New Orleans – Vampires, Witches, and Pirates – Oh My!

A Scot, a DJ, and a vampire walk into a bar. Sounds like the start of a bad joke, right? Throw in a priest and a cop and you have something that resembles my visit to New Orleans this past weekend. I had an amazing time with old and new friends, a photo op with the queen of vampires, a tarot reading, tippling at the Anne Rice Vampire Ball, taking in a bit of the city, and capping it off with an amazing night at the Elms Mansion for the Witches’ Ball. Seriously, I couldn’t have asked for a better experience.

My buddies - Raven Raye and Judy McDonough

My buddies – Raven Raye and Judy McDonough

New Orleans 2013 (27) st alphonsus

St Alphonsus Church

Confessional. I'm hoping God has a sense of humor.

Confessional. I’m hoping God has a sense of humor.

Anne Rice and her son Christopher. Truly an honor to meet them both.

Anne Rice and her son Christopher. Truly an honor to meet them both.

The man who inspired Anne Rice's character Armand. Guess what his name is. Armand!

The man who inspired Anne Rice’s character Armand is about to get a snack. Guess what his name is. That’s right! Armand!

Author and Scottish extraordinaire EA Channon

Author, bagpipe player, and Scottish extraordinaire EA Channon

Jackson Square

Jackson Square

Marie Laveau's tomb. Psst...desecrating the tomb will not make your wish come true. Just sayin'.

Marie Laveau’s tomb. Psst…desecrating the tomb will not make your wish come true. Just sayin’.

VooDoo tonics and potions

VooDoo tonics and potions. Wonder if there is anything on the shelf for hangovers.

Pirate selfie

Pirate selfie

The Witch, the Wench, and the Flapper. Notice how the corset gives me superb posture.

The Witch, the Wench, and the Flapper. Notice how the corset gives me superb posture.

EA Channon and his lovely wife Paulette

EA Channon and his lovely wife Paulette

Author and funny man Bobby Crutchfield with his beautiful wife Adrianne

Author and funny man Bobby Crutchfield with his beautiful wife Adrianne

DJ Infamous. This dude rocks the house!

DJ Infamous. This dude rocks the house!

Elms Mansion - the picture does not do it justice.

Elms Mansion – the picture does not do it justice.

Elms Mansion courtyard - perfect for a masquerade party

Elms Mansion courtyard – perfect for a masquerade party.

Be amazed by our bewitchiness. (Yes, I know that is not a word. Humor me, will ya?)

Be amazed by our bewitchiness. (Yes, I know that is not a word. Humor me, will ya?)

 

Decked out in harlequin style finery. The mask left  indentions in my face.

Decked out in harlequin-style finery. The mask left indentions in my face.

My new handsome Australian pirate friend, Vlad.

My new handsome Australian pirate friend, Vlad. He has inspired a new character in an upcoming book. πŸ˜€

13 Responses to New Orleans – Vampires, Witches, and Pirates – Oh My!

  1. Looks like a great time! Hope you got tons of story ideas.

    Like

  2. jbrayweber says:

    Stacey, Stacey, Stacey…*shakes head* You KNOW I did. Enough for several books. πŸ˜‰

    Like

  3. Looks like you had a great time out there! I love your Harlequin inspired dress. So pretty and the mask is lovely (even if it did leave indentions on your face). The Church looks beautiful. A friend of mine would’ve been jealous you got to meet Anne Rice. She loved her work. I miss my friend, but hopefully she’s seeing all this from Heaven.

    Like

  4. jbrayweber says:

    Thanks, Bethany. A grand time was had by all. Meeting Anne Rice was the best way to kick off a truly wonderful weekend.

    Like

  5. Cher Groves says:

    Thank you for the wonderful press & kind words on the events, we so appreciate you being a part of it all!

    Like

  6. jbrayweber says:

    Cher, each time I saw you, you were busy. It was you, the Undead Con’s queen, Sue Quiroz, and the other hardworking volunteers that helped make the weekend one to always remember. And I thank you for that.

    Like

  7. Thanks so much for the mention of the New Orleans Witches’ Ball! So glad you had a good time!

    Like

  8. jbrayweber says:

    Would it be wrong to say the Witches’ Ball was a huge highlight for me, Kim? No? I didn’t think so. You did an incredible job organizing the event and I canNOT wait to attend again. *bows before you*

    Like

  9. Ohhhh thank you so much! It’s definitely a labor of love. πŸ™‚

    Like

  10. jeff7salter says:

    more pix of YOU, Hon.

    Like

  11. jbrayweber says:

    *blushes* Does that mean I’m cheesecake now Jeff? πŸ˜‰

    Like

  12. jeff7salter says:

    post a couple more close-ups and I’ll let ya know…

    Like

  13. jbrayweber says:

    HAHAHA…dog… πŸ˜‰

    Like

Leave a Reply

