Friday Fun Facts- I Want Pancakes!

Breakfast is one of my favorite meals of the day and it doesn’t have to be served in the A.M. for me to eat it. Our evening meal sometimes consists of pancakes, eggs and bacon. Yum!

There’s quite a history pinned to this simplest of cakes.

You ready?

Here goes!karameltelur

– What’s in a name? Apparently not much because this delicious tidbit goes by many. Pancakes, johnnycakes, flapjacks, crepes, griddle cakes, Palatschinken, nalesniki, hotcakes, blini and dosa are just a very few of the names known for this batter.

– This food type appears all over the world and we may never know who the cook was or the culture where it began.

– It does show up in early Christian tradition as a food served on Mardi Gras (Fat Tuesday) which is the day before Ash Wednesday. This starts the season of Lent where folks wern’t supposed to use any fats or oils in their cooking. It’s thought that they fried up these cakes to use up extra oil so it wouldn’t spoil and be thrown away.

– First reference to pancakes in English is in a cookbook from the 1430s.

– The Narragansett tribe made a soft batter called a nokehick. Other cornmeal cakes were called Indian Cakes by 1607.

– American pancakes are traditionally served with butter and syrup. This may have its origins in the crepes Suzette from France. The story goes that it was served by Monsieur Joseph in his restaurant in Paris. His maitre d’hotel brought the idea to America in the 1930s.crepesuzettes

 

Think I’m hungry. Pancake, anyone?

2 Responses to Friday Fun Facts- I Want Pancakes!

  1. I love pancakes, but they are off the menu until I loose another five pounds. Shared and tweeted.

    Like

  2. jeff7salter says:

    used to love pancakes… until I had to give up gluten. Now I can’t find a mix that has the right taste.
    My favorite meal in any city where I attended a Library Conference… was IHOP. My colleagues used to razz me because I didn’t want to go to the expensive local restaurants that had “atmosphere”. Ha.
    I’m familiar with the terms Johnny-cakes, flapjacks, griddle cakes, and hotcakes. But not those others.

    Like

Leave a Reply

