Hump Day Kick Start – Lethal Leather Edition

Hump Day Kick Start – for your muse, a writing picture prompt, or just a visual treat.

zach-mcgowan

 

 

In honor of International Talk Like A Pirate Day this past Monday, I give you today’s prompt.

If you know who this is, I raise my mug o’ rum to ya. But putting that aside, tell me about him. Who is he (in your world)? What or who is he looking at? Is that his desk his boots are propped upon or someone else’s? Has he come home, surprising the father that threw him out ten years ago? Maybe making a deal with someone far more dangerous than himself? Did the person he plans to kill just walk into the room? Could he be waiting for a certain blonde author to finish her next pirate novel, come to give her a little persuasion?

What’s your take? Tell a tale or caption the pic.

10 Responses to Hump Day Kick Start – Lethal Leather Edition

  1. rekenjura says:

    The beginning of this I wrote last week, just didn’t post it because it is over 2,000 words- but this is part of a scene that follows it

    Book of Souls

    “Well it took you long enough?”
    Cassie eyed the throwback from a pirate movie, “took me long enough? Who the hell are you?”
    “Interesting turn of phrase you have there, Hell being the operative word.”
    “Ha-Ha, now who are you?”
    “I’m hurt, you don’t recognize me. “ He sat there all king like, leaning back in the scuffed up wooden chair, his hands playing with a key.
    “Should I? I’m not into playing games, I have to find—“
    “I know- the big bad evil. Girl didn’t anyone train you?”
    “There’s training? All I got was some mumbo jumbo from a silver eyed psychic and asked if I accepted my destiny.”
    “Well now, that presents an interesting quandary for me. Do I take advantage of your innocence and lack of knowledge or perhaps…just perhaps I give you a helping hand?”
    “You do know you are talking in riddles.” This is not good. He’s looking at me as if I’m a tasty treat. And who the hell is he? What’s with the comment that I should know him?
    “It is the nature of the beast, if you’ll pardon my pun.”
    “I’m not really getting your jokes, puns or whatever you want to call them. I’m looking for a…” now how did she tell him she was looking for an escaped soul of a serial killer? Would he believe her? Or maybe just call someone to haul her off to the nearest psych ward.
    “Don’t fret, I know who you’re looking for. He split when he saw me, went back up top.”
    “How?” she eyed him again “Just who are you?”
    “Why I’m the devil of course, and I think you and I are going to get along just fine. I’ve decided to be your, what is it they call it?” He shoved his feet from the table and snapped his fingers “I’m going to be your mentor- your guide and help you get that training they forgot to tell you about.”

  2. jbrayweber says:

    Love, love it, Ruth. You are a woman after my own heart with this dark side.

  3. jeff7salter says:

    Straight from the lips of Artemis:
    “You need not be surprised to see me here in your study. And, no, there’s no need to call your servants or arm yourself. What I’ve come to do is the fulfillment of our mutual destiny and nothing will stand in its way. My clothes? Don’t concern yourself. These soft soles allow me to creep into places that otherwise might waken to my presence. Oh, it’s true I have not bathed in a fortnight… but then I’ve spent all that time tracking down my prey. Yes, you. I see you are frightened now. But were you frightened when you drank the fresh blood of those seven virgins? What’s that? You wish to know if there’s something in my pocket of if I’m just glad to see you. Actually, both. I’m delighted to finally get to you, Countess Drakul… and this bulge in my pocket is a sharp wooden stake. Don’t need a hammer — I’ll use thrust it through your black heart with my bare hands. Good night and sleep tight, Countess. You will not awaken with the moon tomorrow…”

  4. jbrayweber says:

    Niiice, Jeff. You know how much I love the dark side. But the best part? No dorky names for him.

  5. jeff7salter says:

    had to give him a good solid vampire hunting name

  6. jbrayweber says:

    Just know it is appreciated. Ha!

  7. pibarrington says:

    Sorry, sorry everyone. He’s too gorgeous for words. I’m dumbfounded.

  8. jbrayweber says:

    Yup, there is something about Zach that is mesmerizing.

  9. pibarrington says:

    Now, actions, that’s a different story…

  10. jbrayweber says:

    With ya there, Patti.

Leave a Reply

