The Most Interesting Man In The World- Dos Equis Eat Your Heart Out

You must stay drunk on writing so reality cannot destroy you.  ~Ray Bradbury

By: Stacey Purcell

Is he the most interesting man in the world?

Well, you’d have to read Prodromos and Spider’s Dance to find out, but I was lucky enough to pin down Nicholas White for a short interview. He’s funny, brave, smart and a hero in real life- I just can’t find his secret cape anywhere! I hope you enjoy learning about a man who lives by his own code.

Who are you?

My name is Nicholas White. I’m a computer security consultant and electronic forensics analyst.

Where do you live?

Currently, my fiancée Michaela and I live in Houston, but we’re considering a move to the UK. That’s home to her, and I don’t have any family left, so there are no real ties here in the States.

Are you the hero of your own story?

“Hero” might be too strong a word. I ran across some information I wasn’t supposed to, and all of a sudden my only goal was to get out of the mess alive. It was close, but I had some luck, and got out of it.

Do you embrace conflict?

My grandfather was an Irishman from the Auld Sod, and he taught me “Na sir ‘s na seachainn an cath”: Neither seek nor shun the fight. I don’t like confrontation, and won’t start one, but if pressed…. well, as I said, I don’t look for it.

How does the author see you?

Will Graham has done what I would say a more than fair job. His title, SPIDER’S DANCE, is a little over the top, and he made me a lot calmer than I am in real life. Michaela laughs a lot at some of the things he wrote about and, according to her, I was nowhere near as cool when we were dating as Will described me, but I’d say he got me around 95% accurate.

Do you keep your achievements to yourself?

Various Non-Disclosure Agreements over the years, you know. Most of them have probably expired, if such things ever do, but frankly, I think most people would find them dull and very un-interesting. I know Will had to get permission from the Department of Justice and the FBI to write about some of the incidents in SPIDER’S DANCE and especially PRODROMOS, but I’d really rather not go into that.

Do you have any skills?

Well, I know a little bit about computers.

What, if anything, haunts you?

That one we don’t talk about. A couple of cases that didn’t work out the way I’d hoped. Michaela yells at me all the time about that, especially a young girl who went missing several years ago. I wasn’t called in until she’d been gone for two weeks, and it didn’t end well. Her body was found almost two years later, but that one still bothers me sometimes. A lot.

Have you ever failed at anything?

Are you kidding? My successes might seem impressive, but when compared against the failures, the successes pale into minuscule insignificance.

Have you ever failed anyone?

I’ve made some mistakes that had unintentional consequences, but deliberately set out? No.

Are you honorable?

I try to be. Whether I am or not, well, I’m not the best judge of that. I know I can irritate people easily, but I don’t do it on purpose.

Have you ever had an adventure?

One or two. I’ve been fortunate that my work has taken me to places and cities I probably never would have visited. Although, there was this one time in Las Vegas that was supposed to be a vacation, but it turned into something else entirely. Will Graham has written about that one, too. It will be in THRILLER 3: LOVE IS MURDER from ITW, June of 2012.

What is the most important thing that ever happened to you?

Ironically, a murder. A co-worker was killed in his office, and my fiancée was one of the investigating officers. That’s how we met. That’s a true story. We met over a homicide. Life works funny sometimes, but there you have it. Tell me God has no sense of humor… go ahead, try.

Do you have any hobbies?

If you want to count my DVD collection, I guess I collect old movies. I love the old Universal Monsters, anything with Bogart, Alfred Hitchcock’s movies (nothing past PSYCHO, I’m afraid) and I read voraciously. We have an iPad, and a Kindle, and a Nook, but I still buy traditional books depending on the subject or author.

What’s on your iPod?

Is there any music after the Rat Pack?  (laughing)  I like a mix of stuff, but most of my music taste goes back to the 50’s and the 60’s.   

What are the last three books you read?

BLOOD & TREASURE by Jennifer Bray-Weber, TARGET OF BETRAYAL by Melissa Ohnoutka, and THE BLACK STILETTO by Raymond Benson. I enjoyed and unreservedly recommend all three of them!

16 Responses to The Most Interesting Man In The World- Dos Equis Eat Your Heart Out

  1. jeff7salter says:

    Wonderful interview, Stacey.
    And a very interesting individual.
    Definitely makes me want to read at least one of those books about his exploits.

    Like

  2. I think you would be pleasantly surprised and pleased by both stories about Nicholas. Spider’s Dance is based on true events!!

    Like

  3. Great post, Stacey.

    I think I know someone who reminds me of Nicholas White. As they say, there’s a little bit of every author in their characters.

    CC

    Like

  4. No kidding! Will Graham is also a super-hero cloaked as a regular guy. I love how they both are smarter than the average bear….BWAHAHAHAHA

    Like

  5. J.D. Faver says:

    Interesting interview, Stacey. Yeah….this Nicholas guy reminds me of someone too…And he’s very interesting.
    Glad to know more about him.
    ~J.D.

    Like

  6. Thanks for stopping by, June! Hmmmm so who does he remind you of???? Sounds like a story over a glass of wine. Ha!

    Like

  7. Oh, what a clever interview! Great job you two! Loved learning more about Nicholas White and the author who makes him tick. 😉

    Like

  8. I love how we discover more and more about Nicholas with each story. Prodromos captured his depth of emotion whereas Spider’s Dance highlights his quick thinking and cleverness.

    Like

  9. NancyM says:

    Damn that Michaela. If she decides to move to the UK without you . . . . well, you have my number.

    Like

  10. Oh Nancy- you’d have to get behind me in line! I put dibs on him a long time ago. I think he is complex, layered with a depth of robust passion….where was I?? Oh yeah, that was my wine last night…but it fits Nicholas as well.

    Like

  11. Harley says:

    I see it’s not true that all the good ones are married or gay — some of them are engaged. Ah, well . . .

    Like

  12. Yes, but it’s a long way to the altar!!! Good to hear from you, Harley!

    Like

  13. William Simon says:

    Thank you, Stacey, for this interview! And special thanks to all those who made comments.

    Only one caveat, a word of warning: Nicholas’s theme song for many years was Dean Martin’s “I’m Not the Marrying Kind.”

    When he met Michaela, well, he changed his attitudes, but….. well, I’m just sayin’….:)

    Like

  14. Tess says:

    Many men have sang this song and many have fallen!!! Love the poses!!! LOL!

    Like

  15. Amen Tess! It just takes the right woman and down they fall!!

    Like

  16. Kindle Fire says:

    Kindle Fire…

    […]The Most Interesting Man In The World- Dos Equis Eat Your Heart Out « MUSETRACKS[…]…

    Like

Leave a Reply

