RT 2014 in (Tomfoolish) Pictures

As promised, here are a few pictures of my adventures at the 2014 Romantic Times Booklovers Convention in New Orleans. Man…I love that city.

A room with a view.

And it comes at a price.

And it comes at a price.

First night was spent at Mardi Gras World. Beads, sampling fare, stilt walkers and entertainers, live music on the Mississippi waterfront.

First night was spent at Mardi Gras World. Beads, floats, sampling fare, stilt walkers and entertainers, and live music on the Mississippi waterfront.

Starting the mornings off right. My very first visit to the legendary original French Market coffee stand.

Starting the mornings off right. My very first visit to the legendary coffee shop.

Beignets! Orgasmic Goodness!

Beignets! Orgasmic Goodness!

Lots of great workshops, including ones put on by publishing professionals like Amazon

Lots of great workshops, including ones put on by publishing professionals like Amazon

And fun reader workshops put on by moi and my fellow Ruby-Slippered Sisters.

And fun reader workshops put on by moi and my fellow Ruby-Slippered Sisters. Why are we wearing boas?

Because we hosted a burlesque dancing workshop. Trust me when I say sexy fun was had by all. No chickens were haqrmed in this event despite the floor was covered in red plumes.

Because we hosted a burlesque dancing workshop. Trust me when I say sexy fun was had by all. No chickens were harmed during this event despite the floor being covered in red plumes.

Some spicy lunch was required. When in Rome...

Some spicy lunch was required. When in Rome…

And a little sight seeing  and shopping in Jackson Square.

And a little sight seeing and shopping in Jackson Square.

Pub Crawl on Bourbon Street. Yeah...this was sponsored by publishers. It's dangerous letting authors out in roaming hordes.

Pub Crawl on Bourbon Street. Yeah…this was sponsored by publishers. It’s dangerous letting authors out in public roaming in hordes.

They take selfies. Eliza Knight made a great crawl buddy.

They take selfies. Eliza Knight made a great crawl buddy.

Take photo ops with New Orleans firefighters. I mean, who wouldn't, right?

They take photos with New Orleans firefighters. I mean, who wouldn’t seize the opportunity, right?

They take more selfies. (Eliza, Anne Marie Becker & me)

They take more selfies. (Eliza, Anne Marie Becker & me)

They ride mechanical bulls dressed as a pirate, holding in the goods.

They ride mechanical bulls dressed as a pirate, holding in the goods. Sorry, I couldn’t upload the video. 😀

And when done, they attend a Saints & Sinners party. My angelic dance partner, Vivvi Andrews.

And when done, they attend a Saints & Sinners party. My angelic dance partner, Vivi Andrews.

It all culminates to a giant book signing. I just adore my huge book poster!

In the end, it all culminated to a giant book signing. I just adore my huge book poster!

 

I had an incredible time. The buzz of the readers, the energy from the workshops, the incredible vendors, the craziness of Fan-Tastic Day, and the excitement of the parties were memorable. To top it off, I hung out with old friends and met new ones, and met some pretty cool readers. I’m looking forward to doing it again in 2015.

Comments? Heckles? Snickers?

 

11 Responses to RT 2014 in (Tomfoolish) Pictures

  1. Looks like a fantastic time!! Wish I could have gone because that is MY city.
    Half of my family is from Louisiana and I’ve spent many a fun night there. I also lived there for 5 years while I got my degrees from Tulane…talk about having to conjure up discipline to study!!!

  2. jbrayweber says:

    Wish you were there, too, Stacey. I can’t say that I love the high price of parking, but the area we haunted was, indeed, magical.

  3. girldrinkdrunk says:

    Are you sure you’re not a rep for RT? Your pics look so fun, I may have to hit next year’s! Texas (right?) I can’t resist steaks and oilmen…

    Is it all romance or do a couple other genres circle around?

  4. jbrayweber says:

    YES! Come on down to Texas, Kristen. We’ve got lots of steak, oilmen, and don’t forget cowboys. I’m pretty sure its all romance, but don’t quote me. 😀

  5. jeff7salter says:

    well I guess you aren’t surprised that we’ll need to see more of the bull-riding pix

  6. jbrayweber says:

    I do have one where gravity and G-force are at work on the girls, Jeff. It’s pretty funny. But the video says it all. I stayed on for 38 seconds! 38!!!

  7. jeff7salter says:

    video freeze-frame!

  8. jbrayweber says:

    Maybe it’s a good thing I don’t get it uploaded…

  9. jeff7salter says:

    ha. you know we luv ya, Hon.

  10. jeff7salter says:

Leave a Reply

