MuseTracks Guest – Kathleen S. Allen

Please help MuseTracks welcome Kathleen S. Allen. Let’s get to know a little about her, shall we?

Take it away Kathleen!

***

Hello!

My name is Kathleen S. Allen and I am an author of a young adult contemporary novel, HOW TO BE ALMOST FAMOUS IN TEN DAYS, recently released by Gypsy Shadow Publishing.  It’s a story about a 17yo girl who is desperate to be “seen” by others. She believes that because she isn’t a size zero she has no voice. When she finds a book of rules on how to be famous in ten days in a secondhand bookstore she decides to follow the rules and become famous. In ten days. With the help of her model gorgeous BFF, Rachel and Rachel’s brother, she sets out to follow the rules in the book.  One disastrous event after another occurs, some of them humorous, some are more serious as she follows each rule.

AlmostFamous72dpiThis is my fourteenth published book…or my fifteenth…or my…wait, it’s my twentieth thing published.  I know because I went on the Internet and counted all the shiny on Kindle/Nook. Feel free to go on my Amazon Central page to check them out too. See below for the link. I didn’t bother to count the number of short stories or poems I’ve had published. Or the lyric essay. Or the fan fiction book I wrote during NaNoWriMo (30 days and nights of literary abandon) called THORNFIELD MANOR: JANE EYRE AND VAMPIRES. Hee hee.  It’s up at fanfiction.net in case you’d like to read my version instead of Charlotte Bronte’s. Or in addition to.

Anyway, I began my writing journey at the tender age of three when I “wrote” a story. I didn’t know how to write letters yet so the story was a mess of squiggly lines but you get the idea. My journey continued as I learned to read and write letters.  I started with poetry and then graduated to short stories then novels. Then short stories again, poetry, flash fiction (which I love, love, love), microfiction, stories in verse (yeah, that one hasn’t seen the light of day and never will), novels and whatever else I could figure out to write. Blogs, guest posts (this one for instance), websites (I have two author ones), Facebook status updates on my fan page and Twitter tweets.  Among other writerly things. BUT, my all time favorite thing to write is Young Adult anything. I used to say YA fantasy but I’ve expanded it to include all young adult and now middle grade. I have an upper middle grade novel I am currently querying about a 13 yo witch who turns her boy crush into a zombie and hi-jinks  abound. It’s humorous at its core but does have a serious side to it and it’s all about first love.

My WIP is a pirate book about a girl who discovers her mother is a ruthless pirate who wants her to be her successor but the girl has no intention of following in her mother’s footsteps.  I’m about a quarter way done on that one.

I signed up to do Camp NaNoWriMo for the month of April so I can finish the pirate book but I’m having plot issues so I’m rethinking the plot.

My favorite authors include JK Rowling (good ole JK—and if you know where that quote comes from please “like” my Facebook page and follow me on Twitter because you are one of my people—and even if you don’t know the quote you can follow me or “like” my page); Anne McCaffrey, Veronica Roth, Suzanne Collins, Karen Mahoney, Genn Albin and a host of other YA authors that are too numerous to name. Yes, I read YA. When I go into the bookstore it’s the first section I gravitate to. I want to see what’s new, what’s out and which one of my writerly friends is now published.  I can sit for hours in a bookstore reading snippets of books. A writer needs to first be a reader. I forget who said that but it’s true.

Kathleen Allen

What else about me is relevant? I have two cats, one is a diva and one is a beast (that’s her nickname, I swear), both of them think they’re human and that I’m their staff. I guess I am. I love coffee but I also drink tea and collect teapots. I am a geek at heart and adore anything British especially BBC America shows or Masterpiece on PBS. I feel so veddy, veddy British when I watch PBS. I even have a pair of Doc Martens that were shipped from the UK recently. Oh, I also collect and wear graphic tees. I am a huge Buffy the Vampire Slayer fan and a Joss Whedon fan in general. I proudly declare to the world that I AM A BROWNCOAT (again, if you know what this means, tweet me).  Please check out my author websites for more info on my books and pay attention to the “welcome” Avatar, she’s British, has green eyes and red hair, JUST LIKE ME. Of course I designed her.

Thank you for having me on your blog!

Kathleen S. Allen

HOW TO BE ALMOST FAMOUS IN TEN DAYS-YA Contemporary

BOOK TRAILER:

http://youtu.be/IIGB1EoXnLA

Buy Link on Amazon:

http://www.amazon.com/How-Almost-Famous-Days-ebook/dp/B00BUX4FEI/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1363433820&sr=1-1&keywords=how+to+be+almost+famous

Find Kathleen here:

www.kathleensallen.weebly.com

www.gaelicfairie.webs.com with blog

On Pinterest:  http://pinterest.com/kathleea/

On Twitter: @kathleea

On Facebook: Witch Hunter  http://ow.ly/cWMFB 

Author Central page: amazon.com/author/kallen

Book Trailers on You Tube here: http://www.youtube.com/user/gaelicfaerie1?feature=mhee

4 Responses to MuseTracks Guest – Kathleen S. Allen

  1. Fun post. Congratulations on your latest release!! I tweeted and followed you on twitter.

    Like

  2. jbrayweber says:

    Thanks for popping in, Ella.

    Like

  3. What a fun post! I also love Buffy and I keep trying to get Jenn to watch the series, but she’s resisted thus far! The writing/dialogue on that show was terrific.
    Thanks for stopping in at Muse Tracks!!

    Like

  4. jbrayweber says:

    LOL…not resisted, Stacey. Just haven’t found the time to watch. Besides, the last time you said ‘you’ve got to watch this’ I got sucked into a must-see series. And now, every Monday night, my butt is planted in front of the TV watching Castle.

    Like

Leave a Reply

