Hump Day Kick Start – Hugh Edition

Song of the Day: Savior by Rise Against

Hump Day Kick Start – for your muse, a writing picture prompt, or just a visual treat.

I’m in Anaheim this week for the 2012 RWA conference. But that’s no excuse for not posting Hump Day Kick Start. Ladies, you are welcome.

Some of you may have heard about an author who was recently sued for posting a photo on her blog without the permission of the photographer. The photographer sent a cease and desist letter. Said author immediately removed the picture in question and apologized. However, the photographer sued the author.

Now we all know that most authors make squat for a living, including myself. And what little squat I do make, I’d like to keep, as I work hard for it. I recognize that photographers do, too. And while most of the photos posted on MuseTracks are used legally, some may fall into gray area. I do not want to infringe on any artist’s rights. Any photos on this website are not intended for malicious or profitable use.

And so with a heavy heart, I will likely suspend Hump Day Kick Start until I can find a solution. Any ideas will be greatly appreciated.

Until then…back to Hugh. This happens to be one of my favorite pictures of him. *sigh* What do you think, ladies? Like him with longer hair? Or does a clean cut Hugh work for you?  Fellas? What do you think of Mr. Jackman? Do you find him a good actor?

Hugh or Hump Day Dilemma…

Let’s discuss!

14 Responses to Hump Day Kick Start – Hugh Edition

  1. Sarah Andre says:

    Very sad news, Jenn. 😦
    Your hump day posts…aw, why lie…your hump day pics were the best part Weds.

    His body language expresses all our sadness. Either that, or he was just verbally gutted by his lover…which came out of nowhere. Poor Hugh had no chance to man up for it so that’s plain, naked hurt on his face.

    Did I just say naked and Hugh in the same sentence??
    Off to download your SOTD.

    Like

  2. jbrayweber says:

    Aw…thanks, Sarah. After my mind returns to some sort of solidified substance now that I’m home from conference, I’ll figure out some way to continue to make Wednesdays better. 🙂 Thanks so much for your support.

    Like

  3. Sorry to hear this, Jenn! Can you tell us which writer you’re talking about? I hadn’t heard about it.

    I hope you’ll be able to find a solution. You must be far from the only blogger in this predicament. What have others done?

    Hope you’re having a great time at the RWA Conference. Please keep us posted.

    Like

  4. jbrayweber says:

    Hi Mary Anne!
    Yes, the RWA conference once again has kicked my butt. In a good way, of course. Sorry, I don’t have the author’s name handy, but it did recently happen.
    I do hope to find a satisfying replacement to HDKS. Everyone seemed to have so much fun with it, and I enjoyed hosting it.
    Keep your fingers crossed!

    Like

  5. See? If you’d listen to me and post pictures of Jane Seymour or Diana Rigg or Cate Blanchett, this wouldn’t have happened!

    Like

  6. jbrayweber says:

    LOL! Sorry, Will. Same rules apply with Jane, Cate, and Diana. Sucks, doesn’t it?

    Like

  7. Great. What’s next? Kids suing parents for posting baby pictures taken without a signed release on Facebook?

    These are the days I hate the world, when people are so full of their own importance they sue for anything and everything under the sun. It’s unfortunate that there’s no ‘legal dispute’ asterix that can be permanently attached to peoples names who choose to settle disputes via the court system first, so you could choose to avoid doing business with them.

    My own snarky belief: This wasn’t the first time the photog has sued someone–in both his professional and private life.

    And what’s up with Hugh? He looks like a baby in this picture! Still adorable though. Just not looking quite tough enough to kick the system’s ass!

    Time for dirty stick figure drawings.

    Like

  8. jbrayweber says:

    Dirty stick figure drawings! Of Course! Why didn’t I think of that sooner. HAHA! Thanks, Kristen.

    Like

  9. Sarah Andre says:

    Spoke to some friends here in Anaheim about your predicament. They said Wickimedia has free pics.

    Like

  10. jbrayweber says:

    Unfortunately, I’ve yet to find a picture appropriate enough for HDKS on Wikimedia. But thanks, Sarah. I’ll keep looking.

    Like

  11. Suzan Harden says:

    We need a workaround, because your loyal followers need our Hump Day fix! And Hugh Jackman in any form would be welcome in my house…

    Like

  12. jbrayweber says:

    Thanks, Suzan. I’m still optimistic. I’ll figure something out.
    I’ll send over when I’m done. But don’t wait up. 😉

    Like

  13. RobinSweet says:

    Ohhhhh nooooo!! This is a GREAT kick-start! I will rack and rattle the old noggin to search for a solution for you! You MUST keep this going! 🙂

    Like

  14. jbrayweber says:

    I’m at a loss, Robin. Hopefully I’ll figure something out that won’t be costly.

    Like

Leave a Reply

