The long and tedious road

20110701-075926.jpg

Hi everyone!

How is your writing going?

Here is some news for you: your best promotional tool is your next book. Not only the next book, but a high quality book.

Which leads me to the next thought. Sometimes it’s pretty damn hard to sit and write that next book.

But guess what? You are not alone. It’s hard for everyone.

Do you want to be a long term author?

Write.

Everyday if you can. On a schedule is you can’t.

But you need to write no matter what.

Isn’t that easy? Yet why don’t we do it? Why can’t we sometimes even find half an hour a day to stare at the screen?

There are so many reasons we procrastinate and there are tons of great classes to help with that (Margie Lawson and Bob Mayer are two people who have helped me with procrastination)

But the bottom line comes to this:

Just do it!

That author you admire, or the one you hate (aren’t we maybe a bit jealous?), she’s writing. When you come up with tons of reasons not to do it, she gets up at the crack of down, or stay up late when the kids are in bed, or sit at her desk when the baby naps, and she writes!

Small steps will get you there. Day in, day out.

There are no shortcuts, no magic solutions!

Sorry 🙂

Stay awesome and go write!

M-C 🙂

7 Responses to The long and tedious road

  1. Kristen says:

    Mmmmmmmmmm. French Foreign Legion. Sign me up!

    Like

  2. Catana says:

    That might be the best advice you can give any new author. I just published my first novel and I’m cranking away as fast as I can on the first draft of the sequel. Then it’s down to the nuts and bolts to make it better than the first book.

    Like

  3. William says:

    “I love writing but hate starting. The page is awfully white and it says, “You may have fooled some of the people some of the time but those days are over, giftless. I’m not your agent and I’m not your mommy, I’m a white piece of paper, you wanna dance with me?” and I really, really don’t. I’ll go peaceable-like.” – Aaron Sorkin

    It happens to the best of us. The trick is to get something, anything down on the page….. then, you have something to fix!

    Like

  4. Kristen says:

    Its not the writing, its the plotting that kills me.

    Like

  5. J.D. Faver says:

    Excellent post. And on the first day of Camp NaNo. I joined this effort to support my friends since we always do the November NaNo together, but I came along with a bad attitude. Thanks for slapping that right off me.
    Back to work. I have to write another 1200 words today. Eeeeek!
    ~J.D. Faver

    Like

  6. Kristina Gilley says:

    I’m with Kristen. Sometimes the plot shows up as bright neon billboards, sometimes it doesn’t. Then the effort to not get repetitive in the prose.

    However, if I had this guy standing in front of me waiting for me to finish a scene…

    Like

  7. Rania Sarri says:

    As a notorious procrastinator I really appreciate the push, I mean the post. Marie-Claude. You may find my post helpful too. The title is “Do you schedule the work? (or, how not to procrastinate!) Just follow the link.
    http://uraniasarri.blogspot.com/2011/07/tips-for-writers-do-you-schedule-workor.html

    Like

Leave a Reply

