MuseTracks Guest JD Faver – Researching the Elusive Alaskan Men

Today’s special guest is powerhouse JD Faver. JD is the author of contemporary romance, romantic suspense, and romantic thrillers. I must say I am amazed by her tireless drive and quirky spunk. You’ll understand why…

Welcome, JD.

Hi Jenn!

Thanks for inviting me to be your guest today on Muse Tracks. I wanted to share some of the things I learned while writing ON ICE, my new romantic thriller. Most of the time a writer has to do some research, even if they think they know everything there is to know about a subject. I do have some areas of expertise that I would feel comfortable delving right into without extensive research. Healthcare, nutrition, sailing, are among the things I think I know something about. Everything else in the whole wide world requires research.

Jenn, although you may have the heart of a sultry pirate wench, I’m sure you did spend a little time getting into the pirate mode online before you put fingers on the keyboard and cranked out your first wonderful novel.

ON ICE is the story of a Houston woman who escapes a brutally abusive husband and flees to the farthest point she can imagine, Alaska. Her sister helps her and for all her trouble, the sister draws the wrath of the crazy guy. But for my little heroine who is now in Alaska, I needed to know what life was like before I could write about her in her new world. Yes, I went to all kinds of online sites and gathered lots of good info, but there were still some details that eluded me. I have lived in the southern part of Texas most of my life, and although I would love to visit Alaska I was having a hard time with some of the juicy little details.

My brilliant plan was to go to an online dating site and look up Men in Alaska…

Are you laughing at me?

Please keep in mind that I am single and I was totally truthful. In my profile I wrote that I just wanted to use them for information for my novel. I got lots of interesting replies. I tell you, if you were really hard up for a date, Alaskan men are most appreciative. I sorted through the replies and copied and pasted the same note…”No, I’m not planning on moving to Alaska, nor am I planning a visit in the near future…You would be happy to pay my way? How lovely, but really, put away your Visa card. I just want to pick your brain…Yes; I’m tall and blonde…and have adequate body fat to provide for insulation…

Yes, I like to shoot things, but not animals. If I had to kill what I ate, I would be tenderizing the tree bark…”

I finally filtered out the lusty men who wanted to chat and settled on the most articulate of the bunch. The two very nice gentlemen who became my sources of Alaska minutiae were charming and amusing and very good sports.

So, this confession is just to let you know that you can always find a way to get solid meat on the bones of your story. Sometimes research is rather exciting. <g>

J.D. Faver

http://www.amazon.com/Ice-Contemporary-Romantic-Thriller-ebook/dp/B00758KQ22/ref=ntt_at_ep_dpt_1

34 Responses to MuseTracks Guest JD Faver – Researching the Elusive Alaskan Men

  1. William says:

    Wow, June, what an intriguing way to gather research! I’m willing to bet the men who did help you are exceptional guys. Nothing beats going to the source to get the info you need.

    Like

  2. jbrayweber says:

    Will, I think you’ve nailed it. Not everyone would want to participate in this type of research. How cool of them to jump on board JD’s crazy train. (And I say that with the utmost respect for JD!)
    JD has given me some ideas of my own about going to the source.

    Like

  3. Beth Carter says:

    What a fantastic way to garner research! I’ll have to remember this but not sure my husband will be too appreciative. 🙂 Love your title and cover, btw.

    Like

  4. jbrayweber says:

    Yeah, Beth. Hubbies tend to not always see and appreciate all our hard work. LOL!

    Like

  5. I love this! Very inventive

    Like

  6. jbrayweber says:

    I agree, Cynthia. I think she’s a genius for thinking of this unique way to do research.

    Like

  7. Susan Muller says:

    Wow, J.D. Imaginative and thorough. Good traits for a writer. No wonder it’s such a good book.

    Like

  8. jbrayweber says:

    Susan, you are right. Thorough research is so important to a writer. And JD is certainly not short on inventive creativity, is she? 🙂

    Like

  9. jbrayweber says:

    Thanks again, JD, for being a guest here on MuseTracks. I love your creative way of researching. The lengths authors go to for those vital nuggets of wisdom…
    And if I hadn’t said it before, I love On Ice’s cover.

    Like

  10. regencyworld says:

    Definitely, novel, J.D.! Hope you still have all of those names to let them know the book is out. This is such an awesome read; wouldn’t want them to miss out.

    Like

  11. jbrayweber says:

    Ooh, a great idea, regencyworld, to let them know On Ice is available. After all, they helped shaped her Alaskan hero and she’s certain to pick up new fans!

