC,
    I can identify with this post because I had almost stopped writing a couple of years ago due to an exhausting job and long commute. I made a commitment to write just 100 words a day for 100 days. That’s less than half a page so I reasoned that I could squeeze this out no matter how drained I was. Today is my 621st day of writing at least the 100 words. It seems to be working. 🙂
    ~June

    Like

  6. Hi June,
    Oh wow that is real dedication! I’m inspired 🙂

    Like

  7. Donna Hole says:

    Well good luck with the early morning routine.

    I’m not a morning person. I get up half an hour before I have to be to work, shower, shampoo and dress, and do the 3 minute drive to work. And still stare at my computer for an hour without getting any actual work accomplished.

    I admire people who can get up early to get in their daily writing quota though. Thumbs up 🙂

    ……..dhole

    Like

  8. Hi Donna 🙂
    I just happen to be a morning person. I’m useless after 9:30 in the evening!

    Like

  9. Make time each day..I know it is hard with school or work..You get home and have house stuff to do and are tired but even a little time each day will keep you going…

    Like

  10. Thanks Savannah! You are my hero 🙂

    Like

  11. Rania Sarri says:

    Hi
    You are not alone!
    I also spend half of my day at school, come back home to be a mum to my boys (teenagers are a little better than toddlers), work on my lesson plans for the next day, work on my dissertation, go to the supermarket, cook lunch for the next day…the list seems endless. But somewhere among all this I find a little time to write because this helps me going.
    I used to have that morning routine and I have to admit that was my most creative period. Last August I moved to another country and I still find it hard to set up a routine. Now I’m working on the one-page-a-day plan. Seems to work!
    Your post inspires me to make a committment with myself again.

    Like

Leave a Reply

