A KISS IN THE WIND – One Year Celebration and Giveaway!

Song of the day: What Have You Done by Within Temptation (theme song to A KISS IN THE WIND)

This week marks the one year anniversary of the release of A KISS IN THE WIND, the second in the Romancing the Pirate series. I’ve enjoyed success over the year and excited by the continuing sales.

ChampagneAnd so to celebrate, I am giving away an e-copy of the book.

There are two chances to win.

1. Comment on this blog post.

2. Join my mailing list here at my website.

Easy peasy!

So let’s get this party started.

For those of you who have read the book, you have my gratitude. And I offer you a little known fact. A KISS IN THE WIND was written with an epilogue. My publisher had decided not to add it. But I couldn’t just let it go. Ooooh no! Sure, there was a happily ever after. But I had more to tell. More important nuggets for the reader. And so, if you have read the book, click this link to read the rest of the story. *SPOILER* If you haven’t read the book, I’d advise skipping the epilogue. Just sayin’.

For kicks and grins, I thought I’d give a taste of the book. You know, to entice you.

The Blurb:

Marisol Castellan is in trouble–again. Against her pirate father’s orders, she snuck off their ship to intercept a message meant for a rival captain, one that offers a clue to the whereabouts of her estranged brother Monte.

Pirate captain Blade Tyburn is not pleased to find the letter he’s been waiting for is missing. He’s even less pleased when he discovers the thief is a raven-haired beauty who bewitches his senses and muddles his thinking. The note gives the location of a silver-laden ship that’ll make his fortune; Blade must find it, and if that means bringing Marisol along on the voyage, so be it.

Marisol believes Monte sails on the very ship Blade is to meet and strikes a deal with the handsome rogue. If he will give her passage to her brother, she will give him the exact location he needs. And both will get more than they expected…

One of my favorite steamy exchanges:

“We need to talk.”

“Talk?” Her brow lifted in what he decided was ridicule. “ Shouldn’t you be topside looking for the enemy ship you let slip away?”

The time long since passed for her to end her biting words. “I understand your thirst for revenge, but you will hold sway your spiteful tongue. I will have no more of it.”

“Then I suggest you take your leave for I have nothing else to offer.”

Her words brought him close, irresistible like honey to a bee. “Oh?”

She stiffened, realizing too late the delicious challenge she presented him. “That’s right,” she said.

“This I know to be a lie.” He put his hand on the door and she pressed her back against the wall. “I can think of many things you can offer me.”

An excerpt:

Kiss largePuerto Plata, Hispaniola, 1726

“Crazy wench. Let go!”

Marisol tightened her grip on the coarse barrel of the pistol poised a mere inch from her face. Death’s diseased aroma wafted over her with the depraved wretch’s breath. A frenzy of alarm pumped through her veins, fueling new untapped strength. “Bloody hell, I will!”

She struggled with him, unwilling to release his gun and reach for her own weapon. She pushed and pulled with the ruffian in a gruesome dance of sorts, a ballet amid the squalid dregs and wet filth of the dark alley. Their curses and grunts chased the shrouded silence back up the stone walls. No passerby would take notice, no more than they would a cheap strumpet and her jack.

Marisol slipped on the slick cobblestones and, losing her balance, brought the vile man down with her.

The pistol went off. An unforgiving percussion echoed down the alley.

He landed on top of her, knocking the wind from her lungs. Sharp pain sliced through her back with the force of the fall. A moment passed, then another.

The man’s weight crushed against her. She gulped shallow, tainted breaths in the pocket of air between his shirt collar and sweaty neck. I must get free. Marisol thrashed beneath the cur. Fear urging her on, she pressed against his chest and shoved him off, rolling him to his back. She scuttled to her knees. But he didn’t move, didn’t get up to finish her off.

What have I done?

Marisol dropped the gun. Blood on her hands trickled down between shaky fingers. She stared at them, turning her hands over to see the crooked red pathways on her skin. Even in the shadows, the deep color glistened. Slowly, she curled her fingers into fists, resting them on her knees, and looked down at the dead man before her. The blood from his chest wound filtered through his tunic, spreading down his side. Spent gunpowder still singed her nose.

