We Remember… and always will.

I remember where I was ten years ago today…

I can still feel the shock I experienced as I drove home, listening to the news reports…

Today I still feel the sting of tears when I think about the horror that unfolded before our eyes…

I remember thinking how glad I was in that moment to be an American, where this travesty would pull us together, where we as a united people would stand up and say, ‘We’re still here’.

 

We won’t ever forget, we won’t ever stop praying, we won’t ever go silent…

Hold your loved ones, near and far, here or departed, close.

We are America.

God bless~

2 Responses to We Remember… and always will.

  1. When the skies reopened above our nation, I recall the incredible poignancy of that first flight. The pilots who guided their ship heavenward, carrying passengers to their destination, all with futures, families, dreams.

    From the flight deck, I watched the earth drop away as if those pilots were allowing me a brief glimpse at what they may have seen and felt. Another sunrise, the charted path ahead clear, predictable…and yet unpredictable, as it should be, with all the elements of life’s possibilities that helps us grow, change.

    I watched the world slip beneath my wings as I flew over the canyons, mountains, rivers. Strangely, the physical world that is our nation seemed inviolable, beautiful, unblemished, so strangely out of sync with the scars and the abysmal crater of emotions we as a country felt. And I thought that was good. Humanity, its value for life, our grief for its loss – and for one brief moment of lucidity – our collective longing as humanity to honor that loss of life with hopes of being more like that which is inviolable, beautiful, and unblemished.

    John Roundtree

    Like

  2. Wow- what is there left to say after John? Absolutely beautiful. Thank you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

