Busy Little Holiday Bees

I feel like a chicken running around without my head. This time of year seems to always be so busy, but I never feel like I’ve accomplished much. From trying to do all the shopping, the cleaning, the wrapping, the decorating, and getting in time with family and friends, there’s not much time left for writing.

And that would be fine if I didn’t have a deadline. My first book with HQN as Sara Arden is due in two days. TWO DAYS. I’m so nervous about it because it’s unlike anything I’ve ever written before. It’s small town romance. I won’t say it’s sweet, it’s a little spicy. Like Mexican Hot Chocolate. Just a bit of  red pepper for flavor. It’s taking a lot out of me to write it. I mean, I invest in all of my characters, but these two people have wrung me dry. I find myself sitting at the computer and sniffing as I type. Then you throw the holiday goodness on top of that, well, I’m a mess.

So let’s hear your favorite funny holiday traditions. Elf on a Shelf? Ugly Sweater Contest?

This year mine was signing my daughter up for a call from Santa. She hung up on him because she thought he was a predator and reported it to me immediately. The look on her face was priceless. But I guess that’s what you get when you have parents and grandparents who are corrections officers.

What’s your favorite thing to do  during the season that makes you laugh?

4 Responses to Busy Little Holiday Bees

  1. My favorite thing to do is take a two-day mini trip to a hotel with my Mom. We spend the days holiday shopping, have a massage, go out for steaks & martinis and chatter with wild abandon and no interruptions!

  2. Wow! That sounds amazing. I’d love to start that tradition with my girls. Of course, no martini for them yet. 🙂

  3. jbrayweber says:

    Watching A Christmas Story and reciting the characters’ lines verbatim.

    “My father worked in profanity the way other artists might work in oils or clay. It was his true medium, a master.”

  4. We watch that every year as well. I love it so much. And um… I think that line might apply to me…

Leave a Reply

