Hot Men, Hot Author, HOT DAMN!

Song of the day: Photograph by Def Leppard

Wanna a special treat? How about an interview with the creator of my two book covers and a few sizzlin’ hot pictures?

Kimberly Killion is the founder of Hot Damn Designs, a wonderful one-stop

Coming Soon!

shop for edgy romance promotions. From websites and book covers to trading cards, business cards, and ads, Kim designs it all with flair. She has over 20 years experience in design, marketing, and communications.  This lady is sure to please with whatever an author needs, no matter the genre the author writes.

She is often seen gallivanting around conferences, teaching workshops, and blogging. How, you ask, does she do all this? Why, she never sleeps, of course!

Oh, did I mention Kim is also a Rita-nominated, award-winning author of medieval romance?

She also is able to leap tall buildings in a single bound. Okay, I just made that part up. But she’s still pretty amazing.

Introducing Kimberly Killion.

Kim - one hot Mamma!

JBW: I understand you find your models locally in St. Louis. What do you look for when choosing them? (More importantly, do you need an extra model? I’m totally available. Just sayin’.)

KK: When we first started this gig, we did use mostly local talent and we still do as far as the girls are concerned, but we have been bringing new guys in as of late. Our last model, Alex Geerman, was from NY and has modeled for Bruce Webber and Hollister, and…well…he was good. J As for needing extra models…cough…ummm…I get at least a half dozen emails a week from models wanting to shoot with us. Aside from that stack of resumes, the applicants for “baby oil” assistant are almost as high. LOL

JBW: What is your favorite part of designing—the photo shoots, the designing process, the final product?

KK: Well, there’s a certain sort of power that accompanies the statement “take your clothes off”. *vwg*

JBW: *nods heads emphatically while giggling*

KK: Oddly enough, when I have a naked man on set, I tend to blush. Crazy,

Brooks, dah-ling. Strip down and, for goodness sakes, look hot.

right? But honestly, I would have to say the final product is probably my favorite part about this process. There’s no greater satisfaction than receiving an email from a client who is completely head over heels in love with the design. Especially when that client is someone I’ve been reading since I was a teen. That’s the other pretty cool part about how this business has expanded…the names we are working with are crazy big. I’ve worked with Gaelen Foley and we just contracted with Linda Lael Miller. We are working with Kensington now and nearly a dozen NY agents. So, yeah, while working with hot guys is super fun, working with “the big dogs” is even “super-funner”!

JBW: I’ll say! Being an author yourself, I bet you understand what sells. I’m sure this comes into play when you direct (yes, I said direct!) a photo shoot. Has anything crazy, hilarious, or epic ever happened on a shoot?

Save a horse, ride a ...

KK: We had a 12 foot boa constrictor bite her snake handler on set. That was pretty freakin’ epic!

JBW: Awesome! Er…I mean…poor handler.

What’s Kim’s typical day like? You know, when the cabana boys aren’t fanning you with palm fronds and feeding you decadent truffles by an infinity pool overlooking a pristine ocean view. Oh wait, that’s my typical day!

KK: My typical day lasts about 18 hours. I sit in a recliner, listen to either country music or hip-hop and design one cover after another on a laptop. I drink hazelnut coffee and sometime in the afternoon I try to do something active. By evening, my ass is killing me, but I typically power through until about 2:00 am. I’m a workaholic. 😦

JBW: See, told you guys she never sleeps.

Oy, mate!

You just released a paranormal highlander romance, MY CURSED HIGHLANDER. Tell us about what inspired you to write this book. (You had me at Cursed. *wink*)

KK: I just like writing stories about Hot Highlanders. It’s really that simple. Plus, I was inspired by a story I came across regarding the assassination of Lorenzo the Magnificent’s brother. Throw in a hot-tempered blind Italian sculptress and you get a hot, sassy journey from Italy to Scotland. Of course, there’s the wicked villainous who was a ton of fun to write. Damn, she’s horrid! You gotta read this one. Seriously!

JBW: I’m so there!

Name one thing that would shock or surprise people about you.

KK: Most people think I’m this wild, free-spirit without a care in the world that travels about the countryside having one naughty fling after another with a slew of hotties. Well…some of that’s true. I won’t disclose which parts. Muhahahaha…

What do you suppose he's looking at?

