Steven Tyler, Noodling, and Pirate Dreams

Song of the Day: Dream On by Aerosmith

The other night I had one of those dreams that make you go huh? My best pal was Steven Tyler of  the awesome rock band Aerosmith. For you whippersnappers who don’t know who Steven Tyler is, I roll my eyes and blow out a frustrated sigh. Steven Tyler is that long-haired, hippy-looking judge on American Idol. But I digress and return to my dream. Steven Tyler and I were noodling for river monsters. That in itself offers all sorts of comedic innuendos. Go ahead and crawl that dirty mind of yours from the gutter.

You may be asking what in the world is noodling. Noodling is fishing for catfish using only your bare hands. Yeah, I know. A little unsettling. You may also be wondering why I was noodling catfish with Steven Tyler. Got me. I’ve no idea why. But wow – what an imagination.

Dreams can offer a great springboard for inspiration. Much like a photo (insert shameless plug for MuseTracks’ popular Hump Day Kick Start), a movie scene, a quote, a song, or even a passing stranger, a vivid dream can uncover a fount of creativity.

My debut novel (insert another shameless plug) BLOOD AND TREASURE is an example. Long before I became a writer and before Pirates of the Caribbean hit the silver screen, I dreamed nearly the entire first chapter of BLOOD AND TREASURE. It was such an adventure that it defied what dreams do when we wake. It didn’t fade away like fog in the morning sun. Instead it clung on until I finally wrote it down on paper months later.

In the same vein, I once had a dream starring Johnny Depp. I bet I’m not unique, right ladies? (And I suppose if I was being honest, I’ve had more than one dream of the sexy actor.) That dream spawned a romantic comedy short story. This was also the story that had my creative writing college professor challenging me to become a novelist. Silly professor. I never back down from a challenge. Since, I’ve penned several more short stories based on the antics I live through in the realm of Slumberland.

Now, you may be curious to know if Steven Tyler and I were successful in noodling for catfish. I’m happy to say we were. We also caught several electric eels.  And we celebrated with a cold beer. Ah…good times, good times.

Have you ever had a wild, crazy dream you’d like to share? For authors, have you written a story based on a dream? I’d love to hear from you.

23 Responses to Steven Tyler, Noodling, and Pirate Dreams

  1. I want to be BFFs with Steven Tyler!
    What a fun article- I had a dream when I was 16 that turned into my first novella. It was very bad, very silly but I thought it was the most wonderful story in the world.

    Like

  2. jbrayweber says:

    I have a confession. A couple of days later, I dreamed Johnny Depp was my editor. LOL! That Johnny still manages to sneak into a dream now and again. LOL!

    I’d love to know what your novella was about, Stacey. Do tell!

    Like

  3. You are a little noodle! What a funny dream. Steve Tyler of all people. Maybe it was the lips that had you thinking of codfish!
    That or Captain Hook!

    Like

  4. jbrayweber says:

    Steven Tyler…who knew? LOL. I don’t watch American Idol. But the band is making a stop in my hometown on their concert tour later this summer. Maybe that’s why I dreamed of him.
    I will admit, he would definitely be someone I’d want to be buddies with, Linda. He’s so…interesting. Ha!
    Now, Captain Hook, that’s another dream altogether. 🙂

    Like

  5. wmsimon says:

    Silly Jennifer. Steven Tyler’s major claim to fame is he is Liv Tyler’s father. Get your priorities right, lady….:)

    Like

  6. jbrayweber says:

    …Will says with tongue in cheek. Liv is only known for her awkward appearance in a string of her father’s music videos in the 90’s and playing an elf on Lord of the Rings. LOL!

    Like

  7. jeff7salter says:

    I’d be delighted to noodle with Jennifer Lopez.
    As for dreams: a lot of my poem imagery has come from dreams. In fiction, several titles, plots, scenes, characters, etc. have come from dreams. Dreamland is like a gigantic flea market: you can never cover the entire expanse, there are always treasures you can’t do without, and you often didn’t bring enough funding to get everything you wanted.

