Hump Day Kick Start – Held Up Edition

Hump Day Kick Start – for your muse, a writing picture prompt, or just a visual treat.

ryan gosling

Look carefully. You might recognize him.

Tell me about today’s prompt. Who is he? Why is the woman pointing a gun at him? Is he a private detective and the woman who hired him is now double-crossing him? Could he be a mobster who has angered his feisty girlfriend? Maybe he is a dapper serial killer. What if she were a desperate lounge singer needing to pay off a twisted debt? Imagine if he were a  federal agent in love with the beautiful fugitive. Is she only half-heartedly keeping him at bay? That would be…arresting.

Caption the pic or tell me a tale. I’d love to hear it.

8 Responses to Hump Day Kick Start – Held Up Edition

  1. Will Graham says:

    “I see you are the infamous cookie bandit ‘The Pistol’. The nickname suits you…”

    – Spare me the flattery. Did you bring the Black and White Cookies as we agreed?

    “There was a slight…. problem….”

    – Do you see what is attached to this gun? It is a silencer… would you like to hear how it works?

    “No, no, not at all. The issue is the Cafe was sold out of B&W Cookies. Madame certainly cannot hold me personally responsible for an error beyond my control.”

    – Hmmmm… You grovel nicely, but that *does* present a problem. A serious problem. I was told you could be counted on to deliver to my specifications.

    “Yes, ma’am, I can and I will. But the items requested were not available at the moment.”

    – I see. Perhaps we can do business another time.

    “Perhaps… I will keep you appraised through the usual channels as to availability.”

    – That would be acceptable. You may leave now…..

  2. jbrayweber says:

    HAHA! I love this one, Will. She must like him and his nice groveling to let him go.

  3. Will Graham says:

    She is not without compassion, Jenn, but I would fear for the poor fellow if it should happen again…..

  4. Is there a small child at her side holding a gun on the errant deadbeat dad?
    😱

  5. pibarrington says:

    “I don’t care if you are 007. I’ll still blow your head off. And knock off the smirk over the word ‘blow.’
    “I wasn’t doing anything–I never moved a muscle. In my face anyway…”
    “Great. Keep it up asshole–stop that!”
    “Again, I never moved a mus–”
    “Look, if I had a choice I wouldn’t kill you. But I don’t have a choice here and with you and your suggestive expressions, you’re making this even harder for me–STOP IT!”
    “What now?”
    “I keep finding the worst words to use in reference to your–face–no matter what I say,”
    “Maybe you should shoot me then, That might make it easier for you.”
    “Easier but not happier. In other circumstances, this might work out well for us both. Oh, shit. I hear him. He’s on the way here. Quick, hit the floor and play dead. If you fool him, I’ll let you go. Down boy! Good dog!”
    “There are a lot of very suggestive words there–”
    At that point, I didn’t mind shoving my stiletto into his face. I turned around, keeping my shoe against his head, making movement impossible.
    “He’s dead,” I said without emotion. That was the hardest part of all, speaking without all those terribly suggestive words and…expressions.

  6. jbrayweber says:

    Dang. Double entendres get me every time. Nice one, Patti!

  7. jeff7salter says:

    Serena smiled when she saw his discomfort. “Are you nervous, Mr. Diamond?”
    “No more than usual when a loaded revolver is aimed at me. Who are you?”
    “Well, your colleagues refer to me as a shadowy character,” she replied, “so I decided to give you a chance to see for yourself.”
    “You mean YOU’RE the jewel thief we’ve been after?”
    Serena smiled again. No reply necessary.
    “Why do you show yourself now?”
    “I wanted you to see what you’d have if you ever did catch me,” she said. “But for the moment, you must turn away and watch my shadow on that wall.”
    “Why?”
    “Because I have the gun and my trigger finger sometimes twitches.”
    “Very well,” said Diamond. “So what happens next?”
    “I’ve given that a lot of thought,” she said, “since I realized who was working on the case to track me down. I like the look of you, Mr. Diamond. And now I plan to give you a look at me.”
    “Does that mean I can turn my head again?”
    “No. It means, you watch my shadow while I remove this tight skirt and this top that’s barely there to begin with.”
    “You plan to strip for me?”
    “No, Mr. Diamond. My shadow will take care of that.”

  8. jbrayweber says:

    This cat and mouse game sounds like a man’s dream. Or is it a nightmare? Love it, Jeff.

Leave a Reply