JBW: And now, MY CURSED HIGHLANDER blurb:

A proud, tormented warrior…
Laird Taveon Kraig would do anything to recover a magical amulet powerful enough to break the curse that has plagued his clan for a hundred years—even marry a woman determined to hate him. But the beautiful—albeit boldly defiant—woman stirs his passion like no other. He never dreamed his quest would involve surrendering his heart.

A blind sculptress…
Having survived two ruthless marriages, Viviana Gorini Dè Medici has no desire to take another husband—especially one who wants her most prized possession: a magical amulet that provides her with the gift of sight. Despite her pleas, she is forced into the marriage and sent on a dangerous journey with a man whose charms melt her defenses, whose touch sets her on fire, and whose kiss stirs her body in a way she’s never known.

A wicked enemy…
Surrendering completely to an ecstasy that binds their hearts, neither of them foresees the sinister threat waiting to destroy both of their worlds. In a family torn apart by a centuries old curse, will love be enough to save them all?

I leave you with one last morsel.

Want more of Kim?

Kim’s writing persona: www.KimberlyKillion.com

Kim’s designer persona: www.HotDamnDesigns.com

Hot Damn’s pics of hot guys: www.HotDamnStock.com

Where Kim and her crew play: www.facebook.com/HotDamnDesigns

38 Responses to Hot Men, Hot Author, HOT DAMN!

  1. jbrayweber says:

    A special thanks to Kim for taking the time out of her very busy schedule to come visit us here at MuseTracks. Mucho Gracias!

    Like

  2. Sarah Andre says:

    WOW. I just realized writing novels is not following my dreams. How do I become a photographer?! How do I contact these lucious males? How much do I pay them?

    I’ve got the “Take off your clothes” down, though. Halfway there.

    Like

  3. jbrayweber says:

    LOL, Sarah. Kim does have a sweet job. I have to admit, my dirty mind read your last question wrong, and had me thinking what a naughty girl you are. Ha! Thanks for popping in.

    Like

  4. Wow. “Take off your clothes.” I break out into a sweat just thinking about uttering those words to the guys you work with, Kim. Best of luck with all you endeavors. I love your designs, been following them for a while.

    Like

  5. jbrayweber says:

    Kim does have some pretty fabulous designs, doesn’t she?
    Thanks for stopping by, Callie!

    Like

  6. AJ says:

    *waving from StL* Kim’s incredible! A strong, driven and giving woman–she’s perfect for the part of the heroine in a book! Glad to hear you’re doing so well, Kim!

    Like

  7. jbrayweber says:

    And doesn’t she look fabulous. Every bit a heroine! Thanks, AJ! 🙂

    Like

  8. Sorry, I can’t comment now. I have to go take a cold shower. Good job, Kim. And by that I mean, that’s some good job, Kim.

    Like

  9. jbrayweber says:

    LOL! Susan, you are such a hoot! You’ll want to turn the shower on early next Wednesday for Hump Day Kick Start. Just sayin’. 😉

    Like

  10. I never even thought about where these poses come from! You did my last cover, Kim. Realize now I should have asked for “hot guy” not “hot horse.” Loved the interview and your work. Carry on…

    Like

  11. jbrayweber says:

    Ah, Bev. You have a gorgeous cover! And Kim didn’t even have to ask the horse to strip. Bonus! HA!

    Like

  12. Gwyn says:

    Hey, Kim. Some of those designs are truly drool worthy, but I’m glad you’re still writing. Keep the eye-candy coming, and I promise I’ll buy the new book! {{{Hugs}}}

    Like

  13. jbrayweber says:

    She certainly has a lot of bodies to draw inspiration from, doesn’t she, Gywn?
    Thanks for popping in!

    Like

  14. Very cool. One of my CPs went to your recent shoot. I love your covers.

    Like

  15. jbrayweber says:

    Oh how envious I am of your CP. Going to a shoot would be so cool. And, in all honesty, it wouldn’t be for the skin. Well, not entirely. he he. I think it would be fascinating to watch how the entire process works- from the moment the day starts until it ends. All the detailed workings would definitely keep me interested.
    Thanks for stopping by, Ella!

