Talk Back: do you track your manuscript rejections

On my Kindle: Once upon a Tower by Eloisa James

Talk Back – Tell us how you write!


As I’m starting the process of submitting my manuscript to agents, which I haven’t done in a while, my brain is leaving the “I’m awesome/I’m horrible” state to a more realistic “I’m normal” mind-frame as my rejections start piling in.

Yep it hurts. And that why stumbling upon an article about rejections by author Tobias Buckell really helped me this week.

Go ahead and read it. I’ll stay here and wait for you.

Done? Helpful isn’t it?

I never done much in way of tracking rejections beside making sure I don’t submit the same story to the same person twice. But now I’m thinking of using some kind of spreadsheet for life.

Just as a way of reminding myself that rejections are part of the writer job and that there will never be a time in my career when I will no longer get them.

So tell me… Do you track your rejection? And how do you do that? Spreadsheet? Notebook? Your bedroom wall?

The floor is all yours! Let’s hear from you πŸ™‚

Much love,
Marie-Claude xoxox

Location:Seattle

11 Responses to Talk Back: do you track your manuscript rejections

  1. jbrayweber says:

    I used to keep a folder of rejections. And I never submitted to the same agent/editor twice.

    Now, I don’t submit to agents. I do submit to my editor. If she passes, that opens a different door to which I have passed through several times. πŸ˜‰

    Good luck, MC!

    Like

  2. Thanks Jenn.
    I did submit twice to the same agent, but different projects. The first got me a form rejection on query, the second, a personal rejection on a full with request to query other material. (I’ll call this progression lol)

    Like

  3. I keep a separate email folder for each project, and have subfolders named “Queries” and “Rejections”. For me, it helps keep everything straight and organized!

    Like

  4. Oh I like this. Mine is just a jumble folder that I never want to go through!

    Like

  5. odie8654 says:

    My rejections are kept in a rejections folder. like Mr. Simon, I have one for each project and subfolders inside that.

    Like

  6. Odie I like the project folders. That keeps things very organized.

    Like

  7. Once ebooks became the new thing, I never submitted to anyone for a while. When I was finally brave enough to do submit, after several rejections, it was brought to my attention that the subject matter of my book is too controversial for traditional publishing. That same book is up for a Indie award. Not submitting anymore. πŸ˜€

    Like

  8. Tracy, it’s good we now have option for those books that trad pub don’t want to buy. Yay for you and your readers! Congrats on the award πŸ™‚

    Like

  9. Thank you. For now it is a nomination and that is good enough for me. if i win in that category, that would be even better. Thanks! πŸ˜€

    Like

  10. I’m late to weigh in, but I actually – for real – have a folder in my hardcopy file labeled “Should’a Grabbed Me When…” I print any rejection and, if it’s even remotely personalized, take whatever I can from the agent/editor’s thoughts to improve my craft.

    I stole this idea from an interview I once read (can’t remember who or where. Grrrrr. But it might have been Stephen King…) and thought, heck yeah. It’s positive spin on what can be a daunting task.

    I will submit to an agent/editor that says my work isn’t quite what they are looking for, but open the door to look at new material in the future.

    Great topic MC!

    Like

  11. Sorry I’m late. I had copy-edits to turn in. I used to track everything just so that I wouldn’t query an agent again for the same book. QueryTracker was a lifesaver.

    Like

Leave a Reply

