Hump Day Kick Start – Writing Prompt #7

Writing prompts to kick start your muse.

 

Ooh! Makes the mind wonder what kind of person this is. Vampire, superhero/villain, scientist, god/goddess, immortal hunter, the list could go on. What kind of people would go to such extremes as to bury someone alive? Scared villagers? A family with a secret? A group of wayward kids screwing up summer vacation? Why is the undead back? To seek revenge? Expose the real enemy? Return their overdue Blockbuster tape?

Share your ideas and/or post your creations, even if it’s just a line or two. I’d love to hear them.

13 Responses to Hump Day Kick Start – Writing Prompt #7

  1. jeff7salter says:

    What they did NOT know was that their efforts would only be effective on a human body.
    My particular status as a cyborg allows me to ignore those pesky limitations placed on humans. I can do 25 years in a grave standing on my head if necessary.
    That said, once I get out of this grave, I’m gonna kick some serious butt. I don’t like being cooped up.
    Plus, the people who did this little job on me… need to be taught some manners.

    Like

  2. jbrayweber says:

    Manners… haha! I love it, Jeff. I am certainly questioning why he was buried.

    Like

  3. jeff7salter says:

    Oh, I forgot to mention that:
    The cyborg was owned by Mr. & Mrs. Kaser. Over time, Mrs. K. began to prefer the company of the cyborg to that of Mister K.
    So, Mr. K. got rid of the competition…

    Like

  4. jbrayweber says:

    “…Mrs. K began to prefer the company of the cyborg…” As wives are wont to do.

    Like

  5. jeff7salter says:

    yep

    Like

  6. rekenjura says:

    Ok, I’m working on my villian, since it isn’t who I thought it would be. I took you prompt, tweaked it a bit and am trying to get into his/her mind. I still don’t know if it is a man or woman.

    Revenge is such a sweet wine. And soon I will drink my fill. So many years I have waited, planned, and anticipated their downfall. Send me to the 7th dimension of hell, let me rot for years; twenty five or twenty five hundred, what did it matter. Time has no relevance for me, I am eternal, like the flames that lick at the rock, I am persistent.
    Fools, thinking that I would just wither away and let my existence be extinguished. No. I have plotted and planned, and soon they will feel the sword of punishment. I am the wrath, the pain and the destruction of all. The council will be no more, justice will fail and chaos will rule.

    Like

  7. jbrayweber says:

    Ruth, you may have found your genre. This is great.

    Like

  8. Your prompt definitely kick started my muse! Tell me, what do you think?

    As I blow out the lone candle on the cake, I laugh at my own naivete. For over a quarter of a century, I had lived my life believing that I was just another grain of sand in the vast, barren desert. Putting myself down had become a hard-to-beat habit; after all that was something familiar over the years. If I put my mind to it, I don’t think it would require a lot of effort to imagine all the things he could say even today to make it all seem so insignificant. He was very good at raining on my parade; and I think he never could have found a more willing subject.

    25 years ago when I had stepped across the threshold, I hadn’t realized that it was my first step into a coffin. 25 years of constantly being buried under taunts, sarcasm and guilt, I didn’t realize when I became a zombie. A shadow that was as scared of the dark as the light. Not a single moment went by without being reminded of how “barren” my life was. No happiness, no respect, no love…and no child. 25 years they hoped that I would break and die under the pressure. But they were wrong.

    It had taken only a signature to free me from the years of shame. After that, everything had headed up-hill. Today, as I sit here reading the very successful balance sheet of the company I had given birth to and munch on my sugar-free chocolate cupcake, I can’t help but feel a little smug. Boy, was I glad to be back!

    Like

  9. jbrayweber says:

    Yay! I’m so excited to hear when one of my prompts strikes a chord.
    I love this angle and metaphors. This was wonderfully done, truly. Thank you so much for sharing it with us!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Thank you…it was actually a kick to get started writing. Will look forward to more such “kicks” 🙂

    Like

  11. This has been the best story spark!! So many scenarios literally ran through my mind when I read this! Holy cow!

    Like

  12. jbrayweber says:

    I know, right!

    Like

Leave a Reply

