Hump Day Kick Start – Dressing Room Edition

Song of the Day: Otherside by Red Hot Chili Peppers

dressing room

I’m sure y’all won’t mind my posting another Hump Day Kick Start. My weeks have been crazy and I suspect they will continue for a little while longer. Life on the outside (AKA my ‘real’ life) has taken priorities. And so, we will all soldier through another picture prompt.

What’s going on in this picture? Who are they? Is she his personal shopper?  Is he the latest model for her line of men’s clothing and she’s inspecting the goods that will show off her hard work? I say hire him!

Instead of taking his shirt off—because, really, that’s what we want, right?—maybe he’s dressing. Or changing. Could he have gone in for a kiss only to startle her into spilling her red wine down his chest?

Perhaps he’s auditioning…

You tell me. I’d love to hear your take.

11 Responses to Hump Day Kick Start – Dressing Room Edition

  1. “No, Jeff. I’m not going to help you. That’s a $1500 Hermes shirt. Pull it back down and unbutton it like a normal person.”

    Like

  2. jbrayweber says:

    I’m inclined to leave him tangled in his shirt…just a little longer, Kristen.

    Like

  3. j–you can’t tell me you’ve never had that moment when you’re in a dressing room with your husband trying on clothes, sitting on that little half bench, wondering how in God’s name he possibly gets dressed at home, alone, without assistance.

    Like

  4. jbrayweber says:

    HAHA! *swipes tear* The problem with that, Kristen, is we don’t shop together…ever.

    Like

  5. Sarah Andre says:

    You may want to go get yourself a cup of tea. This will take awhile.
    🙂
    Anxious to show off her new mink coat, Manhattan socialite Bitsy Van der Kellen decides to go to Switzerland via her daddy’s yacht.

    Her beau, Biff Hamilton III, has been unable to convince her Switzerland is land-locked. Although the yacht can get them as far as the Mediterranean, it’s too large to travel up the closest lake, Cuomo in Italy. He suggests her daddy’s Gulfstream. It’ll be much faster, he points out. More time for the Swiss to see her in her coat.

    Since Bitsy has never heard the word ‘no’ to any of her whims before, she naturally does not react well to this. She pouts, throws a Ming vase, curses (“fiddlesticks!”) but eventually calms down enough to point out logic he can’t possibly argue with. That she is, after all, dressed for the yacht. So that’s how they’re going to Switzerland.

    Biff suggests Alaska, Iceland, the north coast of England…? No, no and no.

    He gets a lightning bolt idea! Why not venture to the mall to outfit her in something appropriate for the jet? Bitsy agrees to go (because it’s shopping) but argues that the jet is too warm to wear her mink while traveling. On a yacht she could wear it across the ocean AND in Switzerland. He wants to say “there IS NO OCEAN IN SWITZERLAND, but shuts up, because he doesn’t particularly need another Ming vase to the head. And he figures some article of clothing in the shops will get her excited to fly.

    Well, it’s been hours. Biff has tried everything he can think of to get her to stop pouting, see reason and bag the yacht idea. He’s allowed himself to be dragged through Tiffany’s, (no jet clothes there, but she did smile briefly when presented with that gargantuan ring) Niemen Marcus and now Saks. Instead of finding appropriate jet attire she insists in each place that HE try on yacht-wear!

    So in this snapshot he’s reluctantly about to out himself, something that will get him into a great deal of trouble. But it’s the only way to FLY to Switzerland AND have her wear her mink the whole way. He takes her into the dressing room and strips off his shirt (in the process noting his deodorant wore off a long time ago!)

    It’s the frozen second in time where WE can see the jagged vertical scars on his shoulder blades indicating he’s an archangel. His real name is Michael. He is on earth for the sole purpose of mating with the human female who most resembles an angel, hoping the child they bear will help him get back in Heaven’s good graces. (But boy, this mission has been hell!)

    A second from now he will twist around and show her proof. He will offer to nestle her between his enormous wings and fly them to Switzerland. It will be freezing way up above the clouds, she can wear her mink!

    I don’t think I need to add what her reaction to this unveiling of his body and soul will be, right?

    Like

  6. jbrayweber says:

    Your imagination never fails to put me in awe, Sarah. I love the twist—bad boy archangel and a PIC train wreck. 🙂 Amazing. You should get paid for your wit. Just sayin’.

    Like

  7. Sarah Andre says:

    Dude. I allowed you to miss the sniper last month because of your ‘other life’ thingy, but tell me you’re going to the Navy SEAL on Saturday! Our friendship is in a bit of a shaky patch while I await your response….(don’t make me say “fiddlesticks!”)

    Like

  8. jbrayweber says:

    Believe me, I soooo wanted to see the sniper. I heard he was a-mazing! You’ll forgive me, right? RIGHT? But….Navy SEAL guy had an emergency and won’t be there Saturday. On the upside, our friendship will be saved! I WILL be there, Saturday!
    Whew! Shaky patch narrowly avoided!

    Like

  9. Odie8654 says:

    “I’m not watching another lettuce eating, nose in the air, empty-headed, model,” Detective Harm Sandov growls, while changing from the blood soaked black, body hugging T-Shirt, he calls work clothes. The chase was a bad one and he had had the bad luck of having to shoot the guy and then try to save the dumb-asses life so he could get information out of him.

    “Look, boss, hell will freeze over before you can get me to watch one of those dingbats again, I’m serious!” hit the phone’s disconnect button where it sat on the table to his left. Pulling the shirt down to clear his face he stopped mid-pull. “Who the hell are you?”

    “I’m your lettuce eating, nose in the air, empty-headed… oh yes, mustn’t forget, dingbat, model, your not going to be watching.” She was drop dead gorgeous. “The dingbats name is, Heather.”

    “Yea, sorry about that…Heather. I think there’s been a little misunderstanding here…”

    “There certainly has been. I thought I was getting the best on the force to help me, looks like I’m just getting a pretty face.” She stood to leave, “They say if you buy your clothes to fit, they aren’t so hard to put on, you know.”

    The door closed before Harm could react to the insult and he quickly finished pulling his T-Shirt on. “Well, damn me to hell and back if she didn’t just put me in my place proper!” With a grin that went all the way to his eyes he darted out the door after, Heather. He liked a challenge, and she was definitely looking like a challenge with all that sass.

    Like

  10. jbrayweber says:

    Ha! You should consider doing a series with Harm. Each new story would feature an new heroine. Kind of like Indiana Jones. Not really a romance, but fun all the same. Another great one, Bre.

    Like

  11. Odie8654 says:

    Yea, thanks hon! I love the romance/suspense stuff, that’s my true genre I guess. I gotta have that drama in there with the happy love stuff! heehee Yea I like the idea of Harm being a series type thing. I threw out my son in this one, he’s the real detective! heehee But in drug and gang area.

    Like

Leave a Reply