    Like

  8. jbrayweber says:

    Noodling with Jennifer Lopez? Somehow, I don’t think you mean fishing for catfish with her. Or do you? 😉

    I think if you are naturally a creative individual, dreams will just overflow into your waking imagination. I’ve read quite a few of your poems, Jeff. And I’d say you dream a lot.

    A gigantic flea market? Ha! Now that is an interesting analogy, to say the least. But you now, there’s something profound in that, Jeff. HA!

    Like

  9. johngraceson says:

    You’re such a fascinating woman! Who couldn’t listen to you all day, on any topic. (Smile)

    Dreams for a plot…? I mostly get the standard-male, half clad, crowded school hallway sceen where I’ve forgotten my book locker combo and can’t find my way to my next class dream. Not exactly high concept is it?

    Like

  10. jbrayweber says:

    Throw in a dancing chorus line, a suspicious package, and Bruce Willis, and BAM! you’ve got yourself a working spectacular plot, John! LOL!

    And you DON’T want me to start telling you one of my many antics. I’ll talk and talk and talk and talk…..

    Like

  11. johngraceson says:

    Sceen…sheesh! I so need an editor.

    Like

  12. Tess says:

    I have never had a dream that I turned into a story, but I rarely dream. However, I was telling my dad about noodling. He was raised in Louisiana, a little Cajun man, and he said, “Noodling is nothing new, we just called it fishing when I was a kid. Who could afford a pole?” LOL.

    Like

  13. jbrayweber says:

    HAHAHA! So true, Tess, so true. Your dad sounds like a hoot.

    I grew up on a creek, and every time it flooded it’s banks, my father and grandfather would put out trout lines. Don’t know why they were called trout lines. There were no trout and they always caught MONSTER catfish. Dang, I miss those fish frys. 🙂

    Like

  14. Thank you for your post, Jenn. You were noodling with Steve Tyler and caught electric eels? I’m sure there were sparks flying!

    Have I ever written a story based on a dream? Yes, once, many years ago. I might do so again. But there’s a little problem. Nowadays I very rarely remember my dreams, assuming I have them. Therefore when I can recall one, I write it down, post it on my Facebook page, and analyze it to death.

    I have this theory that dreams make good fiction fodder because they’re a direct line to the individual unconscious, which has a direct line to the collective unconscious. Therefore a dream which is meaningful to one person has a good chance of being meaningful to others. Its images, figures, situations, and events might mean different things to different people. But there must be something going on.

    The dreams I can remember might be a little long for me to recount here. However, if any of my dreams-turned-stories ever get published, I’ll let you know. Keep up the good work!

    Like

  15. jbrayweber says:

    HAHAHA! I’m not sure if sparks flew after drinking the beer. I woke up. But get me liquored up and no telling what will happen. 😉

    That’s a very good theory, Mary Anne. One that is quite plausible. It’s just as how a popular song might have a deep, emotional meaning for one person could have an entirely different impact emotionally on another.

    Yes, please let us know if your dreams-turned-story becomes published. That would be awesome.

    Like

  16. Tess says:

    What is it about men and trout lines???? Every man I know has put out a trout line…I don’t think I’ve ever seen a trout! LOL.

    Like

  17. jbrayweber says:

    Ha! I hear ya, Tess. I think I’ll ask my dad. No tellin’ what kind of answer he’ll give me, but it’s sure to be enlightening. 😉

    Like

  18. Awesome dream. Hey if you can’t hang out with the stars in real life, why not in dreams, right?

    Like

  19. jbrayweber says:

    Thanks, Angela. I’ve had some pretty unusual stars pop up in my dreams like Woody Harrelson, Sting, Thomas Hayden Church, just to name a few. But I really enjoy it when Brad Pitt, Ryan Reynolds or Johnny Depp make an appearance.

    Like

  20. Very entertaining articles…just like your books, Jenn!

    Like

  21. jbrayweber says:

    Ah, thanks, Teri. 🙂

    Like

  22. Too funny. Great post.

    Like

  23. jbrayweber says:

    Just like my life…
    Thanks, Ella!

    Like

Leave a Reply

