It’s Agent Shop Pitch Day!

Guess what? It’s that time…

 

GO!

 

All pitches need to be sent to Candi_agent_shop (at) yahoo . com

 

Yes, I’m posting this early so everyone has the chance to join in…

Welcome to another round of Agent Shop! (Pitching will officially start Sat. March 16th at 10:00 am EST when I post the word go. Please wait until I update the page with a big ‘go’ at the top of the post before sending in your pitch. Don’t worry, it’ll be big so you won’t miss it!)

Champagne

I’m super excited to be hosting the awesome Mollie Glick. Best of luck to everyone pitching.

And welcome to our spotlight author – one of Mollie’s lucky authors – Gennifer Albin, with her new release, CREWEL.

Check out this cover!!!!

Crewel hi res

Enter a tangled world of secrets and intrigue where a girl controls other’s destinies, but not her own

Sixteen-year-old Adelice Lewys has always been special. When her parents discover her gift—the ability to weave the very fabric of reality—they train her to hide it. For good reason, they don’t want her to become one of the elite, beautiful, and deadly women who determine what people eat, where they live, how many children they have, and even when they die.

But Adelice is forced into this powerful group, and she must learn to navigate the dangerous politics at play. Caught in a web of lies and forbidden romance, she must unravel the sinister truth behind her own unspeakable power. Her world is hanging by a thread, and Adelice, alone, can decide to save it—or destroy it.

Links to Buy: Amazon, B&N, Powell’s

Links to Author: www.genniferalbin.com, http://genniferalbin.blogspot.com/

Make sure you check her out, and feel free to comment!

BONUS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Come one, come all. Even if you’re not pitching, feel free to come join in the conversation. I’ll be giving away THREE prizes. All you have to do is join in the fun! Every comment will be entered for a chance to win one of these prizes!

1 – Ebook copy of Primitive Nights

2 – $25.00 Barnes & Noble or Amazon Giftcard (Winners choice)

3 – The Top Pitch Slot!

Easy breezy…

Here’s what we’ll start with as our opening topic…

What is the one thing a hero can do in a story that makes you fall in love with him?

50 Responses to It’s Agent Shop Pitch Day!

  1. I love when a hero first lowers his defenses and starts to let the heroine in.

    Like

  2. Nicole,

    Yep! And he’s always fighting it tooth and nail! I love it when an author doesn’t let him realize it until it’s too late. 🙂

    Like

  3. suzannebrandyn says:

    When the hero shoots the heroine that slip of a gaze, a knowing feeling rises between them and the sparks, once smoudering, begin to flame.

    Like

  4. OH! Suzanne!

    That sexy look just jumps off the page. It kills me when it’s accompanied by a devilish grin… Yum.

    Like

  5. Take a bullet for the heroine or shield her. Take a beating not revealing her location. Thanks for the giveaway.

    Like

  6. Yes, yes, yes. Victoria, any guy who’d go to any length to protect others… I love it!

    Like

  7. Jennifer C says:

    When he admits he’s wrong! Even if he is a stubborn, full-blooded male…

    Like

  8. HA! Me too Jennifer. It’s great to see an alpha have to give in that tiny bit! And it’s oh-so endearing.

    Like

  9. Margay says:

    I love when a hero is always there for the heroine whether she thinks she needs him or not – not to be a doormat, but to be supportive and kick some butt, if it calls for it!

    Like

  10. Margay, I agree with that! And boy the spark sthat can fly when those two characters go head-to-head!

    Like

  11. One word, mine. I love a possessive alpha male!

    Like

  12. Too right Jennifer! Yummy!

    Like

  13. My favorite is when the hero KNOWs he shouldn’t do something, talks himself through his weakness, fights with himself to resist, and STILL caves hardcore when the woman he loves gives him the tiniest reason to throw all his best intentions aside. Ah, how the sexy,mighty, knuckle-dragging beasts fall… 🙂

    Like

  14. When the hero does something to show his vulnerable side like when he cuddles with a puppy or a kitten. Or cries when he watches a romantic comedy. Aww.

    Like

  15. OMG Kathleen! Yes! A hard ass who lets his sweet side slip out!

    Like

  16. Keep part of himself a mystery. Not something like, “I killed my last girlfriend.” But let me find out about certain things in time. Kind of like exploring a new relationship. If a hero gives it all up in the beginning, the end better have enough to keep me wanting more.

    Like

  17. LOL! Courtney, a mysterious man is always a draw, but yeah, no serial killers please!

    Like

  18. Nancy says:

    When I see that she is his everything, his reason to continue to live.

    Like

  19. Nancy, I love that too. Utterly devoted, not in a creepy stalker way, just that sense that if she walked away he couldn’t breathe… sigh…

    Like

  20. Margay says:

    Yes, Candy, I love reading – and writing – about those kinds of heroes and situations!

