Hump Day Kick Start – The Path Edition

Hump Day Kick Start – for your muse, a writing picture prompt, or just a visual treat.

Continuing on the Halloween theme, here is the second creepy prompt for the month.

Would you walk down this path? What’s going on here? What’s at the end of the trail? Is it worth getting to the other side? Is someone lost, trying to get back to a road and civilization? Are these hungry zombies? Restless, murderous demonic creatures from the past? Children of the corn all grown up? *shivers* Has someone neglected to mow their yard, trapping wayward delivery drivers and solicitors?

What’s your take? I’d love to hear it. Or just caption the pic.

3 Responses to Hump Day Kick Start – The Path Edition

  1. jeff7salter says:

    Elaine and Tricia clasped hands as they entered the darkest section of the woods.
    Just ahead was a narrow path, on which they’d only been told there would be “surprises.”
    “Are you sure you want to do this?” asked Elaine.
    “Not that I want to, but we have to,” Tricia replied.
    Elaine stopped suddenly. “But only because THEY said we had to.”
    “Yeah,” said Tricia. “Their organization, their rules.”
    “But what if we think this is too creepy and possibly even dangerous?” asked Elaine.
    “It boils down to whether you want to be in or out.” replied Tricia.
    “But I don’t even like most of them,” answered Elaine.
    “Come to think of it, neither do I.”
    Elaine squinted down the dark patch trying to see what was down there. Couldn’t see much, other than some mysterious movements… low to the ground. “Well, I don’t feel like going down that path. I don’t like most of them… and the more I think about it, I don’t think I even want to join.”
    “That’s more or less my own conclusion,” added Tricia. “Even if we made it all the way along this stupid and dangerous and spooky course, I think I’d just spit in their faces and tell them where to stick their stupid sorority pins.”

    Like

  2. jbrayweber says:

    Haha! I really, really like this one, Jeff. You totally deviated from what I’ve come to expect from you. Win!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. jeff7salter says:

    got to keep you guessing…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

