Buy Cough Syrup And Your Favorite P.O.D. Book At The Same Time

And by the way, everything in life is writable about if you have the outgoing guts to do it, and the imagination to improvise.  The worst enemy to creativity is self-doubt.  ~Sylvia Plath

 

Good Morning Muse Trackers!

 

I have just run across an amazing bit of news. I sincerely hope it isn’t the case of the whole world already knows this and I’m getting clued in at the last minute, but here goes. In the not so very distant future, you may be able to print your e-books at CVS and other convenient locations. I think this has the potential to change the whole game. At the very least, it will bring in a whole segment of the population that simply won’t convert to e- formats. (I’m very excited by this, can you tell?)

 

A company, On Demand Books, has created a machine that will be able to print self published books and also the more than seven million backlist and public domain titles in its catalog. The Espresso Book Machine (I love what they call it.) will be able to print a book out in minutes and it can contain pictures as well. I see all sorts of possibilities for the future. Will it be much longer before we can include short films? My books take place in exotic locales, what about a photo journey?

Here’s an example of an Espresso machine in Alexandria, Egypt!

 

On Demand has partnered with Kodak to add print-on-demand technology to Kodak Picture Kiosks which are not only located throughout the United States, but are found all over the world! They have also formed a partnership with ReaderLink, which distributes books to grocery stores, drugstores, mass market and club stores as well, to make even more titles available through Kodak Picture Kiosks. As it stands, there are 105,000 kiosks globally. Book releases will begin this year in the U.S. and will expand on the international front in 2013. While the Espresso Book Machines are already in about 70 bookstores and libraries globally, Kodak will be able to expand their footprint immensely.

Think of the possibilities!

“We envision an integrated solution that can substantially redefine the publishing industry and bring exciting new solutions to customers,” said On Demand CEO Dane Neller in the release.

I also found on the Espresso Machine’s web site that they are excited to help authors connect their works with others. The books will have full color covers and black and white interiors making it indistinguishable from books produced by traditional publishers. If an author chooses to use this system, they retain all rights and the author also has the responsibility of setting their own price point. They have many different programs to assist writers such as EspressNet and The Shelves program which are detailed on their site http://ondemandbooks.com/self_publishing.php  EBM will also go beyond simple printing as they offer full publishing packages including editorial, design, layout etc.- whatever you might need.

11 Responses to Buy Cough Syrup And Your Favorite P.O.D. Book At The Same Time

  1. WOW, Stacey! You’re right…. this will change only everything….:)

    Like

  2. Will, I think this has the potential to tap into markets that are currently being under served. This new technology is astounding

    Like

  3. jbrayweber says:

    Holy cow. I hadn’t heard of this. Amazing…simply amazing. I feel like I can’t keep up with technology!

    Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  4. I know what you mean, Jenn. There are days when I’m not sure I know how to operate in this ever changing world! Before long, we’ll have holographic books and we can go play on the hologram deck like in Star Trek. Our books will become virtual worlds where we can insert ourselves!

    Like

  5. Stacey, Can I share this on my blog, I’ll just copy and paste everything, giving you credit of course.

    Like

  6. Of course you can, Karen. I’d love for you to be able to share this tid bit!

    Like

  7. Ooh, the Espresso Book Machine is my favorite topic right now! I live in Portland, Oregon, where one was installed at Powell’s in the spring, and I created a publishing project to check it out. On October 5, I’m launching a collection of 42 author interviews and essays using the Espresso machine as my printer and creating a small press to release the book. There are 80 Espresso machines around the world right now, but this new deal with Kodak will definitely change things even more. The distribution potential is dazzling.

    Like

  8. jeff7salter says:

    I had read a bit about this technology, but didn’t realize it was already in the marketplace.
    I wonder how much it costs per copy. I would guess it’s QUITE expensive. Presumably this includes some sort of binding.

    Like

  9. I tweeted about this last week. Very cool technology.

    Like

  10. Thanks for the tweet shout out! It is very cool technology and I think it has the potential to make a huge monetary impact for authors. Think I need to continue researching!!

    Like

  11. Have you ever considered about adding a little bit more than just your articles?

    I mean, what you say is fundamental and all. However imagine if you added some great
    images or video clips to give your posts more, “pop”!
    Your content is excellent but with pics and videos, this website
    could undeniably be one of the most beneficial in its field.
    Excellent blog!

    Like

Leave a Reply

