Friday Fun Facts- Get Your Liquor On!

Oh My! Seriously?

Oh My! Seriously?

 

I don’t know about you but I love a glass of nice wine with a good meal. However, by the pool on a hot summer evening, give me a margarita, pina colada, or a rum and coke! I distinctly remember the first time I tried a Tom Collins (Gin, limeade and sugar).downloadMy family was in Bangkok at the Siam Intercontinental and we went to the piano bar for drinks before dinner. Why that memory is so crystal clear in my brain, I don’t know. It was a lovely evening and one I will always cherish. (The drink was really good too!)

I’ve found some interesting bits of information for you today on liquor and I hope you enjoy them. If you wish to get a cold Manhattan, Martini, Cosmopolitan, Harvey Wall Banger or gin and tonic, go ahead, I’ll wait……………..Oh, here you are!

Glad you're back!

Glad you’re back!

 

Sit back, take a sip and enjoy learning some Friday Fun Facts.

1. Even though Islam forbids drinking alcohol, the whole distillation process producing pure spirits was perfected in the Arab world. An alchemist, Geber, did this in the 8th century!fa-2000001085

2. There are four elements in the process- yeast, a carbohydrate, the fermentation process, and the distillation process.

3. Liquor has a higher concentration than beer or wine because the distillation process increases the ethyl alcohol. (No wonder the Long Island Iced Teas in college knocked me for a loop!)alembic2

4. The gin and tonic was one of the only cocktails created for medicinal reasons. When British troops were stationed in hot, humid climates back in the 19th century, they often fell prey to malaria. Tonic water made with Peruvian quinine was found to be the best way to combat the disease. Unfortunately, the quinine water was very bitter so those young chaps came up with a solution! Add gin, sugar and some lime juice and the bitterness dissolved into a lovely cocktail. Brilliant!

5. Prohibition in the U.S. lasted for nearly a decade and created a whole sub-culture. Speak Easy much?S5702-lg

6. The Cotton Club which opened in 1922 was a well known Speak Easy. Most were just hidden rooms with barely drinkable whiskey and run by gangsters and the Mob.

7. As Al Capone put it, “All I do is to supply a public demand … somebody had to throw some liquor on that thirst. Why not me?”

I just love word games!

I just love word games!

6 Responses to Friday Fun Facts- Get Your Liquor On!

  1. Back when I was able to drink I attended a major Hollywood party. I was tired of drinking “girl drinks” (not my term) like Amaretto and OJ. I sat down at the bar beside my boss just as he was ordering a Tanqueray & Tonic. I asked what it was. He said “Gin and tonic.” I asked for one as well. Immediately it became my poison of choice! (I love Juniper!) I didn’t know it started as medicine! Great informative post!! I also love knowing historical details like those listed!! Good job!

    Like

  2. I have tried long and hard to like gin and tonic, but no such luck. To me, it tastes like a bitter medicine. Give me those girly drinks anytime! My favorite, besides wine, is a rum and coke. Yum!
    I’m glad you like the information! Our goal for this day was to give our followers something interesting they could use in a book or at the next cocktail party.:-)

    Like

  3. jbrayweber says:

    Great post, Stacey! Cheers!

    Like

  4. Glad you liked it! Want to meet at the bar?

    Like

  5. Will Graham says:

    “There’s an old spinning wheel where my head is.
    Can’t remember last night… what a crime.
    But I’m feeling so rotten this morning….
    Must have had me a wonderful time!” – Dean Martin

    Like

  6. Hi Will! Dean always had just the right thing to say! I love the line about the old spinning wheel!

    Like

Leave a Reply

