Friday Fun Facts- The Great State Of Texas!

As my web site proclaims that even though I consider myself a child of the world, I was born in the great state of Texas! My family goes back generations and I’ve fostered a real love for Texas in my children. My daughter, who has been away at college for the last five years, will be finishing her Masters and coming home. Her comment is-“At last, I’m coming back to the Motherland!”

Here are some things you may NOT know.Picture174

– Everything really IS bigger in Texas! It is 268,596 square miles and is the second largest state behind Alaska. We have the largest capitol building and the highest speed limit (85 mph. in some parts), we are also the biggest cattle, cotton and oil producer.

– The term “maverick” was coined by Samuel A. Maverick back in the 1800s. He was a Texan lawyer and a pioneer back in the day.

– That golden statue named Oscar was named for a Texan. His niece worked in Hollywood for the Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences. When she saw the golden man, she said, “Why, that looks just like my Uncle Oscar.”   **I promise, I’m not making this up!images

– It is illegal to indecently expose or swear in front of a corpse here. Don’t ask me why.

– In Galveston, it is illegal to have a camel run loose on the beach. Huh? Really, don’t ask me why about that either.

– Texas declares it a hanging offense if you steal a man’s cow or put graffiti on it. OK, fine go ahead and ask me why……………..I don’t have a clue.cowboy

– The city of Slaughter, Texas has never had a homicide.

– The largest city in Texas is Houston (Ah, home, sweet home) and it’s the fourth largest in the U.S.

– The deadliest U.S. disaster was the great hurricane that hit Galveston in 1900. It killed between 8,000 to 12,000 people.download

– We were an independent nation from 1836 to 1845! We were annexed in 1845, but we have permission to fly our flag at the same height of the national flag.

– A fast way for folks to let their family and friends know where they were headed was to leave a type of short hand back in the 19th century. “G.T.T.” meant “Gone To Texas” and it meant they were off to find a better life and greener pastures. These letters were used so often by people, and even the ones on the run from the law, it eventually meant “on the lam.”

83aca50d146d4b483eb800693b5e32ea

3 Responses to Friday Fun Facts- The Great State Of Texas!

  1. jbrayweber says:

    Love my TEXAS!



    Like

  2. :o) Texan as well.

    Like

  3. Love all y’all!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

