Hump Day Kick Start – Up To No Good Edition

Hump Day Kick Start – for your muse, a writing picture prompt, or just a visual treat.

john silver

Some of you will know who this is. And if you do, then you are in league with me and after my heart. You, devil, you.

With Halloween this weekend, I couldn’t pass up this wickedly handsome knife-wielding scoundrel. Who is he and why is he smiling? Could he be a crafty fellow who has just devised a plan—using the crude but effect means of intimidation—to steal away his beloved from another? A thief planning to jimmy open a lock to something very valuable? Is he a killer? A rogue mercenary out for blood? An ingenious inventor plotting an escape from his unjustified incarceration during the dawn of the Industrial Age? How about a man-for-hire? Perhaps not for hire, not for the sexy woman seeking his services, but, rather, for a delicious trade?

Or, maybe, just maybe, he is carving the name of his favorite blonde author into the table. Yessss…

Give me a treat. Caption the pic or tell a tale. Let me hear from you.

 

12 Responses to Hump Day Kick Start – Up To No Good Edition

  1. Oh, this guy belongs at a beach bar somewhere in the Caribbean! He’s waiting for the next big salvaging job and knows there’s always a thief or two waiting to get the jump on him! BTW- I think I should be at that beach bar helping him watch out for the bad guys!

    Like

  2. jbrayweber says:

    Right there with ya, Stacey. And you are not far from the mark. This gorgeous fellow is actually Luke Arnold who plays thief turned reluctant pirate Long John Silver in Black Sails. *swoon*

    Like

  3. jeff7salter says:

    “Yes, I do have a stiletto,” he said with bemusement. “But my reference was to your shoes and how nice they make your legs look.”

    Like

  4. jbrayweber says:

    *blushes* Why, thank you. Wait… He wasn’t talking to me, was he? Ha! Nice one, Jeff.

    Like

  5. jeff7salter says:

    yep, that was you…

    Like

  6. jbrayweber says:

    Yay! *stands straighter with more sass*

    Like

  7. pibarrington says:

    “Hey! Who the hell are you and how the hell did you get into my apartment?” I pushed the door shut behind me with a heel, but not enough to click the lock, just in case. “And, why in unholy hell are you carving up my Rent To Own reclaimed wood table?” I set the bag of groceries on the RTO a few inches from his hand.
    “I been sent to finish you off.”
    “What?” I squawked. “I don’t know anybody with enough money to finish me off. Besides, you got the wrong girl Pal.”
    “Your name Mystery Spencer?”
    “Well, yes. As a matter of fact–”
    “You’re the right girl.”
    I looked up at ceiling rolling my eyes. Why couldn’t any of my numerous enemies ever send somebody yucky to finish me off anyway? Or maybe he meant something else…

    That’s all I got before I have to call my contractor for the house.

    Like

  8. pibarrington says:

    “Hey! Who the hell are you and how the hell did you get into my apartment?” I pushed the door shut behind me with a heel, but not enough to click the lock, just in case. “And, why in unholy hell are you carving up my Rent To Own reclaimed wood table?” I set the bag of groceries on the RTO a few inches from his hand.
    “I been sent to finish you off.”
    “What?” I squawked. “I don’t know anybody with enough money to finish me off. Besides, you got the wrong girl Pal.”
    “Your name Mystery Spencer?”
    “Well, yes. As a matter of fact–”
    “You’re the right girl.”
    I looked up at ceiling rolling my eyes. Why couldn’t any of my numerous enemies ever send somebody yucky to finish me off? Or maybe he meant something else…

    That’s all I got before I have to call my contractor for the house.

    Like

  9. jbrayweber says:

    I love this! Best line: “I don’t know anybody with enough money to finish me off.” This could be a great start to a book.

    Like

  10. pibarrington says:

    Second reply was an edit. I didn’t post twice.

    Like

  11. pibarrington says:

    Thank you, Jennifer! Mystery Spencer is a P.I. I’ve been working on for a few years.

    Like

  12. jbrayweber says:

    Yay! I like her snark.

    Like

Leave a Reply

