Hump Day Kick Start – Writing Prompt #11

Writing prompts to kick start your muse.

This can be scary or funny. What do you make of today’s prompt? Who is this? Who are they speaking to? Why are they wanted dead? Is this an evil demon/vampire/stepmother bent on destruction facing down an outmatched hero/heroine armed with a demon blaster/wooden stake/holy water? A spiteful ex-lover with nothing to lose? The soulless clerk that works at the DMV?

Share your ideas and/or post your creations, even if it’s just a line or two. I’d love to hear them.

4 Responses to Hump Day Kick Start – Writing Prompt #11

  1. pibarrington says:

    “Ah, hello, my darling! I’ve been waiting for your arrival! Do sit down, right here beside me.” Pats the sofa. “You know that short, secret agenda we kicked out months ago? Well, turns out it wasn’t so secret after all! And it’s not just me they’ll be after. Now, I want you to know that I really didn’t have any choice about my response. I mean it was yes or no and nothing in between. I really have no choice now. (Stands and turns to set glass down on a sideboard. Turns back around, sees him with gun-in-hand, pointing at her.)
    And please don’t think that gunning me down will save you. Why? Because you can’t kill me, darling. After this unsuccessful little chat with you, I’m already dead.

    Weird, I know, but that’s how it came out…

    Like

  2. jbrayweber says:

    Love it, Patti! I’m interested in the who, what, when, and how. Great job.

    Like

  3. jeff7salter says:

    Ralph was not normally what you’d think of as especially amorous, but when he spotted Betty entering the dilapidated shell of the abandoned manufacturing plant, he went all goo-goo.
    “So there you are,” said Betty, with a strange flatness in her voice and a .357 magnum in her hand. “I’ve been looking for you.”
    “Hi, Betty,” Ralph replied, “you look fantastic.”
    “Don’t try to sweet-talk me, you creep. I came here with one thing in mind.” She raised the revolver.
    “Wait,” pleaded Ralph, “don’t we have time to do TWO things instead? I mean, shoot me if you must, but let’s do something else first.”
    “What do you have in mind?”
    “Well, before I got sick, we used to call it cuddling. But as we both know, it involved a whole lot more than cuddles.”
    “Yeah, I remember,” she replied, not wavering her aim at his skull. “But that was a long time ago, and things are different now.”
    “But I’m still Ralph.”
    “Maybe. Maybe not.” Betty stepped closer. “You know I have no choice about this. It has to be done.”
    “But you can’t kill me, darling,” he said haltingly, “I’m already dead.”
    “Yeah, I could smell your zombie carcass when I walked in this place. Sorry, Ralph. It’s a bullet in the brain cavity for you.”
    “And no time for hanky-panky first?”
    BANG

    Like

  4. jbrayweber says:

    Zombies! Nice twist! You know I love this, Jeff.

    Like

Leave a Reply

