Hump Day Kick Start – Writing Prompt #8

Writing prompts to kick start your muse.

Ooh… What could this be all about?

Who is she and what service is she providing? Is she an assassin who gets the targets even the most hardened man passes over? Could she be a time jumper sent to correct “mistakes” that happen in the future? What if she were a sadistic psychiatric nurse, a hard-ass warden, or an adrenaline junkie stuntwoman for an A-list actress? Maybe she’s a baker for the PTO with mad cupcake decorating skills. Does she look forward to these calls or does she dread them?

Share your ideas and/or post your creations, even if it’s just a line or two. I’d love to hear them.

9 Responses to Hump Day Kick Start – Writing Prompt #8

  1. jeff7salter says:

    “We need you again,” said the gravelly voice on Leena’s phone.
    Not again, thought Leena, as she considered how to reply. Finally, she said, “Aunt Hildy? Is that you?” Leena paused to let Mr. Gravell think about that. “Because if you’re playing another practical joke on me, I’m gonna pull out my AR-15 and run a pattern in that new Chevy you bought last month.”
    Not certain what to expect from Mr. Gravell, Leena waited.
    Finally, the voice on the phone said: “Uh, we were hoping to, um, give you another assignment.”
    “Aunt Hildy, that’s a terrible cold you have. I could swear you sound like some old chauvinist I used to work for occasionally. And he was such a creep. No manners whatsoever.”
    The other end of the line was silent for a long time. Finally, Mr. Gravell said, “Um, Leena, could you come back for one more job… PLEASE?”
    “No problem, Gravell-O. But don’t ever take me for granted again.”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. jbrayweber says:

    Leena is my kind of girl. Nice one, Jeff!

    Like

  3. pibarrington says:

    They always need me. Especially when the job gets…well, messy. I was fifteen when I learned to cover up tracks and traces although that was for my Granny so I didn’t charge for it. Besides, I learned the hard lesson of being careless when they dragged Granny off to the chair the second time she “needed me”. She gave me such a hard look I swore I’d never get that look again from anyone, relative or not.
    And that’s why they need me. There isn’t any mess I can’t clean up from scrubbing a crime scene to fixing an inept assassin’s bungled attempt at murder. *Sigh* That’s why I hate being “needed” so much and so unexpectedly. Like that time with Jeff or John…or Jared. That’s it, Jared. I barely had time to put my clothes back on not to mention leaving poor…oh yeah, Jared…well leaving without any explanation at all other than mumbling something about Granny needing help. I’m pretty sure he either thought I was the most dedicated granddaughter or the poorest liar he ever met. That’s another expression I’ll make sure I never get.
    Doesn’t matter now. Another job, another giant paycheck. Even the assassins don’t know I exist, my status is so encrypted. I have no real friends. It’s hard to play “Mommy” at the local daycare when you’re driving a sports car the other moms can’t even pronounce. It’s even harder when brain surgeons can’t say it let alone recognize what the hell kind of vehicle it is.
    I always fantasized about having a UAV (Urban Assault Vehicle) like that old, relatively forgotten movie. They drive up in a monster sized RV and the sides roll up into the roof and weapons of mass (though not nuclear) destruction and firepower lock into place. Scary as hell. I’m still working the boss to give me one or make one for me. But then that would blow my cover and I can just imagine the look my boss would give me at that point. Still, it’s nice to think about.
    Gotta go, don’t want to be late. Can’t be caught fixing idiots’ mistakes regardless what exotic vehicle I’d like to possess. See ya’ around…hopefully.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. jbrayweber says:

    Very inventive, Patti. Great job!

    Like

  5. pibarrington says:

    I had to do it. I couldn’t resist.

    Like

  6. Ruth Kenjura says:

    She’d wanted this for so long. First it was a thought, then a hope, a wish and finally reality. The warmth of his hands on her waist sent frissions of desire along every nerve ending. So many years of abstinence, so many moments lost. They were here, curled up on the sofa and making out like teenagers. Champagne was iced, dinner sat under silver domes waiting. Just waiting. This felt so right and she was soo ready. They’d played cat and mouse long enough.
    Gracie reached up and teased the beginning of a curl at his neck, then shoved her hand into his hair. She wanted to pull him to her, but hesitated. He was not a man to rush. He was a man with slow hands, and very busy hands at the moment. Her hand drifted back to his neck and stopped.
    Damn, not now. She tried to turn the vibrating watch off and instead hit the speaker button. A gravelly voice echoed in the silent room, “we need your again.”
    “I’m so sorry George, this is not how I planned the evening. I swear, I never knew two new parents could be as helpless as their new born baby.”

    Liked by 1 person

  7. jbrayweber says:

    Very nice, Ruth! And here I thought you were going to go dark. That is until I read the name Gracie. Then I knew you switched gears. Love it.

    Like

  8. rekenjura says:

    Hey I have to keep you guessing.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Very cool prompt!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

