Link of the Week

I stumbled across today’s link and found it really cool. I hope you will think so , too.

Page 99 Test is a site where published and unpublished  authors anonymouslyshare one page of their work  for readers. And just like the title suggests, that page is page 99. Readers can then give the author a thumbs up or thumbs down, and rate your page on the likelihood they’d buy the book. There is even a box where the reader tells the author the reason for their rating. It’s a great way to get unbiased feedback.

As a reader, you can pick the genres you are most interested in. As an author, it’s fast and easy. Overall, it fun and, dare I say, addictive for both readers and writers.

Check it out!

http://page99test.com/

16 Responses to Link of the Week

  1. That’s a cool idea. Six Sentence Sunday is another way, but this one allows readers to see a boader sample of what each author has to offer. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  2. jbrayweber says:

    Glad you like it, Robin. Apparently its been around awhile, but I only recently came across the site. I plan to put up my page 99s soon.

    Like

  3. Ooops, that was supposed to be BROADER sample…don’t know what a “boader” sample is, but I sure hope it doesn’t hurt to give it.

    Like

  4. Ok folks, I’m comin in mid-scene, with two secondary characters. This is from my novel, “The Midnight Dance/the Devereaux Chronicles. I may post a couple of others later on, but they are taken from WIP or shorts. (Is that ok?) Here goes!

    Roark waited for a couple of beats before answering, deciding to give the wine time to take effect and hopefully make Deidre feel less defensive.
    A sudden movement from the back of the dining room caught his eye and he saw Jackson and a young black girl standing near the door that led from the kitchen into the house. Relieved to have a distraction, he motioned for them to enter.
    With a small nod, Jackson had the girl open the squeaking door. She balanced a small enameled tray in her opposite hand as she inched the screen wide, creating just enough space for him to pass through.
    Jackson stepped ceremoniously into the room; the girl quick on his heels. His hands were laden with a silver tureen which he carried extended in front of him as if it were royal trappings. A sharp twanging explosion went off behind him and he flinched, his mouth drawing up sphincter tight.
    The girl jumped, almost dropping the tray in her hand and her eyes widened into the shape of an O. She’d forgotten to hold the door and it slammed to with a screech.
    Never breaking stride, Jackson continued across the dining room until he reached Deidre and Roark. Bending smartly, he perched the tureen between them and motioned for the girl to reposition the carafe’ of wine further along the table’s surface.
    Tongue sticking out between her teeth with concentration, she balanced the tray in one hand and used her stomach for ballast to support it as she nudged at the carafe’ of wine.
    Jackson’s face was stoic as he waited for her to complete the procedure and then remove herself from in front of him. When she’d finished the shifting of the decanter, she backed up nervously, one eye on the object balanced on her stomach, and bumped into Jackson. Hunching quickly underneath the tureen, she hurriedly shuffled to her previous spot behind him again.

    Like

  5. jbrayweber says:

    LOL! Loretta, you are too cute.
    I’m wondering what’s going on between Roark and Deidre. 🙂

    Like

  6. Neeks says:

    What a compelling idea! I guess I could stack up all of my short stories, and post the 99th page, whatever story and excerpt that is. I may have to try this, thanks!

    Like

  7. jbrayweber says:

    Hi Neeks~
    Yeah, I thought this was fascinating. It’s fun for both authors and readers. For your short stories, maybe you could pick a midpoint, depending on your page/word count, and post that. I do hope you try it. Thanks for stopping by!

    Like

  8. Neeks – you could shuffle the stories, and thereby give as many page 99’s as you have stories.
    Great concept. Unfortunately my computer will not follow the link. so I have to call in my computer geek to fix it.

    Like

  9. jbrayweber says:

    Oh no! I feel for you, Lyn. My PC has it out for me. It’s always acting up in one way or another. Hope you get your computer fixed soon. 🙂 Thanks for popping in!

    Like

  10. Jenn,
    I can’t write what’s goin’ on between Roark and Deidre in here;)

    Like

  11. jbrayweber says:

    Guess I’ll have to read it, then Lo. 😉

    Like

  12. Can I give a page 99 here? This isn’t your usual stuff, and I wonder if anyone will care for it. Suffice it to say I write historical fiction with a secondary thread of romance. The protagonist, Erich, is a general in the German Army; it is August 1939, a few days before the star of World War Two, and Hitler does not like Erich’s economic report………….

    …………… The tirade continued. Hitler shouted and strode and stabbed his fist in the air, while not another man in the room moved a muscle except to bumble out of his way. Some faces went red; others were drained dead white.
    Somebody at some recent time had started the rumour that during his rages Hitler frothed at the mouth and chewed on carpets. Erich suddenly remembered his younger brother, many years ago, who would go into paroxysms of purple fury and end up beating his head against the floor. The memory gave him a moment of relief. This would pass. Sanity must always prevail…
    “You find me amusing?” Hitler shrieked almost in his face. He had darted across the room to stand a pace in front of Erich.
    He realised he’d been smiling. In the abrupt silence he searched for words. “I was thinking of my brother, Fuhrer.” In his own preservation he added, “Just now you reminded me of him.” It was a truth badly warped to serve his own survival.
    Hitler stepped back. He seemed slightly out of breath. His eyes were smouldering coals under an unruly shank of lank dark hair. His face looked like dumpling, pale and soft and formless. His breath was foul. This close, Erich could find nothing magnetic in him. Hitler tugged at his brown paramilitary jacket, then turned back among the senior generals still frozen around the table. “Make no mistake, Schellendorf,” he shot back over his shoulder. “I am not anyone’s brother.”
    Then, as if nothing had happened, the conference resumed. Erich was forgotten. He stood at the door waiting to be dismissed until the meeting ended fifteen minutes later. Helmuth stood frozen to stone behind him. Everything about Case White was laid out on the table, the points of entry into Poland, the routes to Warsaw, the anticipated resistance, the planned advances, the course and timetable of war. Six weeks. Six weeks to obliterate a nation.
    All laid out except the starting date.
    He felt nothing. Poland was a bastard state, neither east nor west. She’d regained her existence only through Versailles, and Versailles was dead. Poland held off both Russia on the east and Germany on the west by the quixotic weight of world opinion. Except for distant England, Poland stood alone. She would fall. That was the simple part of it. What followed was the great gambler’s question. What if, what if…?
    *
    He couldn’t shake off the dirty feeling for hours afterward. Until now his opposition to Nazism had been no more than distaste for fanaticism in any form. But today he had actually smelled the breath of the beast, and looked straight into his eyes.

    99

    Like

  13. jbrayweber says:

    Wow, Lyn! That was wonderful! If I were to rate this, I’d give you a thumbs up. I want to read more! Is this published, and if so, what’s the title?

    Like

  14. jbrayweber – I looked up your website (is it Jennifer?) and found some wonderful romance titles. I’m into historicals, and the title of Page 99 is THE ENGLISH GENERAL See the first chapter by clicking on the cover on my website:
    lynalexander.com.
    It’s available in soft cover at an outrageous price (set by the publisher), but also e-Book at a reasonable price. (Personally, I dislike eBooks.)
    My computer geek has sent instructions to free up the internet, so I’ll see today if I can post to page 99

    Like

  15. jbrayweber says:

    Lyn, I read your first chapter and might I say it was intriguing. I will certainly add it to my TBR list. I happen to love historicals. Thank you so much for sharing.
    Jenn!

    Like

  16. Appreciate every reader I can get –
    Hope you will pronounce judgment (good or bad) when finished.
    email = lynraa@xplornet.ca

    Like

Leave a Reply