    Like

  21. Nancy says:

    RIGHT!! Oh so romantic. Melts my heart.

    Like

  22. Marcia says:

    When a hero reveals his or her vulnerability and yet remains a pillar of strength throughout the story then yes that character has stolen my heart and my loyalty. I’ll continue reading the stores of any author who keeps my attention.

    Like

  23. What about the dislikes? Anything a hero has done/does in a book that drives you nuts.

    A book turned into a wallbanger for me once when the hero told the woman he supposedly loved that ‘she didn’t know what was best for her and he should just let her take care of the situation’. If he’d been all alpha, save the day, I would have sighed and waited him out. Nope, he was basically patting her on the head and telling her to put her apron back on.

    Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr!

    Like

  24. Margay, I so agree. Love every minute of it!

    Like

  25. Marcia, absolutely. To be the strength for those around you but still have that softer side… Just love a hero with duality.

    Like

  26. Nancy says:

    LEAVES!!!! When he is an idiot and leaves her even though he loves her!!! GRRRRRR! At least he comes back, but come on!!!

    Like

  27. trgraves says:

    For me, a hero is the man who sees past every other woman in the room and locates the heroine, focuses on her, and forgets about anything and everything but her and his desire to get to know her better… help her… rescue her… etc.

    Like

  28. LOL! Yep. Damn stubborn men. Nothing like fighting it until the bitter end!

    Like

  29. Susan Guadagno says:

    Be tender with the heroine (or a kid, or an animal.) Also, not be afraid to apologize.

    Like

  30. TR, YES! If only men in the real world had that much focus.

    Just kidding!

    Hubby’s scowling at me…

    Like

  31. Nancy says:

    Well! They should learn from these men that we love…lol

    Like

  32. Absolutely Susan. When a big macho man suddenly shows a soft side, it’s a total heart-grabber. I’m like that when I see a man with a baby…

    Like

  33. Haha, Nancy!

    My hubby’s favorite line is,

    “If you want me to act like your romance book dream guys, you’ll have to act like my Victoria Secrets dream girls.”

    God love him.

    Have to add a hero with a good sense of humor is always a plus for me!

    Like

  34. Marcia says:

    Oh yes, a great reason to continue reading!

    Whether its a hard back or e-book – if only those stong characters could somehow walk off the page and say hey this is how you treat a woman (or man) or any other being (yes an animal).

    I continue reading becuase I enjoy learning.

    Like

  35. Nancy says:

    OMG! That is a great line your hubby has. *hands up in surrender* okay okay, I never looked at it that way. lol

    Like

  36. Marcia, I agree. I’ll never ever stop reading. It’s great too, because we can learn so much from reading each others works. Things we like and dislike help us hone our own unique voices!

    Like

  37. Nancy, I’ll tell him you liked it.

    I agree with him, I guess. 🙂 But I’ll never admit it to him!

    Like

  38. LOL Your hubby’s line is awesome.

    Like

  39. Uh-Oh.

    Nicole, I’m not going to share with him that you all like it. If I do he’ll be impossible to live with today. 🙂

    Like

  40. Okay, I’m going mobile now. Have to take DS3 to his basketball tourney. I’ll keep checking in through the day!

    Best to everyone!

    Like

  41. Nancy says:

    Thank you for the fun! I must retreat and feed the pup for now.

    Like

  42. Thanks for hanging with us Nancy!

    Like

  43. Fred says:

    Overslept. Hope I got mine in on time, but again and always, thanks for doing this!

    Like

  44. Welcome back Fred!

    I’m home from basketball now and will start going through the pitches in a little while. Good Luck!

    Like

  45. B.L. Foxxe/Morganelle Kitsune says:

    Had fun reading some of these responses. I had to think about what to respond at first.

    What I like best in a good male hero. I think I like the fact best when he makes it obvious there’s only one female for him from the start. Even if it sometimes comes out of a situation that makes hair stand on end.

    What I dislike…if the dude’s a jerk from the beginning and doesn’t sufficiently grovel when he makes a real mistake that irks the heroine.

    Like

  46. Hi BL! Yep, we’ve had some fun comments today.

    I agree with you too. If the hero is going to start out jerky, he better get to redeeming himself pretty quickly!

    Like

  47. I love when a hero first expresses tenderness towards heroine – brushing a hair aside, tracing the curve of her face. In my opinion the most graphic sex novels shouldn’t forget the tenderness. This is when you know she has his heart and not just his (second) brain.

    And agreed, we must be careful with Alpha heroes less they appear more as chauvinists! Ew!

    Like

  48. Maria, I love the first touchs. They can be so heartfelt, and I love when a writer manages to write it in a way that we readers can actually experience it along with the characters!

    Like

  49. Great question! I love the hero with humor who teases his heroine. I believe it ends a realness to the hero and the book.

    Like

  50. WOW just what I was searching for. Came here
    by searching for Business deals

    Like

Leave a Reply