Numb emotions lingered beneath her breastbone. She willed herself not to think of him as a man who might be mourned by someone who loved him, a mother, or a wife with children. Would they be waiting for him? Wondering when he would return home?

No. No pity would be spared for the likes of him, a paltry criminal. Had Alain taught her nothing about survival? Warm your rum with the blood of another, for if the bastard gets the chance, your course will be run and the devil will have you.

She would not let the compassion seize her heart. Leave that for the weak-minded.

Marisol took one quick glance around the darkened back street. She wiped the blood against her lap then reached into the dead man’s coat, searching his pockets. She pulled out a pouch containing silver coins, three of them. Marisol forced a smile. How fortunate. Something for her troubles. She stuffed the pouch into the folds of her dress.

Continuing her search, her hand grazed across paper in another pocket. She smiled again as she picked up and read the letter for which she’d been searching. The missive was cryptic but given more time she would be able to decipher it. With any luck, it would reveal the information she so desperately sought, information that could lead her to her missing brother. She would do anything to find Monte. Marisol glanced down at the corpse. Perhaps she had become too desperate. Foolish man. You really should’ve been more careful.

The book trailer:

Fun Fact:

The pirate ship Rissa featured in most of the books in the Romancing the Pirate series is modeled after the notorious Black Beard’s ship Queen Anne’s Revenge.

Buy links:

Carina Press, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Audible

Thanks for being a special part of my world!

Don’t forget to either leave a comment or join my mailing list for your chance to win an eBook of A KISS IN THE WIND.

*Congratulations to winner Kimberly Rocha!*

13 Responses to A KISS IN THE WIND – One Year Celebration and Giveaway!

  1. Odie8654 says:

    I’m not sure what I should leave as a comment, I think I’m in love with Marisol’s character. I guess I see me in her or her in me, or is it…her in her and me in me…wait, now I’m confused…let me start over.

    Seriously, as a would be author myself (romance/romantic-suspense), I love the flow, the attitude and the emotion she reveals through your words hon! Wow. And congrats on the success over the past year. I pray someday I will be there too. My dream. If possible I would love to have one of your books, what would be even more awesome is if you sign it! What a privilege that would be for me a mere mortal in the writing world! Oh oh, I know, even better (sorry) fold your agent up and put her in between pages 11-12 and I’ll be surprised when I get there! hehehee

    Seriously (again), have a great day hon., and congrats, I hope the sales and success continue as obviously you “have what it takes”.

    Bre (Odie)

    Like

  2. jbrayweber says:

    LOL! Bre, if you are writing, you are an author. Not just a mere mortal. Just sayin’. And if you keep writing, learning, polishing, etc. you WILL see your dream through.

    Thanks for your support, girl!

    Like

  3. Odie8654 says:

    My pleasure sweetie!!

    Like

  4. A year? A YEAR?!?!?! Wow…..

    This is for you, Jenn! And for Marisol…:)

    Like

  5. jbrayweber says:

    Explosive!
    LOL! Thanks so much, Will.

    Like

  6. Congratulations on a year with your book – A Kiss in the Wind. I loved the excerpt. I love pirates as well. Best wishes for another year’s success!

    Like

  7. jbrayweber says:

    Thanks, Catherine. Looking forward to many more years.

    Like

  8. Marie Cleveland says:

    Congratulations, Jennifer!
    I love your writing!

    Like

  9. jbrayweber says:

    Thanks, Marie. Hope to be finished with the next book in a few weeks. 😀

    Like

  10. Congratulations!! I can’t believe it’s been a year already!!! 🙂

    Like

  11. jbrayweber says:

    Thanks, Melissa. Time flies when you are having fun.

    Like

  12. Loved the excerpt. I already follow your blog. Tweeted.

    Like

  13. jbrayweber says:

    Aww…many thanks, Ella. Much appreciated.

    Like

Leave a Reply

