Hump Day Kick Start – Haulin’ and Hot Tire Edition

Song of the day:  Follow You Home by Nickleback

Hump Day Kick Start – for your muse, a writing picture prompt, or just a visual treat.

tires

Because I recently had work done to my truck, I give you today’s prompt.

Who is our delectable greasy monkey? Who/what is he looking at? And what is his expression? Is he the mechanic watching the sway of her hips in her flirty sundress as she walks away to the diner to wait for him to fix her car which broke down just outside his small town? Did he just spot his estranged girlfriend drive past and is wishing he could replace his wounded heart for a new one, like changing truck tires?  What if he was tired of being a part of her pit crew? Perhaps he is about to suggest to the smoking hot customer she needs a lube job. *wink, wink* Maybe he is getting ready for the town’s annual festival of games, notably the tire toss.

What’s your take? Let me hear from you!

10 Responses to Hump Day Kick Start – Haulin’ and Hot Tire Edition

  1. jeff7salter says:

    Wishing I could see his sister. Otherwise I got nuthin’ to say about Lionel.
    Though what comes to mind is the slogan for an old TV commercial, “Where the rubber meets the road”

    Like

  2. jbrayweber says:

    I have a retort to your rubber meets road comment, Jeff. but darn if it crosses the line. LOL!

    Like

  3. jeff7salter says:

    aww… we’re all friends here…

    Like

  4. Sarah Andre says:

    Well, hello mechanic-boy! Let me think up something luscious for this hottie. BBS.

    Like

  5. Sarah Andre says:

    Got carried away-alert!

    There are three things Jay Reynolds was great at: winning Monster Truck Rallies, taking care of his aging mama, and the art of thoroughly seducing the women-folk of Spellbound, TX.
    Except for one.

    Dara Fontana, nicknamed Long-Legs in junior high hadn’t given him the time of day back then and didn’t now. Sure, she returned his greeting whenever they encountered one another, but based on how she’d bury her nose in a book when he entered Sally’s Diner or how she crossed the street with her groceries rather than pass by his garage, he got the feeling she avoided him on purpose.

    So naturally, when there was a never ending chase, Jay became obsessed with catching Dara. All he needed was one chance, just one extra sentence besides the polite ‘hello’ and his charm would win her over.

    Well, today Divine Intervention took over. Monster Truck Rally was in town and he’d skipped breakfast and lunch getting his rig ready. Mid-afternoon he was so famished he was seeing stars. He quit working, wiped off as much grease as he could, threw on a t-shirt and buckled his overalls. When he walked into Sally’s Diner it crammed with neighbors and tourists. Not a seat to be found. Goddamn it!

    Then he spied the sun-bleached blond hair in the back booth, paperback moving up to obscure her face. This was it, because as much as he wanted to bury himself between Dara’s sweetly parted thighs, he wanted a seat and a double cheeseburger more.

    Passing crowded booths on his way back there he grinned and shook his head as one by one Sunny (too clingy), Hannah (crazy-bad morning breath) and Jojo (almost needed stitches in his back from her nails) offered to squish over and make room for him. Dara and a cheeseburger or bust.

    He did catch Sally’s eye (lusty and quite energetic for a cougar) and mouthed ‘the usual.’ She winked and barked out his order, her husky smoker’s voice carrying above the clatter of utensils on silverware, raucous laughter and a toddler having a tantrum.
    Jay halted at the last booth.

    ‘Mind if I have a seat?’ he gestured at the empty bench across from Dara. Maybe it was his imagination but she took a loooong time looking up from her paperback and when she did she was blushing. She shrugged and nodded. Score 1! He scooted in, one leg brushing hers. She moved away so fast her knee banged the table. Damn, back to zero.

    ‘Whatcha reading?’
    ‘A pirate romance.’
    ‘I see you readin’ a lot of those but I never see you gettin’ your own romance on.’
    Her blush got brighter. ‘I hold down two jobs. I don’t have the time or the money to date.’
    ‘Sugar, jobs or no jobs everyone eats dinner. And if you date the right kinda guy you won’t need the money to have a nice meal. You know, the kind with candles and flowers and a gooey, chocolate dessert…like in your romance novel.’ He nodded at her paperback, noticing her finger tucked in to mark the page. Jeez! Score -1.

    ‘I don’t need a man to pay for my meal.’ She flagged Sally for the check.
    ‘It SHOULD be his pleasure, Dara. At least it’d be mine.’
    ‘I don’t like owing a man or knowing he expects something in return.’
    ‘I wouldn’t.’
    ‘You mistake me for someone who will fall for your charm.’

    He had to think fast. He’d never scored a -2!
    ‘Then why were you blushing when I sat down?’ he asked casually, running his thumb up and down the length of his fork. Her eyes strayed there and her lips parted as she sucked in a shaky breath. Whew. Back to -1!

    ‘I was right in the middle of a sex scene,’ she said, but her voice was breathy. ‘I’m sure I was blushing before you came over.’

    Jay leaned in and covered the hand that still held the book. ‘No, Sugar. It was definitely after.’
    He noted two things. She didn’t snatch her hand away and said hand was trembling. He was giving himself 2 points for this.
    Score 1.

    ‘Dara, honey,’ Sally rasped as she put Dara’s check on the table, ‘why don’t you get Jay here to fix that fan belt you been complainin’ about?’
    Now Dara did snatch her hand away. The book fell on the floor, which she didn’t even notice in her sputtering denials about a loose fan belt.

    In one smooth motion, Jay grabbed her check in his right hand, bent under the table and picked up her book in the other. He handed her the book and handed the check back to Sally. ‘Put this on my tab.’

    As Sally left he said, ‘guess you think you owe me now.’
    Dara wouldn’t look at him. The red in her face was not from a blush. ‘Aw don’t be angry, Dara. Just let me pay for your lunch and let me take a look at your car. I promise I won’t try to kiss you.’

    ‘I…I have to go. Thank you for lunch.’ She bolted from the booth and he sighed and banged his head against the back wall a couple of times. When Sally brought his lunch he barely tasted it. He paid both checks and returned to his mechanic shop in a foul mood.

    An hour later he was sweaty, greasy and lugging 2 of his Monster Truck tires out of the garage when he saw a long legged, blond vision parked in his shop entrance.

    ‘Actually,’ she said in a small voice, twisting her key ring, ‘I do hope you try to kiss me.’

    Like

  6. jbrayweber says:

    Jay scores! And so does Sarah. This is just down-home goodness, all around. And of course, I love it! 🙂

    Like

  7. jeff7salter says:

    yep, Sarah gets this one…

    Like

  8. pibarrington says:

    Clunk! That did it. He wasn’t about to keep being her personal mechanic. Ignoring the tires as they hit the ground and spun like enormous tops, he stomped to the door of the Aston Martin.
    “Why don’t you try paying someone to fix your…vehicle…instead of using me for free?” He snapped, folding his arms over his chest. She eyed his body slowly until her gaze came to rest in his eyes.
    “I do pay you.” she smirked. “I just don’t use money.”

    (to be continued. It’s 11:34 p.m. and I have to get to bed. If you’re really nice to me I might continue this…)

    Like

  9. jbrayweber says:

    Niiiiice. I need a new power steering hose. Just sayin’.

    Like

  10. pibarrington says:

    Thank you! I think I’m getting the hang of this romance genre thing…

    Like

Leave a Reply

