Hump Day Kick Start – Writing Prompt #14

Writing prompts to kick start your muse.

So this begs the question, what flavor ice cream? Oh okay, I suppose we’d like to know what the crime is and what prompted her to want to commit such a deed? Is she desperate? What has made her that way? Money? Love? Betrayal? Revenge? Pregnancy? Good grief, wild hormones can make a woman do crazy things. Just sayin’.

Share your ideas and/or post your creations, even if it’s just a line or two. I’d love to hear them.

2 Responses to Hump Day Kick Start – Writing Prompt #14

  1. jeff7salter says:

    By the time she’d driven the seven miles from her cabin to town, Essie still had not decided. But there was the ice cream store. And hardly any vehicles outside. Hmm. Whichever route she’d take would have to be decided inside the store.
    “If that guy refuses to list all 29 flavors, I’ll nail him,” intoned Essie while in her SUV, the engine still idling. Her .357 was beside her on the seat. She rechecked to be sure all six chambers were loaded and then placed the revolver in her carry bag.
    Approaching the entrance, she muttered to herself, “if that guy tells me they’re out of peppermint chillato, he’s a goner.”
    One customer exited as Essie entered. Looking about the inside, she determined she was the only one there… besides the guy in the hairnet behind the counter with the name tag “Ramone”.
    “How can I help you, Miss?” he said, with a dazzling smile.
    “Well, to start with, tell me which flavors you have.”
    “Only eleven today, I’m afraid,” he replied, placing his large suntanned hands on the counter in front of him. As he did so, the muscles in his toned, hairy forearms flexed.
    Essie reached into her bag, her fingers touching the grips of her pistol. “Eleven? So what happened to the other…?”
    A shrug of Ramone’s broad shoulders. “Some weird snafu up the supply line. I’ve already called the boss about it. I told him if they can bring in all the advertised product and I’d have to see the disappointment on the lovely faces of my valued customers… that I’d have to take a walk and let him deal with this outlet.”
    Essie’s fingers relaxed and she pulled her empty hand from the bag.
    “Uh, do you, um, recognize me from somewhere?”
    Another big gleaming smile. “Sure. You come here about once a week, for your peppermint chillato. Nobody else asks for that flavor, so you sort of stand out.”
    Nice to be known for something.
    “So, what will it be today?” continued Ramone. “With the 11 flavors we have, I could whip you up something special.”
    “Well, I had my heart set on my regular flavor,” she replied. “In fact, up until just a few moments ago, I felt a pressing impulse to get that ice cream or else.”
    “Else what?” he asked, smiling again. His dark eyes brightened enough to light up a darkened room.
    Essie grinned self-consciously. “Oh, I don’t know. Just one of those moods, I guess. You know, when you walk out of the house and feel like you need to blast somebody off the face of the earth … just because.”
    “Yeah, I get that a lot. And some of the customers in here would be my first targets.” Ramone edged around the counter and took her by the elbow. “Why don’t you pull up a stool and watch me create the best 11-flavor ice cream treat you’ve ever tasted?”
    “You mean it?”
    “Sure,” he replied, with another gleaming smile. “After all, if we dispatched somebody every time we got in a rotten mood, think of all the mess someone else would have to clean up.”
    “Good point. I’d never thought of it that way.” She dragged the stool over and perched upon it. “Okay, Ramone, amaze me.”

    Like

  2. jbrayweber says:

    Hah! Love this! Makes you really wonder about Ramone and how he knew she was ready to pull the trigger. Great story, Jeff.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

