Hump Day Kick Start – Pour Me Another Edition

Hump Day Kick Start – for your muse, a writing picture prompt, or just a visual treat.

tom-hardy9

 

Because I have a growing obsession with this man…

Tell me about today’s prompt. Who is he and what’s going on? Yeah, he could be a bartender. Or maybe he’s a detective about to give an informant a beat down or put a rookie in his place. Suppose he’s about to deliver some harsh news to a friend. Could this just be another night of trying to forget? If so, what demons haunt him? Is he alone or is that glass for me, er, I mean someone special?

What’s your take or simply caption the pic.

6 Responses to Hump Day Kick Start – Pour Me Another Edition

  1. Tricia L Quinnies says:

    In everything I’m writing lately, Tom Hardy is in my mind as the hero. Not only is he a looker…he’s a dog lover! XO

    Like

  2. jbrayweber says:

    *swoon* I’d commit all kinds of sins for that man. LOL! But seriously, he is a great character study in TABOO.

    Like

  3. jeff7salter says:

    Norman only grabbed the vodka bottle because it was the one nearest his hand and he couldn’t take his eyes off the decollete of the lovely stranger seated directly across the bar from him.
    “Just lean over a bit more,” thought Norman to himself, “and I’ll be able to see down to your navel.”
    He kept pouring. Whoever was going to get that Bloody Mary he was mixing might wonder why it’s so pale.
    Yet he couldn’t tear his eyes away.
    And why should he?
    She was showing and knew all the males were looking. She could’ve selected any bar stool in the place…yet she sat directly in front of Norman.
    “That woman has something on her mind other than a cheap drink at a second rate bar,” thought Norman.
    But before he could ask her any questions, she lifted her eyelids lazily, gazed directly into Norman’s eyes, and slowly slid over the computer card which served as her room key in the hotel across the street.
    Might be an interesting night after all.

    Like

  4. jbrayweber says:

    He is sooo not a Norman, Jeff. But whatever. 😉 She’s a lucky gal.

    Like

  5. pibarrington says:

    How the hell did he know I was undercover? And he knew it alright. He didn’t take his eyes off me even when he was pouring a straight up. Not overpouring without looking was both a talent and a developed art for this guy. I hated the fact that I couldn’t look away either. So, the question became how long do we face off? Then came which one of us is the bad guy/girl? Then, how high is my bar tab? Lots of questions but no immediate answers.
    “Barkeep!” I said in my lowest, sexiest voice and held up my glass. “Whiskey Sour!”
    I swore he was laughing at me and also swore I’d knock that smirk right off his face at some point.
    “Whiskey Sour?” he asked and leaned on his elbows over the bar top. “I don’t even know what the hell that is” he smiled. “What decade is that from?”
    “Look it up in the bartender’s bible!” I gave him an evil eye but he just laughed harder. Pissed, I started to get off my barstool but he placed a hand on my forearm. “Don’t look now, but there’s our mark,” he said quietly and gave a tiny nod toward the man I was waiting for as well.
    “I don’t know who you’re chasing pal, but–”
    “Don’t play. We’re both chasing the same target, for different reasons and for some of the same ones. We can either help each other or destroy us both. Which one will it be?”
    I pursed my lips and said nothing.
    “I thought so,” he said letting go of my arm and standing up straight. “When you get the info, give it directly to me. In the meantime, I’ll be shoving Whiskey Sours up his–well you know where.”
    I did. I sat sipping my own Whiskey Sour from an earlier bartender who didn’t need the recipe. I fervently hoped I could keep my eyes on the man who killed my cousin and off the local hired gun sworn to murder him. Yes, we had some of the same reasons. And, worse, we were both sworn, literally, to bring the bastard to final justice…one way or another.
    I started to call out for another Sour but then realized he was delivering one to our mark, right on time and right on recipe. This was a barkeep to keep.

    Like

  6. jbrayweber says:

    Ooh. Fun, Patti! I’d partner up with him any day. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

