Link of the Week

Sorry about the hiccup last week.  Here is your regularly scheduled Link of the Week by me, your resident goddess, Jenn.

Many authors listen to music when they write.  Do you listen to music? Maybe you bob along to some tunes for a little inspiration or to put you in the right mood for a scene.

For those who may not have heard of Pandora Radio, it is an internet radio service that creates a radio station custom made for you.  And it’s free. Just type in a song title or artist and the site will generates a playlist based on your preference. Doesn’t matter what musical genre either.  Rock, Pop, Country, Bluegrass movie soundtracks, holiday, whatever, your choice. Create as many radio stations as you like. And if you don’t like a particular song chosen, you can simply shelve or skip it. Pretty awesome! Pandora also has a Facebook app, iTunes app, can be used on mobile devices, displays lyrics and artist information, and many other features.

Similar radio services with varying degrees of features include Grooveshark, Last.fm,  and Spotify.

Check one of these sites out. You’re sure to find be-bopping and singing along in no time.

Rock on, my friends!

4 Responses to Link of the Week

  1. Kristina Gilley says:

    As a teenager so many years ago (I try not to consider exactly how many it was), I would listen to the radio while I studied for classes, exams, etc. Background noise was good. Now I need total, or as close to total as I can get, quiet. No distractions. I do, however, listen to certain types of music that inspires me while driving to work, doing company paperwork, stuff like that. I’ll jot notes while listening, but when it comes to writing, silence is platinum.

    Like

  2. jbrayweber says:

    Hi Kristina~
    I can write to music as long as there is no words. Otherwise I bust out singing like it’s karaoke night. LOL.But I can’t have other background noise. Weird, I know. Music inspires me, too. I have come up with scenes and plot lines just by listening to a bridge, or cord of a song. I can completely be swept away by the stories I apply to songs.

    Thanks for stopping by!

    Like

  3. Kristen says:

    Cute puppies and half-naked men Wednesdays, why would anyone visit any other site?

    Some of my best stuff comes when I’m in a forced meeting–like continuing license credit classes, or traffic school (I mean–what I’d IMAGINE traffic school to be).

    With three little kids, I’ve also found Nick Jr. TV is pretty easy to write to. I just can’t handle someone climbing on my chair.

    Like

  4. jbrayweber says:

    Ha! I’ve done that too, Kristen! I can’t tell you how many times I’ve imagined some real action taking place in the most mundane of settings. I can edit in noisy settings, but I can not write. POTC soundtrack music or silence is the way I roll. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

