A Book Signing to Remember (despite the spinning room)

Song of the Day: She Will Be Loved – Maroon 5

A few weeks ago, before the madness of the holidays consumed me, I participated in my first ever official book signing. with romantic suspense authors Melissa Ohnoutka and Will Graham. It was a grand event held at Drew’s Pastry Place. A pastry shop you might ask.  Yes, we meet there, along with fellow MuseTracker, Stacey, every Friday. Drew’s support of our merry band affectionately dubbed The Usual Suspects is amazing and it only made sense to have our signing there.

Like relatives who cause you severe mental anguish by forcing upon you an endless slide show of their vacation to *insert boring, mind-draining destination here*, I am sharing my experience with you. And what a great turn-out we had! So many family, friends, and even a few fans came out to support us.

Let me begin with a reminder. You may remember from a previous blog post, Dressing the Part – Corsets, Torture, & Voyeuristic Pirates, that I intended to dress as a pirate wench for books signings and bought a corset. Investment, I said. After my dear hubby cinched me up and I was on my way to the signing, I learned a valuable lesson. Corsets and driving do not mix. Take a moment, if you will, close your eyes and visually imagine my distress –back straight as an arrow, boobs doing the steering, cursing each right light…

I digress.

For your viewing pleasure, I give you a pictorial of the book signing.

Quick! Take the blasted picture before I pass out! Must...smile..then breathe...

The Authors in question. Melissa Ohnoutka, Will Graham, and yours truly.

The set-up. Each of us were given flowers, a lovely gift from a fellow writer. Thanks, Nancy!

It all felt surreal. I iz real author now.

Supportive friends!

Who's that behind Melissa? Best-selling author Christie Craig showing us the love.

Enjoying a rum ball. Yum!

The beautiful cake Drew whipped up for us.

We couldn't cut the cake without Drew. I won't mention why he was grinning so, but I will say it wasn't because we gushed about his creation.

The Usual Suspects. It was so wonderful to share the signing with such great friends.

I couldn’t have asked for a more spectacular book signing.  Despite the corset, I didn’t pass out from lack of oxygen and managed to stay quite coherent throughout. Once my boobs drove us home, I was so glad to have hubby un-harness me. But you know, I’d do it again in a heartbeat.

22 Responses to A Book Signing to Remember (despite the spinning room)

  1. It was a terrific signing and I had a fantastic time….and you all even sold quite a few books! A resounding success!

    Like

  2. jbrayweber says:

    And it was made better by having you there, Stacey. Muchos gracias, mi amiga!

    Like

  3. Congratulations, Jenn! Looks like fun for all, and what a great sport you are, -a real pirate’s wench:) (but the corset doesn’t sound very comfortable:)

    Like

  4. jbrayweber says:

    Thanks, Bev. Yes, the corset was quite uncomfortable, but mostly while sitting. Sitting squashed my ribs together. LOL

    Like

  5. jeff7salter says:

    You make a very lovely pirate wench, Jenn.
    Congrats to you and Melissa on a successful signing.
    It’s not fair to put into my head an image like “boobs steering”.

    Like

  6. jbrayweber says:

    HA! Sorry, Jeff. I’ll try to make it up to you. 😉 But rest assured, boob steering was surely a comical sight to those who happened to see me behind the wheel.

    Like

  7. Wish I could have been there! I have no doubt you had a blast! Love the Jenn and rum ball pic!

    Like

  8. jbrayweber says:

    Thanks so much, Nancy. Again, thanks for the flowers and your support.

    Like

  9. Yay, Jenn!!!!! So much fun and you look adorable. That cake is to die for!

    Like

  10. jbrayweber says:

    Thanks, Darynda. The cake WAS de-lish!
    Ooh…maybe one day we’ll have a book signing together. I’ll bring my corset and you can bring your scythe. 😉

    Like

  11. It looks like you had a lot of fun. Congratulations.

    Like

  12. jbrayweber says:

    Thanks so much, Ella. I really couldn’t ask for a better time. The signing was more than I could’ve asked for.

    Like

  13. Sharon says:

    Looks like you had a great time. Love the outfit! Congrats on your first book signing!!!

    Like

  14. jbrayweber says:

    Thanks, Sharon. I think everyone should own a pirate outfit. LOL!

    Like

  15. How cool, Jenn! What a great day! I so wish I was there with you. Congrats!

    Like

  16. jbrayweber says:

    Oh, Vanessa. I so wish you could’ve been there, too. Guess I’ll have to catch a plane to the land Down Under to see you. 🙂

    Like

  17. Your signing at Drew’s sounds like so much fun. I wish I could have been there. The mental images of you having to stand all night because of the corset and the girls driving you home is so Jenn!

    Jody

    Like

  18. jbrayweber says:

    HAHA! I suppose you are right, Jody. It is so me. Thanks, little lady!

    Like

  19. William Simon says:

    I just want to know who the guy in those photos is! THAT dude is old and bald and gray-haired, and that’s NOT me….:)

    Like

  20. jbrayweber says:

    LOL! No matter. He’s a GREAT guy!

    Like

  21. Diane Kelly says:

    Looks like the signing was a blast! I love the costume!

    Like

  22. jbrayweber says:

    Thanks, Diane. Fun was had by all. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

