Friday Fun Facts- Amazon!

If you are a writer, then you absolutely know about Amazon. If you are not, chances are you’ve heard of Amazon too….has anybody NOT heard of Amazon? I think not. So you’ve heard of the mammoth retailer, but I bet I know some things about it you don’t. Care to find out?

  1. Amazon’s warehouses are larger than 700 Madison Square Gardens!
  2. It started in Jeff Bezo’s garage.
  3. The original name was to be “Cadabra” as in Abracadabra, but the lawyer decided it sounded too much like cadaver!2
  4. The first book sold on Amazon was out of the garage in 1995. It was Fluid Concepts and Creative Analogies: Computer Models of the Fundamental Mechanisms of Thought……whoa, not so exciting.
  5. The current logo was created to represent a smile from A to Z and everything in between!amazon-logo-o
  6. Employees have to spend 2 days working customer service every 2 years, including the CEO!
  7. Some years ago, the site went down for 49 minutes- it lost $5.7 million in sales.
  8. It is 20 years old.Birthday-Cake
  9. It takes care of 137 million customers/week!
  10. Amazon customers are better than e-bay customers. Amazon’s spend an average of $189 while e-bay’s spend around $39.
  11. Their cloud storage can hold 82,000 books per person for every human on earth!!!!ththr13
  12. They got in trouble for selling dolphin and whale meat.
  13. They once cleaned out Toys-R-Us to have enough Christmas inventory of toys- specifically the Pikachu!
  14. Their fastest delivery was 23 minutes- it was an Easy Bake oven.
  15. To reduce the numbers of employees, they will occasionally run a program “Pay To Quit”. They will pay around $3-5000 for folks to hand in their resignation.images241lllisalllindsay

6 Responses to Friday Fun Facts- Amazon!

  1. Loretta says:

    My word! What interesting facts! I love the hands on regarding customer service training. And, how amazing they cleaned out Toys R Us one season. It’s a fabulous concept, and they’ve done well implementing all their dreams πŸ™‚ Thanks for an informative wake-up read, Stacey πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Well, if you liked this piece on Amazon, wait until you read this upcoming Tuesday’s Link Of The Week. -Something all authors should know!
    Thanks for stopping by, Loretta.

    Like

  3. Ruth Kenjura says:

    See I knew they were one of my BFF’s, especially at Christmas and birthdays. Not to mention I can find my special thick noodles there, the grocery stores that used to carry them don’t. Now that they have prime delivery, I may love them even more. Haven’t tried it out as yet, but hey, the year is young.
    I didn’t know about the customer service thing, but I do know that anytime I had a problem, they handled it immediately. So Happy Birthday Amazon.
    Thanks Stacey

    Like

  4. Loretta says:

    Welp, I have Prime now, and something arriving soon. I’m so easy. I really had no idea I ran forward to meet new things as much as I do…s’okay, though. Hubby is pokey as all get out, so we have my much admired “balance.” I’m sure you’ll have Prime in no time, Ruth, you’re too much of a progressive gal πŸ™‚ BTW, did you bring chocolates on here? Strawberries dipped in chocolate? πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. Ruth Kenjura says:

    Along with the champagne- after all it’s Valentines weekend.

    Like

  6. Loretta says:

    Why, of course, sugar! Always… I just didn’t want to mooch that much from you πŸ™‚ But, if you insist…. πŸ˜‰ Happy Valentine’s Ruth…and all you other gals πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

