Link Of The Week- Habits?

Writing is a creative process, but a very long, drawn out one to tackle. The results sometimes takes, months or years to come to fruition. How do we get there? What process to you go through to stroke your muse? Here are 12 famous authors and what they do! Enjoy.

http://jamesclear.com/daily-routines-writersrenegadewritercap

3 Responses to Link Of The Week- Habits?

  1. pibarrington says:

    Stacey, I really don’t have any rituals or habits to deal with my “muse”. I never have, try as I might! That’s why linear writing is right for me. I’ve only met one other author who writes that way and we did a presentation on it when I was a newbie writer. I wish I had some habit or ritual or something…believe me, I’ve tried.

    Like

  2. Don’t despair! I’m a linear writer as well- can’t jump around. My brain just doesn’t work that way.

    And depending on your muse?? She’s fickle at best! The important thing is to keep showing up to put words on the paper! I’m willing to wager, you do things on a subconscious level that keep you moving forward.

    I am trying new things like having writing partners to keep me accountable for a specific word count each day. Ideally, we meet 4 days a week so I can’t go do the laundry, or whatever else pops in my head. I also have a critique group that meets once a week. I have to have pages done for them. Both of those things have improved my output.

    I’ve also developed notebooks for my stories. I’m a pantster but I’ve learned to keep notes as ideas come and go and will try to think of major things I want to happen throughout the book. I’ve almost doubled my output between these 3 things.

    Somethings work, some don’t. The object is to just try. Good luck!!

    Like

  3. pibarrington says:

    Wow, you are busy! My sister who writes also keeps telling me to start a notebook for each book and even went so far as to buy some for me to use. However, I did find one special notebook where I keep character info, plot info, pretty much everything I need to keep in mind before, during and after I begin writing! AND I am SOOO happy to hear someone else writes in linear form as well!

    Like

Leave a Reply

