Hump Day Kick Start – Bus Edition

Song of the day:  My Own Worst Enemy by Lit

Hump Day Kick Start – for your muse, a writing picture prompt, or just a visual treat.

bus

Sorry, folks. No hotties today. Just one heck of an interesting prompt. Just in time for back to school.

Who is our prompt today?  Why is she on top of the bus? Was it her first day as the bus driver for the rowdy kids from the School of Misfits? Is she a member of a musical group who had one hell of a gig the night before and somehow this is where she passed out? (This one time, at band camp…) Maybe she and the bus mechanic just had an “educational” fling on the bus’s roof. We could go darker and say she was thrown from the adjacent building’s roof by an angry ex-lover. Is she Courtney Love and no explanation is needed?

What’s your take? Love to hear it!

22 Responses to Hump Day Kick Start – Bus Edition

  1. girldrinkdrunk says:

    “For the love of God, take them. Take them back to school. I have a deadline!”

  2. jbrayweber says:

    As heard by me…
    Could you hear me, Kristen?

  3. girldrinkdrunk says:

    “What do you mean we’re not on your approved route?!”

  4. jbrayweber says:

    Now we are getting desperate. Ha!

  5. girldrinkdrunk says:

    “That Mommy and Me Parkour class really seems to have paid off for Jennifer…”

  6. jbrayweber says:

    Bwahahahahaha! Nailed it!

  7. lorettawheeler says:

    “Dear God, I’m too exhausted to cry. Just getting here took all the umphff out of me. I think I’m going to miss them…when I wake up.”

  8. jbrayweber says:

    But they’ll be back, Lo. They ALWAYS come back.

  9. jeff7salter says:

    The senior party that began inside the bus ended up on the roof of the bus. But, once Lorinda comes to, she’ll be okay… because her boyfriend Elmer drove that bus to Vegas. And, as we all know, what plays in Vegas stays in Vegas.

  10. jbrayweber says:

    That’s what they say, Jeff. But I have a suspicion what happens in Vegas ends up on Facebook. 3:)

  11. lorettawheeler says:

    Unless of course, what played in Vegas, didn’t stay in Vegas, but fell asleep on top of the bus. (Sorry…I know…I squeezed in on your lines…but I had this overwhelming desire to “do” Vegas too 🙂 I’ll behave now, swear and spit!

  12. jeff7salter says:

    no prob. Plenty of room in Vegas

  13. jbrayweber says:

    That must have been one helluva night!

  14. Sam walked into the bus yard. D Day. That’s how he’d come to think of the first day of school. Instead of soldiers dying on a beach, it was going to get ugly for the drivers.
    “Hey Sam, how’s it hangin’?”
    His manager was an ass hole, but he smiled and waved back. “Not bad, man. Just drinking some coffee. First day’s a bitch.”
    He rounded the corner and headed down a long line of yellow buses. His was at the end, ready and waiting. The past weekend had been spent cleaning his rig until it polished. It wasn’t much of a job, but he was proud of it anyway.
    The smell hit him first. Three buses away and the stench was unbearable. Every step he took sharpened the odor until he gagged and had to cover his nose. What the hell had died? Did a dog crawl under? He leaned over and looked under his wheels. Nothing. Not even a piece of trash.
    He looked down the side of the bus and froze. Long rivulets of red streaked down the newly waxed paint………

  15. jbrayweber says:

    Ah…so Stacey took the challenge and crossed over to the dark side. Niiiiice!

  16. “Dark Side” is my middle name. Mwahahahahaha

  17. jbrayweber says:

    I know. And you can be scary…

  18. pibarrington says:

    “Talk about a rough PTA meeting,” he remarked.
    I gazed at my new partner with hatred.
    “You ever have kids, Tarrant?” I asked.
    “No. Have you?”
    “No. But I don’t find dead teachers funny.”
    “That’s good,” he said, heaving himself up on to the top of the bus. “because this isn’t a dead teacher.”
    He held down a hand to me and I grasped it, pulling myself up with his strength. I sucked in a breath or two from the exertion then leaned over the prone body of a young blonde woman.
    “What?” I squawked. “You’re full of shit.”
    “Why? Because you’re both women? Just because she’s young and flung across the top of a school bus doesn’t make her a schoolmarm,” He shot a glance at me then squinted in the bright noon sunlight.
    “Well then what the hell is she?” I snapped.
    “Prostitute. Addict. Government agent. The possibilities are endless,”
    I rolled my eyes, then closed them. Kleef Tarrant gave me a headache pretty much every time he opened his mouth. I hated him even more whenever I let myself admit I found him attractive.
    “Son of a bitch,” I said under my breath, inspecting the body closer.
    “What did you call me?” he stopped scanning the horizon and stared at me.
    “Nothing. Just swearing at the disregard of human life,” I answered. I wasn’t swearing at him, I’d told the truth. I was swearing at myself about him.
    “Good. Otherwise I’d request another partner.” he dismissed attention to me and resumed scanning the cityscape. I hated him even more now. He’d told me early in our assignment with each other that I wasn’t “his type.” I assumed because his type was a woman of less “color” than myself. I pulled my eyes from his profile with tremendous effort. Either hatred or attraction was going to win out. I placed my bet on hatred.

    …to be continued…

  19. jbrayweber says:

    Oh, very, very nice, Patti! I like it!!!

  20. pibarrington says:

    Thank you! I try.

  21. Will Graham says:

    “Clint Eastwood made jumping on a school bus look sooooooooooo easy……”

  22. jbrayweber says:

    She was probably wearing the wrong shoes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

