Talk Back: what is your writing plan?

On my Kindle: A Feast for Crows: A Song of Ice and Fire by George R. R. Martin

Do you have a writing plan? Do you have a good idea of where you are going with your writing? What will you be writing and where will you be submitting your stories next?

It’s been a long time since I have contributed to the blog and it feels so good to be back. I had to step away for a while as I went back to school then found myself a steady job as a science teacher, and kept my writing to just that -writing.

As I come back here, I am very curious to find out more about you all, wonderful readers and members our Musetracks community. I want to know more about your writing and how you survive this crazy endeavor that is stringing words together to delight others and perhaps make a bit of a little living out of it.

So I return here with a new feature to the blog. Please talk back to us by commenting below. I really want to know. Tell us here so we can all learn from each others.

This week I am very curious to know if you have a writing plan. Is it very organized or kind of loose? Do you have a plan A, B and C in case things don’t work out the way you want to? Are you writing your first novel? Your tenth? Are you submitting to New York or small presses? Or perhaps you have a solid self-publishing 5 year plan all laid out for you? Where are you going with this?

Much love,
Marie-Claude xoxox

Location:Seattle

14 Responses to Talk Back: what is your writing plan?

  1. When I stared writing, a friend who’d woked for a small European publisher told me to write three books, so I did. While I was writing my second book I found out about RWA, critique groups and a host of other writing and publishing essential things. So I made a deadline. Fortunately, I got my agent on my deadline date. Less than twenty months after I started writing, Kensington offered me a three book deal. The novels will release in the fall.

    Like

  2. jbrayweber says:

    Hmm…I may get flack from a couple of friends for this, but I don’t really have a business plan. I know what I want to do, but it’s too difficult to map out a time frame with a toddler and a preteen. I have found there are only so many hours in a day. Go figure. 😉

    That said, I do know that I will complete my pirate series with another 2 full-length novels and a novella. I have a paranormal dragon series I want to write, as well. And I have an alter ego who is scratching to write a few erotica bad-girl novellas.

    My loose goal is to finish 1 novel and 3 novellas by years end. *crossing fingers*

    Jenn!

    Like

  3. Ella congrats on your book deal. Looks like that was good advice to write three books 🙂

    Like

  4. Wow Jenn, I can’t believe our daughter is a pre-teen already. Time flies! You have so many great plans. Looking forwards to the next of your installment.

    Like

  5. Like Jenn, I don’t have a business plan. For me though, I was getting so much anxiety about writing for business that I switched my mind to keep my goal process oriented. Right now I’m finishing the revisions of a first steampunk novel, then I plan to submit it everywhere, write the second book, then revise an paranormal I wrote a while back and submit that one to select agents and editors.
    I would really like to write for a smaller press.

    Like

  6. Suzan Harden says:

    Jenn, I’m crushed. I only give you flack over Johnny Depp. I ENCOURAGE you to have a plan because I want to see you blow the doors off the industry. And quite frankly, I get far more flack from other writers because I do have the five-year business plan.

    Like

  7. jbrayweber says:

    A-ha!! YOU were paying attention, Suzan. Good catch, BTW. In my defense, I AM trying, I promise. With all the things I did in 2012, I still feel like I didn’t accomplish all that I wanted. I suppose I should look up your blog posts on business plans again.

    Like

  8. Suzan you have a five-year business plan? I won’t give you flack 🙂 In fact I’ll give you kudos, color me impressed. Good to know where one is heading!

    Like

  9. madbadwilde says:

    Excellent questions. At the moment my writing plan is simply to finish a couple of manuscripts that were put by the wayside due to health issues, and then to start researching agents while I rewrite. *heads off to put timeline in place for above*

    Like

  10. It’s nice to see that I am not the only one with things to finish 🙂 rewriting is tough, hang in there! You can do it!

    Like

  11. pibarrington says:

    I do but I’m too superstitious to talk about them, lol.

    Like

  12. Haha! Yes I know the feeling. In fact that would be a good question for all… Are we too scare to express our dreams out loud for fear they will never happen?

    Like

  13. pibarrington says:

    Nah, my dreams have already come true. I just carry around that old Hollywood superstition of not talking about projects until they’re done…works for me…

    Like

  14. It’s not a bad idea. I sometimes tend to do more talking then doing 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