    Like

  16. jeff7salter says:

    Hmm … change of pace.
    First: I really like your cover, Jenn, of the “… Water’s Edge” book. Great job.
    Secondly: I think Kim is cute.
    Yeah, I know: also talented, creative and dynamic.

    Like

  17. jbrayweber says:

    Do you already miss the steamy pix, Jeff? Next week will be another Hump Day installment. I’ll see what I can whip up for you. 😉

    >>>I think Kim is cute<<< Kim's a babe!!! LOL!

    Like

  18. HELLO Everyone! and thanks so much for all the wonderful comments! You all crack me up!!! Thanks, Jenn for tooting my horn and I’m so pleased you are happy with the covers. I totally dig them, too! 😉

    As for Jeff…hmmm…call me! LOL

    Like

  19. jbrayweber says:

    I don’t toot unless deserved, and, girl, you deserve it!
    Thanks again for being here, Kim!
    And watch out for Jeff. He’s a real charmer!!!

    Like

  20. Whatup with the stupid sad avatar??? He looks grouchy. 😦

    Like

  21. jbrayweber says:

    The avatar is just grouchy cuz he’s not on one of your covers.

    Like

  22. jeff7salter says:

    Glad you were not offended that I noticed you’re attractive, Kim. Sometimes, when men of a certain age comment on a lady’s appearance, they can get slapped.
    LOL

    Like

  23. jbrayweber says:

    That’s not to say Jeff doesn’t like to get slapped now and again. HAHA!

    Like

  24. jeff7salter says:

    Hey now, Jenn. I don’t like getting slapped because my glasses will fly off!

    Like

  25. jbrayweber says:

    LOL! Who said anything about slapping your face. 😮

    Like

  26. jeff7salter says:

    Uh … only a fiery pirate lady could get away with such affronts. And then, only because I’m such a refined gentleman.

    Like

  27. jbrayweber says:

    I’ll give you that, Jeff. You ARE a gentleman.

    Like

  28. Love, love your writing. The absolutely adorable models aren’t bad either. You are so full of energy and enthusiasm–don’t know how you keep it up. But I”m sure glad you do. I can’t wait to publish. Then I’ll get to ask for a Hot Damn cover LOL.

    Like

  29. jbrayweber says:

    You can’t go wrong with Hot Damn, that’s for sure. Thanks for showin’ the love and commenting, Barbara. 🙂

    Like

  30. johngraceson says:

    Super post, Jenn! Your blogs are — as usual — topical and relevant.

    Hi, Kim. Your site and services are a keeper for the to-do file.

    And it’s about time we guys carved out a niche for ourselves in the happening fashion of exploitation. Really tired of being respected for our minds. But, where were you when I worked my way through college — a deckhand, half-clad on the deep blue. Or my time in the Air Force, with those neck-to-navel zippered flight suits. Hell, I would have worked for beer money alone.

    Sigh…

    Thanks for the informative post!
    John

    Like

  31. jbrayweber says:

    John, you TEASE!!!! But don’t you worry none. I’ll exploit you, you dirty boy. HAHAHA! Love to have you about. Thanks for popping up, er, I mean, in. Oh, gosh….you know what I mean!!

    Like

  32. Tess says:

    I’m a huge fan of Kim’s work…I have a few of her stock photos too!!! Love HotDamnDesigns!

    Like

  33. jbrayweber says:

    Got a stash of half nekkid men, do you, Tess? LOL! No shame in that. 🙂

    Like

  34. Beneath the Water’s Edge is a new fav cover!!! I love Kim’s work and this interview is just fascinating!!! Off to finish reading it, but great post, Jenn!!!!

    Like

  35. jbrayweber says:

    Shucks, D. You’re too good to me! But, go on…
    Seriously, Kim’s work is wonderful, isn’t it?

    Like

  36. Melissa says:

    These are all awesome!! Loved the interview, ladies! 🙂 Off to do some of my own heavy breathing now! LOL

    Like

  37. jbrayweber says:

    Do you need an oxygen tank? LOL! Thanks, Melissa!

    Like

  38. jeff7salter says:

    Ha. When it suits me to be.

    Like

Leave a Reply

