Link Of The Week

http://750words.com/about

I’m so excited I found this link for this week! It was based on an exercise given in The Artists Way called Morning Pages. The idea is to write 750 words everyday about anything- no censuring. It’s a daily free for all! Your words could be brainstorming something from your project or it could be about anything rumbling around in your head.

What about a blog? Tumbler? Well, these are possible avenues but what happens if you forget to push the “private” button? This site allows you to write and keep it to yourself but all in one place where you can check back over your words. Enjoy!!!

“I’ve long been inspired by an idea I first learned about in The Artist’s Way called morning pages. Morning pages are three pages of writing done every day, typically encouraged to be in “long hand”, typically done in the morning, that can be about anything and everything that comes into your head. It’s about getting it all out of your head, and is not supposed to be edited or censored in any way. The idea is that if you can get in the habit of writing three pages a day, that it will help clear your mind and get the ideas flowing for the rest of the day. Unlike many of the other exercises in that book, I found that this one actually worked and was really really useful.

I’ve used the exercise as a great way to think out loud without having to worry about half-formed ideas, random tangents, private stuff, and all the other things in our heads that we often filter out before ever voicing them or writing about them. It’s a daily brain dump. Over time, I’ve found that it’s also very helpful as a tool to get thoughts going that have become stuck, or to help get to the bottom of a rotten mood.”

10 Responses to Link Of The Week

  1. jeff7salter says:

    A dear friend gave me a copy of The Artists’ Way in Sept of 2006. Since that time, I’ve journalled in special notebooks — my Morning Pages. For the first year or so, as I recall, I did the three pages per day, as recommended. But after a while I cut it to ONE page. Partly because of arthritis in my hands, but also because I was eager to get into my WIP.
    I’ve kept up the one page per day .. .even though sometimes I get a day behind. Now I have over 13 notebooks filled up!

    Like

  2. Now that is a picture of commitment! Good for you for following through all those years. Has it helped you? Obviously you find it beneficial or you wouldn’t continue so let us know what you’ve gotten out of it!!

    Like

  3. jeff7salter says:

    I don’t know how to assess how directly one may have led to another, but during those same 5.5 years, I’ve written 7 complete novels, and have starts on many others. And, I’m happy to say, the first of those novels is due for release in about 9 days.
    Did my Morning Pages nurture that creative output? I’m willing to believe so.
    But what I got, even more importantly, from Julia Cameron was giving myself validation as a writer … and granting myself “permission” to engage it wholeheartedly.

    Like

  4. Love your reply! Thanks.

    Like

  5. jdfaver says:

    I have sort of adapted this idea, Stacey. I have a pact with myself to write a minimum of 100 words per day. Sometimes its garbage, sometimes its gold. But I’ve been chronicling it on my FB friends page. I’ve almost reached 1,000 days. The upshot is that I now have 9 books uploaded on Amazon (less on other sites) and I’m still writing. Just writing 100 words keeps me in the story and I find that I can be more productive just by plodding away at it. I usually have “evening pages” because of a day job and I can’t seem to slap the Muse awake in the morning. I am much more left brained early on. But as the day progresses my creativity blossoms and I shift to right brain activities. Good blog.
    *hugs*
    ~J

    Like

  6. Hi June- Thanks for stopping by! I have watched your day count go up up and up! I’m really jealous of it…guess I better get busy!

    Like

  7. C. K. Crouch says:

    I agree I am on a Yahoo loop 100 words for 100 days. I’ve completed an entire year as of yesterday 57 days into my second year. I received my champagne today for completing the year on 18 March 2012. I am checking out the 750 words it is great.

    Like

  8. C. K. Crouch says:

    I wanted to pop back in and let you know I managed to write 1860 words tonight the most in a long time. Thanks for the tip.

    Like

  9. Way to go Kathy!!! This is the very reason we post the link of the week. I’m so happy for you and glad to hear about your success with your writing. Whoo Hoo! I think I’ll go eat a brownie in your honor…I was looking for an excuse this morning to do that. Ha!

    Like

  10. C. K. Crouch says:

    Sniff I want a brownie. I’ve been wanting some chocolate. I’ve done really good since I moved out of my sister’s house I’m not constantly eating sweets. I just had a prompt/reminder from the site to write my words. I told it I’m not ready yet. Going to splurge and get a hair cut I think.

    Like

Leave a Reply

