Hump Day Kick Start – Chandelier Edition

Song of the Day:  Circles by Cavo

Hump Day Kick Start – for your muse, a writing picture prompt, or just a visual treat.

RF getty chandelier

 

If this doesn’t spark your imagination, maybe you need to turn on the light. Oh wait…

Isn’t this delicious? Who is our well-dressed man? What is his story? Is he a vampire? A keeper of the dead? A keeper of secrets? Maybe he’s a horror novelist. The classic story of an author renting out a spooky mansion so that he could channel inspiration only to find it really is haunted? Or maybe he is the host of a home renovation TV show.

That piece of furniture behind him looks awfully odd. What is it? A buffet? A liquor cabinet? A cozy coffin?

What’s with the fog? Or is that smoke?

Why is he holding the chandelier? What’s he going to do with it? Use it as a weapon? Sell it for much needed cash so that he doesn’t lose his beloved dead aunt’s estate? Could he be dismantling his estranged wife’s home and it was the first thing to go? (The shag carpeting has got to go next.) Did the chandelier just fall suspiciously from the ceiling, narrowly missing him?

What’s with the smoldering look? Who is he looking at?

Love to hear what you think. Tell me a story. I’m listening.

17 Responses to Hump Day Kick Start – Chandelier Edition

  1. girldrinkdrunk says:

    This is one of those guys where NOT HANDY= NO PROBLEM

    Like

  2. jbrayweber says:

    HAHA! Agreed, Kristen.

    Like

  3. girldrinkdrunk says:

    Adam Levine’s been watching Scar Face again.

    Like

  4. jbrayweber says:

    *shutters* Do not like Scarface. I’ll settle for something more Stephen King-ish.

    Like

  5. jeff7salter says:

    Cassandra was startled when Erik entered her bedroom clutching an antique chandelier.
    “What is the meaning of this?” she demanded. “what are you doing in my bedroom?”
    His expression smouldered to match the heavy mist behind him. “I knew you wanted a light.”

    Like

  6. jbrayweber says:

    HAHA! Nice, Jeff. Did Erik misunderstand? If I were Cassandra, I wouldn’t care.

    Like

  7. Marie Cleveland says:

    Erik glares at Cassandra and says “Okay. Did you forget to pay the Light bill,again?”

    Like

  8. jeff7salter says:

    LOL, Marie Cleveland — your line is even better than mine.

    Like

  9. jbrayweber says:

    Hoooo Boy! Erik is in trouble. But maybe Cassandra will give him a reprieve until the morning. Great one, Marie!

    Like

  10. “Well…. hello, Clarice…..” 🙂

    Like

  11. jbrayweber says:

    Noooo…he cannot be a cannibal, Will! *shivers*

    Like

  12. Marie Cleveland says:

    Thank you, Jeff!

    Like

  13. Sarah Andre says:

    What with my 9week-old Pom hooligans (aka The Boyz) I don’t have the energy to do anything but gaze at the pic and sigh. Thank you for the much needed adult break.
    PS: That’s a throne behind him. An uncomfortable looking one from what I can see thru the fog.

    Like

  14. jbrayweber says:

    But, but, your Boyz are so cute! You are forgiven this week, Sarah. Oh, and so you noticed my throne? I just trow a few pillows on it and invite chandelier-toting hunks to join me. 😉

    Like

  15. odie8654 says:

    “Ryley? You can come out now,” Catch’s voice sounded winded from his battle just moments ago.

    “Catch, is that you?” An auburn haired head peeked out from behind a mattress leaning against the far wall. Beautiful green eyes filled with relief met his.

    “Yea, it’s me. You can come on out, it’s safe now.”

    “Uhhh, Catch? What are you doing carrying my chandelier with you?” The confusion on her face over the oddity of him carrying a chandelier around during this crisis was almost funny.

    “Oh, yea, well, I didn’t want to drop it,” Catch answered lamely.

    “You didn’t want to drop my fifty thousand dollar chandelier? Catch! How did the chandelier get into your hands?”

    “Well, it’s actually a funny story, you see, there were these three killers that were chasing you, remember them?” He had just saved her life and this was what she was worried about? No, ‘thanks,’ no, ‘you’re amazing for saving my life?’ Nothing? Geez!

    “Smart ass!” Ryley grumbled. “Catch, you are holding my very expensive chandelier, how exactly, did it get from the ceiling into your hands?”

    Shuffling his feet, Catch knew it was time to come clean, she didn’t care that he had just saved her life, she wanted to know how her precious light had fallen from the ceiling. Well, he’d just tell her! “Damn it, Ryley, those guys were almost in here and I knew you didn’t have the common sense God gave a flea to find a safe spot to hide, sooooo, I had to do something! I, umm, I, well, I, ahhh hell, I leaped from the balcony and swung from the chandelier hoping to land in front of them. But the damn thing broke and I landed on top of the three guys, knocking them all out! But I hung onto your light….so nothing is broken,” Catch held up the chandelier as broken pieces of the crystals clinked to the floor in ruin. “I think I’d request a refund though if I were you. The guys who installed this didn’t do a very good job securing it. I mean, geez, this could have fallen on someone…”

    Like

  16. jbrayweber says:

    HAHA! Love it!Poor Catch!

    Like

Leave a Reply

