Hump Day Kick Start – Hold Me Edition

Song of the day:  Up In The Air by Thirty Seconds to Mars

Hump Day Kick Start – for your muse, a writing picture prompt, or just a visual treat.

dont leave

 

If I had to title this prompt, it would be “Don’t Leave”. Just look at his expression.

Tell me about this couple. Who are they and what’s going on? Did he just get her back? If so, from where or who? The brink of death? His enemy? Is he losing her? Was this his decision or hers? And why? Does he have a dark secret he is about to tell? Maybe they are in a hopeless, tragic love where they each belong to another, with no hope of being together again.

You tell me. What’s your take? I’d love to hear it.

10 Responses to Hump Day Kick Start – Hold Me Edition

  1. jeff7salter says:

    Well the girl is cute, but as usual, you cropped it too high. Cannot see all of her, uh, qualities.

  2. jbrayweber says:

    Sorry, Jeff. If I showed everything, I’d leave nothing for your imagination. 3:)

  3. jeff7salter says:

    try me…

  4. Ruth Kenjura says:

    If I hold her tight, she won’t change. If I cleave to her all will be the same. Of course it is a lie. A lie of life, a lie to myself and a lie to her. She will change, and so will life. No more will she be the loving Giselle. No more will she turn to me. No, she will run, hide and turn from me. She will scorn me, hate me. The look in her eyes will no longer be soft, but filled with the red intensity of hate, disgust and betrayal. If only I could trust love would see us through, but I know it won’t. I’m not who she thinks I am. I’m not what she thinks I am and the truth won’t set us free- it will destroy us. But I will burn this night into my memory and pray that someday, somehow, she will find it in her heart to forgive me and perhaps, perhaps love me again.

  5. jbrayweber says:

    Ooooh. I love this, Ruth. So dark. And it leaves me wondering about what he’s done.

  6. Here is my take on the photo:

    Lying in Bed Being Beautiful Next to You

    I remember being your beauty
    because you told me once
    I had some inside of me.
    Now I’m an aging woman,
    my Goddess drifts away
    from untouchable dreams.

    In my glass
    where Evian embraces ice
    and makes love to a lemon wedge,
    I hear chinking of the crystal
    and see our beauty gray,
    refracted in tender candle light.

    But to think of us as lovers
    in this one goblet, half filled
    with water and diluted citrus seems
    shallow. There is only me, dreaming
    of lying in bed being beautiful next to you.

    ~From Journey On: Beauty and Grit Along the Way Poetry Collection by Anna Blake Godbout

  7. jbrayweber says:

    Great poetry, Anna. Or I should say, Beautiful. Love it!

  8. Sarah Andre says:

    (Feeling especially mean today, don’t know why.)

    “I don’t say gooey dumb stuff like this, Amber, but I think I just saw the universe. Or like my heart’s outside my body right now, staring at you in wonder. Even though we just met I really think we have something special going–”

    “Shh…”

    “Wha–what are you doing down there?”

    “Finishing myself off.”

  9. jbrayweber says:

    Oh my… What a dirty mind you have, Sarah. Of course it’s one of the things I love about you!

Leave a Reply

