Hump Day Kick Start – Play Ball Edition

Hump Day Kick Start – for your muse, a writing picture prompt, or just a visual treat.

baseball

Today, I’m heading to the city to watch my hometown boys, the Astros, play against the Royals. So in honor of baseball, I give you today’s prompt.

Tell me about him. Major league? Minors? College? Little league coach who has his eye on the pretty single mom in the bleachers? Could he be desperate to get out of his big brother’s major league shadow? Maybe he is working on regaining his confidence after a tragic ball-throwing accident. Is the new bat girl bringing him some sunscreen? Now that he has built it, he’s waiting for them to come.

Go ‘Stros!

I’d love to hear your take, or just “caption this photo”.

5 Responses to Hump Day Kick Start – Play Ball Edition

  1. jeff7salter says:

    Jennie was in the left field stands yelling, but Elroy — playing second base — couldn’t understand what she was saying.
    “Give the ball back to the pitcher, Elroy,” she screamed, “you’re holding up the game!”
    Elroy scanned the bleachers intently. “What did you say?”
    “Throw your ball to the mound!” she screamed.
    He heard two words: “balls” and “mound”. That’s when he got excited.

  2. jbrayweber says:

    Sure, he got excited. He’s probably thinking he’s going to get to third base, now. Awesome job, Jeff!

  3. jeff7salter says:

    lol

  4. Sarah Andre says:

    “I hear he’s shy.”
    “No shy guy stands there posing like that, Rachel.”
    “They don’t call it posing in baseball. You see the catcher’s fingers? Fil’s reading sign language from the catcher on what kind of pitch to throw.”
    “Fil’s deaf?”
    “Tsk! Never mind, Portia.”
    “Well, tell me this brainiac, what shy guy sports red underwear?”
    “I’m just repeating what I heard around my sorority house. He’s a transfer from Oklahoma, an econ major and is polite and quiet…like a Southern gentleman.”
    “I’ll knock the gentleman right outa him. YO PITCHER! GETTA LOADA THESE!”
    “Portia! Put your shirt back down!”
    “Got his attention. HI!” Waves frantically.
    “Ack! Tell me when he stops looking over here.”
    “Oh, get your nose outta that notebook, Rachel. He’s looking at you being a weirdo when I’m the one who flashed these spectacular ta-tas.”
    “Is he still looking?”
    “No. Went back to posing.”
    Sigh. “Oh wow! Look at how fast he threw that!”
    “Why are you watching the ball, Rachel? Did you just see all those yummy torso muscles torque up?”
    “I’m here to watch the practice and write my sports column.”
    “Give me your cell, I need to take a video of him doing that.”
    “Use your own!”
    “It’s dead. Come on.”
    Rachel hands iPhone over.
    “Okay, Big Boy. Do it again for mama…HEY! STOP POSING AND THROW IT!”
    “Oh. My. God. Portia!”
    “HI!” Waves frantically. “Oh shit. He’s jogging over. How do I look?”
    “I don’t know. I’m down here.”
    “What are you doing?”
    “Pretending to tie my sneaker.”
    “Ladies…” Takes off baseball cap, wipes sweaty forehead with forearm.
    “Lookit, Rachel, he took his hat off. Why you are a Southern gentleman. I’m Portia. My friend here is pretending to have a problem with her kicks.”
    “I appreciate ya’ll’s enthusiasm, but the scouts come tomorrow and I really need to concentrate out there.”
    “You’re practicing for the Boy Scouts?”
    Rachel bolts upright. “Portia!”
    “Hi. I’m Fil.” Slips off his glove and holds his hand out to Rachel. “I see you out here every afternoon.”
    “I write for the college paper.”
    “And I’m Portia.”
    “Yes, ma’am. You already said that.”
    “We’ll be quiet, Fil. Just ignore us and good luck tomorrow.”
    “Thank you, Rachel. Hope to see you in the stands again when they come. You seem to be my lucky charm.”
    “Did I miss something here? I’m the one who flashed you.”
    “Yes, ma’am. But sometimes a guy likes the shy girls.” Winks and jogs back to the mound.
    “Well.” Portia crosses her arms. “He’s clearly gay.”
    “Just stay seated and keep quiet. Tomorrow is huge for him.”
    “HEY FIL! RACHEL’S NUMBER IS 5554110!”
    “Oh holy hell.”
    “Too bad your covering your face with that dumb notebook.”
    “What’s he doing?”
    “Staring at you like he’s memorizing the number a few times in his head.”

  5. jbrayweber says:

    Oh…that last line is great! Goes great with the pic. Cute story, Sarah. You never disappoint.

Leave a Reply