    Like

  12. jdfaver says:

    Thanks so much for inviting me to guest blog, Jenn. I do love men, whether they’re lolling on a white, sandy beach (yum!) or half frozen in the northern climes…Love ’em. In fact it could be true that the Alaskan man might be more of a challenge because you have to thaw them out first. And then there are all those layers they insist on wearing…In ON ICE, when my heroine and hero finally get to the deed there are all those layers of insulation to get through first. Even in a thriller, I like to have a little fun with my characters…
    *hugs*
    ~JD

    Like

  13. Dana says:

    Possibly my favorite ‘what type of research do you do for your books’ answer ever!

    Like

  14. jbrayweber says:

    I’m with you, Dana! JD has tapped into a new way to do character research.

    Like

  15. A very intriguing way to do research, June. LOL.

    CC

    Like

  16. jbrayweber says:

    Thinking out of the box can be fun. Thanks for stopping by, Christie. Always a pleasure to have you here.

    Like

  17. What a great idea, JD! I, too, am single and have chosen to write settings I’ve personally experienced. Talk about thinking outside the box. Great post!

    Like

  18. jbrayweber says:

    Personal experience can be a writer’s best friend, don’t you think, Cadence? And often times, that personal experience makes the writing even more enjoyable…and satisfying. Thanks for coming by MuseTracks.

    Like

  19. JD, you definitely have drive and spunk. I loved your method of getting Alaska info. Kudos.

    Jane

    Like

  20. jbrayweber says:

    JD has loads of spunk, all right! Thanks for stopping by, Jane.

    Like

  21. jdfaver says:

    I think I have totally escaped the box and have no idea how to get back in. In fact, I’m not even sure where I left it.
    *hugs*
    ~J

    Like

  22. Great way to tap into the Alaskan research source, JD. Love On Ice ‘s cover! Wishing you many sales!

    Like

  23. jbrayweber says:

    She does have a great cover, doesn’t she Carol. I’m sure her sales will skyrocket.

    Like

  24. Tess says:

    So cool, JD!!! Well, it’s hard work, but someone has to do it!!!!

    Like

  25. jbrayweber says:

    Anyone needing research on hot pirate men, I’m their gal! Thanks for popping in, Tess!

    Like

  26. jdfaver says:

    If anyone needs to do research on Chippendale’s men, let me know. I think I’m up for more serious research.
    Anything for the cause.
    *hugs*
    ~J

    Like

  27. Brilliant research JD! I’ll have to go troll Scotland and see what I can get for my next novel. lol I wonder what hubby will say….it’s research baby, research.
    🙂
    ~Rose

    Like

  28. jbrayweber says:

    Ooh..trolling the Highlands. I like it, Rose! I’ll be alibi. LOL!

    Like

  29. KE Saxon says:

    OMG! You are a pill! (My kind of pill, by the way!) What a hoot! I’m glad you ddin’t end up with any “Northern Exposure” stalkers, LOL! Great story, JD! Thanks for sharing and it looks like ON ICE is another GREAT Romantic Thriller!

    Like

  30. jbrayweber says:

    Are you having one of those “I wish I’d have thought of that” moments, KE? I am! LOL! Thanks for popping in.

    Like

  31. Lovely blog! And a great story. 🙂

    Like

  32. Hi.In December of 2008 my family and I relocated to a remote area in Alaska called King Salmon/Naknek located on the Naknek river that opens into the Bering sea.Yes it is on the map!Population when we arrived was about 600.It swells to appx.1000 during Salmon fishing season.There is twelve miles of paved road and numerous dirt roads crisscrossing into the spectacular woods and mountains.They had just had their first snow of the season and the entire area looked like a glittering postcard.The temperature hovered around 16 daytime and dropped to -1 at night.The people we met there were extraordinarily welcoming and brought gifts of casseroles,Salmon,Moose,homemade breads and pies and candy.
    Most of the locals,men and women are tall and robust. There were very few singles over the age of thirty.That dashed my hopes of meeting and possibly marrying a handsome outdoors type Alaskan man. Of courses it is hard to tell how handsome a man is when his face is covered with hair.It is incredibly expensive to live there and we only stayed five years before we returned to the lower 48 and Texas.

    Like

  33. jbrayweber says:

    Oh, what a wonderful story, Pamala. I bet JD could pick your brain for Alaskan tidbits.

    I was picturing Alaska as I read your comment. I bet that was an amazing experience. But seeing as I HATE cold weather, I think I’ll stick to living vicariously through others. Plus…I’m not partial to full-on beards. 😉
    Welcome back to Texas! And thank you so much for sharing.

    Like

  34. emma lane says:

    married my sourdough. <g

    Like

Leave a Reply

