Friday Fun Facts- Have A Cup Of Joe

D67E67A2-A1D9-4ABE-9D93-2E56390189F0-24007-00000188775ACDFB

 

The iconic cup of joe. The coffee bean has been used around the world and enjoyed as a beverage of choice for centuries. One company took it to a whole new level. Starbucks is now a globally recognized symbol and has, at least, 16,850 shops in 40 countries. It has also made over $10.7 BILLION. That’s a lot of joe!

– It’s over 40 years old. (I was way off on this, I thought they were only 25-28 years old.)

– The name was changed from Pequod to Starbucks. Both names are taken from Moby Dick.

– The first store opened in Beijing in 1999- there are now over 1000. coffee

– A grande coffee has 320 milligrams of caffeine. That’s 4 times the amount in one Red Bull.

– They use 93 million gallons of milk per year. That’s enough to fill 155 Olympic sized swimming pools.

– You can order 87,000 different drink combinations. COFFEE-2

– An average customer might visit 6 times a month while a big fan visits as many as 16 times a month. That’s a lot of cha-ching for that cup of joe!

– Their cinnamon chip scone, which is delicious by the way, has more calories than a McDonald’s quarter pounder with 480 calories… guess I won’t be having that for awhile. Funny

 

7 Responses to Friday Fun Facts- Have A Cup Of Joe

  1. Will Graham says:

    Interesting….. I never realized any of this! I do, however, firmly believe in the adage, “Coffee: it turns me civilized in the morning”….:)

    Like

  2. I always hope I’m adding new information on Fridays! Good for writers and interesting for readers. I do know you love coffee!!

    Like

  3. Ruth Kenjura says:

    All I know is that if we run out of Starbucks Verona it is a major disaster in my household and it isn’t pretty

    Like

  4. May there never be a shortage of Verona. Amen.

    Like

  5. jbrayweber says:

    And y’all give me crap about drinking energy drink. *blows raspberries*

    Like

  6. jeff7salter says:

    Love coffee. I’ve been a chronic drinker since my freshman year of college, when it was the cheapest bev. at the student Union snack bar. 10 cents with free refill.
    But I’ve never gotten into these fancy coffee shops where you pay $4 for one java. I figure $4 still buys a one-pound can (which is no longer one pound, but you know what I mean).

    Like

  7. I have tried and tried to like coffee- I know I must not be human! By the time I get it to where I can stand to drink it, it’s no longer coffee but a coffee flavored beverage!
    I’m also with you on the high price for a cup of the stuff. Sheesh!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

