MuseTracks Guest – Susanne Matthews – Co-Writing

MuseTracks welcomes back guest Susanne Matthews. Today, she talks about her experience with collaborating. So without further ado…

Co-writing: Working as Part of a Team

The old adage, two heads are better than one, is alive and well, and easily proven in the world of Misty Matthews. Misty Matthews is the pseudonym for two Canadian authors living almost twelve hundred miles away from one another. This makes chats at the coffee shop impossible, but we are only a click away on the computer or smart phone. We managed to write an entire novel and a short story without ever having met. We didn’t even speak to one another until after we sold our manuscript to Front Porch Romance. People ask how we managed to write a book together under those conditions. The answer is simple. Coming Home, the first book in the Taking a Chance on Love series, is a product of the electronic age.

Chance_Love200x300Misty and I met in an online chat group last December. We were all trying to hone pitches for novels we wanted to submit, and although none of us were successful with that pitch, we decided to continue chatting together and supporting one another. It was one of the group members who encouraged me to pitch Fire Angel to Crimson Romance, and since that day, we have all managed to officially become authors. Some of us now write for Crimson Romance, others for Entranced, a few write for Sweet Cravings, and still others for Front Porch Romance. We are an active and prolific group. We have shared the excitement and disappointments that are part and parcel of an author’s life, and support one another in all we do. Many times, I have been stuck, and one of them has managed to help me over the writer’s block. When I get down on myself, doubting, my abilities, they rally and pull me out of the gloom. I like to think I do the same for them now and again.

Misty has incredible ideas, and one night, in that chat group, she and I decided to collaborate on a book. One of the group members liked Misty Matthews, so that’s how the name was chosen—her first, my last—and that’s how we write, her first, me last.

Misty is the plotter, and I’m a pantser. She plots the story and writes the first draft of a chapter. I’m detail-oriented, so I do any research, add in details, and flesh out the chapter, but when it comes down to it, without Misty’s plotting, there wouldn’t be a story. When I’m finished with a chapter, it goes back to Misty who reads it, makes any changes she feels are necessary—she knows what’s going to happen next; I don’t—and, once the chapter works, we repeat the process until the manuscript is finished. Once it’s all done, we each take a shot at editing before it’s submitted to an editor for possible publication. We basically did the same thing for the cover art.

Misty Matthews

Misty

The Taking a Chance on Love series is Misty’s brainchild. We are in the process of writing the second book in the series and hope to release it in the first half of 2014. Since Misty and I also write individually, we make time for our collective efforts amidst really busy schedules. I love working with Misty. She has made me a better writer, and I hope I’ve done something to help her too.

Coming Home is available from Amazon at:

http://www.amazon.com/Coming-Home-Taking-Chance-ebook/dp/B00FJPFR4U/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1380607010&sr=1-1

Front Porch Romance :

https://www.frontporchromance.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=1_81&products_id=232&zenid=s2tnakcm9j18us3bmfnuk8b112

ARe

https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-cominghometakingachanceonlove-1309783-149.html

Smashwords

https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/362992

About Coming Home:

Motorcycle riding, high-powered attorney Alana Stewart is a far cry from the shy, teenager who left Chance determined never to look back. Family obligations force her to return to the town that only holds bad memories for her. A stop at her former sanctuary brings an unexpected surprise…the new manager just might be what she needs to get her through the holidays.

Matthews

Susanne

When sexy, leather-clad Alana walks into the bookstore, Connor Tate, has a feeling he may be in for the ride of his life. Despite the fact that their lives are headed in different directions, they are drawn to one another. Connor is determined to prove to Alana that Chance isn’t the place she remembers, but will his efforts fail when she discovers he hasn’t told her the whole truth about himself?

Can they trust each other enough to take a chance on love?

To learn more about Misty Matthews, visit http://mhsusannematthews.ca and click on the link for Misty Matthews.  Like Misty at https://www.facebook.com/pages/Misty-Matthews/526929407395256

5 Responses to MuseTracks Guest – Susanne Matthews – Co-Writing

  1. pibarrington says:

    My sister and I co-write so it’s nice to hear from other authors who collaborate too! Of course, we’re not quite that physically far apart, LOL!!

    Like

  2. jbrayweber says:

    I bet the closer proximity makes it nice. Thanks for stopping by, Pi!

    Like

  3. Thanks Jenn for having me on. It’s always a pleasure. pibarrington. Believe me, sometimes being a bit closer would be nice.

    Like

  4. jbrayweber says:

    It’s always a pleasure having you, Susanne! Always. 😀

    Like

  5. Hi there are using WordPress for your site platform? I’m new
    to the blog world but I’m trying to get started and set up my own. Do you require
    any html coding expertise to make your own blog? Any
    help would be greatly appreciated!

    Like

Leave a Reply

